1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events
This event has passed.

ZEITSPUREN

The Power of Now

9.9.-18.11.2018

URSULA BIEMANN – DORA BUDOR – ROMAN BUXBAUM – JULIAN CHARRIÈRE – DANIEL GUSTAV CRAMER – MARTIN CREED – PETER DREHER – ELMGREEN & DRAGSET – CÉCILE B. EVANS – FELIX GONZALEZ-TORRES – RODNEY GRAHAM – DAVID HORVITZ – TEHCHING HSIEH – SOPHIE JUNG – ON KAWARA – KAPWANI KIWANGA – RAGNAR KJARTANSSON – KRIS MARTIN – AGNIESZKA POLSKA – POPE.L – BARBARA PROBST – LAURE PROUVOST – PILAR QUINTEROS – RAQS MEDIA COLLECTIVE – SOPHY RICKETT – MIKKO RIKALA – DIETER ROTH – STÉPHANIE SAADÉ – MICHAEL SAILSTORFER – TARYN SIMON – SLAVS AND TATARS – SMUDGE STUDIO – GERNOT WIELAND – PEDRO WIRZ

Through installation, video, photography, performance and painting, ZEITSPUREN – The Power of Now examines the aesthetic and cultural significance of time within contemporary narratives and its impact on how we structure our lives and experiences. In their work, the 34 international artists selected for the exhibition explore the temporal nature of labour and leisure, politics and power, the body and representation or technology and memory. Due to the complexity of the concept of time, the exhibition is divided into four thematic groupings: Time and its DiscontentsSculpting Time, Capture: Staging the Live, Speculative and Planetary Time.

Time and its Discontents introduces us to the intersections of labour and social time. The works in this section build critical and playful narratives around current discontents of standardised living, work and leisure time. An early figure in the development of durational performance art, Tehching Hsieh displays in One Year Performance (1980–81) the documented evidence of a performance that chronicled a year of the artist’s life. To make the work, Hsieh followed a strict routine of punching a time clock every hour for 12 months, before presenting the individual images as a six-minute film with other forms of documentation. The tedium of industrial labour highlighted by Hsieh’s performance reinforces the dominance of western time structures that is investigated in Ragnar Kjartansson’s Scenes from Western Culture (2015). This employs six looped single-channel video tableaux to demonstrate Kjartansson’s fascination with the superficiality of cultural norms. Meanwhile David Horvitz’s The Distance of a Day (2013) breaks with the normal passage of time by juxtaposing videos of a single day made in different locations and time zones.

Sculpting Time examines the material processes of historiography with focus on the role of research in artistic methodologies. Artists revisit historical artefacts in order to draw out new meanings and associations. Kapwani Kiwanga’s Flowers for Africa (2014, 2017) reveal the artist’s interest in archival imagery of postcolonial independence celebrations. Finding that floral arrangements are a motif common to many of these photographs, for each venue where the work is exhibited Kiwanga commissions a local florist to recreate the bouquets as closely as possible. Flowers for Africa entertains a subjective response in the making and re-presentation of history. Similar manifestations of connectivity extend across many works in this section. Stéphanie Saadé’s Accelerated Time (2014) treats time as a physical property, making a mystery of the work’s broken fragments and the forces which produced them.

Capture: Staging the Live foregrounds the body as a site for expanding our perception of time, focusing on approaches to performance-based work. Pope.L’s practice takes the form of durational and endurance-based performances. The Great White Way, 22 Miles, 9 Years, 1 Street (2001–2009) is one of the artist’s best known «crawls» investigating exhaustion, in which he wore a Superman costume with a skateboard strapped to his back as he travelled the full length of Broadway, Manhattan’s longest street. Drawing frequently on sources from pop culture or philosophy, Sophie Jung produces marathon-length performances. For Come Fresh Hell or Fresh High Water (2017–18) the artist will activate different parts of her installation by reciting texts from memory, as well as employing stream-of-consciousness improvisation. Jung’s performance plays on the slippage between language and objects, transforming what the artist describes as a skewed format of « show and tell».

Finally, Speculative and Planetary Time analyses how digital connectivity and computerised technologies have radically shifted our experience of time. Works in this section reflect on deep time – time beyond the human – to speculate what new worlds might look like. Agniezska Polska’s My Little Planet (2016) combines animated daily-use objects floating in the cosmos with a humorous voice-over as a comment on the ways in which consumer culture dominates our world. The large-format photographs in Julian Charrière’s series First Light (2016–17) address the histories of nuclear testing at Bikini Atoll, making visible an atomic landscape within idyllic tropical island scenes. Where Charrière’s work turns our attention to the existence of radioactivity, Daniel Gustav Cramer’s Old Tjikko (2017) profiles «Old Tjikko» – the world’s oldest clonal tree located in Sweden’s Fulufjället National Park with roots thought to be almost 10’000 years old. Cramer explores how Old Tjikko functions as a myth deeply connected to the landscape and a symbol of endurance for our precarious planet.

Curated by SAMUEL LEUENBERGER and FELICITY LUNN

ZEITSPUREN – THE POWER OF NOW, Ausstellungsansichten / Vues d’exposition / Exhibition views Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart 2018; Fotos / photos: Gunnar Meier, Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist

The exhibition Zeitspuren is a collaboration between Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart, Photoforum Pasquart > PERFECT TIME AHEAD and NMB Neues Museum Biel > Von Zeit Zu Zeit.


Erna und Curt Burgauer Stiftung
Ernst und Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Événements

ZEITSPUREN

The Power of Now

9.9.-18.11.2018

URSULA BIEMANN – DORA BUDOR – ROMAN BUXBAUM – JULIAN CHARRIÈRE – DANIEL GUSTAV CRAMER – MARTIN CREED – PETER DREHER – ELMGREEN & DRAGSET – CÉCILE B. EVANS – FELIX GONZALEZ-TORRES – RODNEY GRAHAM – DAVID HORVITZ – TEHCHING HSIEH – SOPHIE JUNG – ON KAWARA – KAPWANI KIWANGA – RAGNAR KJARTANSSON – KRIS MARTIN – AGNIESZKA POLSKA – POPE.L – BARBARA PROBST – LAURE PROUVOST – PILAR QUINTEROS – RAQS MEDIA COLLECTIVE – SOPHY RICKETT – MIKKO RIKALA – DIETER ROTH – STÉPHANIE SAADÉ – MICHAEL SAILSTORFER – TARYN SIMON – SLAVS AND TATARS – SMUDGE STUDIO – GERNOT WIELAND – PEDRO WIRZ

Zeitspuren – The Power of Now explore la signification esthétique et culturelle du temps par des installations, vidéos, photographies, performances et œuvres picturales. Dans le contexte des narrations contemporaines, l’exposition remet en question les structures temporelles inconscientes qui organisent nos vies et nos expériences. Les 34 artistes internationaux regroupés ici se sont penchés dans leurs œuvres sur les dimensions temporelles du travail et des loisirs, de la politique et du pouvoir, du corps et de la représentation ou de la technologie et de la mémoire. Pour saisir au mieux la complexité du concept de temps, l’exposition est structurée en quatre sections thématiques distinctes: Temps et malaise; Le temps malléable; Capture du temps: mise en scène du vivant; Temps spéculatif et planétaire.

Temps et malaise rend compte de l’interaction entre le temps de travail et le temps social. À travers des récits critiques et ludiques, cette section nous dévoile un «malaise» contemporain lié à la standardisation de nos modes de vie, de notre travail et de nos loisirs. One Year Performance de Tehching Hsieh est un exemple précoce de pratique performative de longue durée. Sa performance consistait à timbrer chaque heure pendant douze mois. Les images individuelles relatant une année de sa vie sont rassemblées ici dans un fichier vidéo de six minutes en complément à d’autres documents. La monotonie du travail industriel soulignée par la performance de Hsieh dénonce la prédominance du rythme de vie occidental. Celui-ci est également étudié dans Scenes from Western Culture (2015) de Ragnar Kjartansson. Les six écrans vidéo montrent des scènes quotidiennes et témoignent de la fascination de l’artiste pour l’aspect superficiel des normes sociales. Parallèlement, dans The Distance of a Day (2013), David Horvitz rompt avec le cours normal du temps en juxtaposant des lieux et des fuseaux horaires différents à travers des vidéos d’une même journée.

Le temps malléable sonde le processus par lequel l’Histoire se cristallise par l’historiographie en se concentrant particulièrement sur le rôle de la recherche dans la pratique artistique. Afin de créer de nouveaux sens et de nouvelles associations, les artistes font ici appel à divers artefacts historiques. Flowers for Africa (2014, 2017) de Kapwani Kiwanga découle de l’intérêt de l’artiste pour les photographies d’archives postcoloniales illustrant des célébrations d’indépendance. Remarquant dans ses recherches que les arrangements floraux constituaient un motif commun à beaucoup de ces images, elle les fait recréer par des fleuristes locaux pour chaque exposition où l’œuvre est montrée. L’interprétation personnelle des compositions florales s’ajoute ainsi à la perception unique et collectivement admise de l’Histoire. Des formes présentant le même caractère relationnel sont également exprimées dans d’autres œuvres de cette section. Dans Accelerated Time (2014), Stéphanie Saadé examine la dimension physique du temps; le vase brisé en mille morceaux suggérant l’agissement de forces invisibles.

Capture du temps: mise en scène du vivant met le corps à l’honneur dans sa capacité à élargir notre perception du temps et se base sur des concepts abordés par des œuvres à caractère performatif. Le travail de Pope.L repose sur la durée et l’endurance. The Great White Way, 22 Miles, 9 Years, 1 Street (2001–2009) est l’un de ses «crawls» les plus connus: vêtu d’un costume de Superman et portant un skateboard sur le dos, l’artiste se traîne le long de Broadway, la plus longue rue de Manhattan. Sur la base de sources tirées de la culture pop ou de la philosophie, Sophie Jung produit des performances à rallonge. En récitant des citations de mémoire et en improvisant librement, l’artiste réactive différentes parties de son installation Come Fresh Hell or Fresh High Water (2017-18). La performance de Jung joue sur l’ambivalence qui existe entre langue et objets ainsi que sur leur transformation. Elle présente ainsi une version détournée de l’exercice scolaire du «show and tell».

Finalement, Temps spéculatif et planétaire inspecte la manière dont la connectivité digitale et les technologies informatiques ont radicalement modifié notre rapport au temps. Les œuvres de cette section reflètent le «temps profond» – au-delà de l’humain – et nous invitent à percevoir des mondes nouveaux. Dans la vidéo My Little Planet (2016), Agniezska Polska fait graviter des objets quotidiens animés dans le cosmos et les combinent à une voix-off débitant un discours humoristique sur la domination de la consommation de masse sur notre monde. Les grands formats photographiques de la série First Light (2016–17) de Julian Charrière s’attaquent aux essais nucléaires effectués sur l’atoll de Bikini, en rendant visible un paysage atomique dans l’image idyllique d’une île tropicale. Alors que Julian Charrière attire notre attention sur l’existence de la radioactivité, Daniel Gustav Cramer se consacre dans Old Tjikko (2017) au plus vieil arbre cloné du monde. Situé dans le parc national de Fulufjället en Suède, ses racines seraient âgées de près de 10’000 ans. Cramer analyse le mythe de l’épicéa Old Tjikko, indissociable du paysage et symbole de longévité pour notre planète menacée.

Commissionnée par SAMUEL LEUENBERGER et FELICITY LUNN

L’exposition Zeitspuren est le fruit d’une collaboration entre le Centre d’art Pasquart, le Photoforum Pasquart > PERFECT TIME AHEAD et le NMB Nouveau Musée Bienne > D’un temps à l’autre.


Erna und Curt Burgauer Stiftung
Ernst und Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung