1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events

Zara Idelson

27.1.-31.3.2019

Zara Idelson’s (b. 1987, CH) approach to painting is based on intuition and direct observation as well as a clear set of parameters consisting of small-scale works and a limited palette. Texture is created through thin layers of paint, vital with brushwork over bare priming, where colour is used less to depict than to create a sense of movement. The exhibition focuses on the series of figurative paintings begun in 2017, when the artist moved to London, and reflect her curiosity for her new surroundings. Employing line drawing and intimations of detail, Idelson depicts the places and incidents she comes across in her everyday life, such as the back of a public building seen from a cycle path, underground station entrances and children’s chalk drawings on pavements. Dusky scenes of the city at night are quietly atmospheric, while a preoccupation with framing devices is evident in the frequent depiction of views from windows. Ultimately, however, these images are an exploration of the medium of painting itself.

Following a period of making semi-abstract paintings, Idelson’s new surroundings in London prompted her to produce figurative images. Simultaneously, she has more clearly defined her approach to making paintings. When travelling through the city, whether by foot or by public transport, she spends time observing how it functions, taking photographs on her mobile phone. She then translates these as literally as possible in oil or acrylic paint on canvas, depicting only what is necessary for the image to be read. This process sets limits on the possibilities that Idelson allows herself, eliminating both reflection on what she is painting, as well as any compositional adjustments. Whereas in earlier work she occasionally added structures to improve the composition, she now includes elements recorded by the camera, such as the diagonal line of shadow across a painting, that can make the image more ambiguous or difficult to read. The significant decision lies in the choice of the moment in which to take a photograph. Ironically, this clear definition of a strategy allows the artist greater freedom in the way she paints, the spontaneity and intuitive approach to brushwork corresponding with the matter-of-factness of the subject matter.

In the paintings from 2017 Idelson translated the scene in a photograph into a black drawing on the canvas. Some works remained as a line drawing; in others she filled in the image with colour, the oil paint allowing transparent layers through which the black remains visible. Although the application of paint on canvas occurs swiftly, the process of reflection is much longer and many works are discarded. Since working in 2018 with acrylic or water soluble oil paint, which prompted the work to be built up as a single structure, the element of drawing has been subsumed by blurred areas of colour. The newer paintings are darker and more brooding, not in connection with the subject matter specifically but rather as a means to portray the atmosphere of the city more generally. The unusual angles, for example the image of a hand on the steering wheel of a car, are dictated by Idelson’s movements on foot. In contrast to the scenes of cityscapes or views through a window, the more recent works zoom in on details of road markings that Idelson observes as she walks in London. She considers the differently coloured signs, applied to black or grey asphalt as a visual language similar to her own application of paint on a two dimensional surface.

The most striking characteristic of Idelson’s painting is her reductive style. Interested in how little is necessary for a painting to exist as such, her aim is to depict the « groundmarks » of the photographs with as light a touch as possible. Indications of things often recall the sketchy aesthetic of cartoons, for example in her reductive depiction of cars or trees. In addition, she frequently highlights selected elements of a painting in variations of a single colour.

Idelson’s commitment to painting is based on the evocative nature of the medium and the way it can hold within its materiality both a wider sense of place and a powerful impression of atmosphere. Her work is inspired by how the richness of images can be achieved through simple strategies of making. Related to this is the small scale of her work, which invites a particular response from the viewer, drawing their attention to the edges and the physical depth of the painting. As significant as Idelson’s exploration of her reactions to her new environment is the process of making that she has defined: the limitations she applies to the ways in which the image is depicted allow her a more intense engagement with the act of painting itself.

After spending her childhood and youth in Geneva, Zara Idelson studied at the Glasgow School of Art. She has been living and working in London since 2017 and will complete her Master at the Slade School of Fine Art, London in summer 2019. The presentation at Kunsthaus Pasquart is her first institutional solo exhibition.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 28.2.2019, 6pm (fr)   Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 7.3.2019, 6pm  (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Thurs 21.2.2019, 6pm (eng) Zara Idelson in conversation with Felicity Lunn

With the generous support of the legacy of Mme M. Mottier-Lovis

ZARA IDELSON, Exhibition views Centre d’art Pasquart 2019
photos: Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Événements

Zara Idelson

27.1.-31.3.2019

Zara Idelson (*1987, CH) approche la peinture à travers l’intuition, l’observation directe et une série de paramètres précis limitant ses travaux à de petits formats et à une palette restreinte. Elle donne corps à ses œuvres grâce à de fines couches de peinture, vivement appliquées au pinceau sur une base nue, où la couleur est utilisée moins pour décrire que pour insuffler une sensation de mouvement. L’exposition se concentre sur la série de peintures figuratives petits formats, commencée par l’artiste en 2017 après son installation à Londres, et reflète sa curiosité pour ce nouvel environnement. Par des dessins au trait et l’évocation de certains détails, Idelson décrit les lieux et les événements qui rythment son quotidien, qu’il s’agisse de l’arrière-cour d’un bâtiment public vue d’une piste cyclable, d’entrées de stations de métro ou de dessins à la craie tracés par des enfants sur la chaussée. Elle charge les scènes sombres de la ville de nuit d’une atmosphère suggestive, et la représentation fréquente de vues prises depuis des fenêtres lui permet de jouer avec des éléments de cadrage. Avant tout, ces images témoignent d’une volonté d’explorer le médium de la peinture.

Après une période consacrée à des peintures semi-abstraites, Idelson a été incitée par son nouvel environnement londonien à créer des images figuratives et a ainsi pu définir plus clairement son approche de la peinture. Parcourant la ville, à pied ou en métro, l’artiste se plaît à observer son fonctionnement et à prendre des photographies avec son téléphone portable. N’utilisant que ce qui est nécessaire à la lecture de l’image, elle restitue ensuite ces clichés aussi littéralement que possible au moyen de la peinture à l’huile ou à l’acrylique sur toile. Ce processus limite les possibilités que s’accorde Idelson, éliminant une réflexion plus profonde sur ce qu’elle peint ainsi que tout ajustement de ses compositions. Tandis qu’elle faisait parfois appel, dans des travaux antérieurs, à diverses structures afin d’en améliorer la composition, elle insère désormais dans ses tableaux des éléments captés par l’appareil photo. Elle fait par exemple apparaître la ligne transversale créée par l’ombre, rendant quelquefois l’image plus ambiguë ou plus difficile à lire. La décision primordiale réside dans le choix de l’instant de la prise de vue photographique. De manière paradoxale, ce moment clé et stratégique donne par la suite à l’artiste une grande liberté. Celle-ci transparaît dans sa manière de dépeindre avec spontanéité et une approche intuitive du pinceau, l’aspect factuel se dégageant du choix du sujet.

Dans ses peintures de 2017, Idelson transpose sur sa toile une scène photographiée en un dessin au trait noir. Certaines œuvres sont suspendues à l’état de croquis alors que d’autres présentent des éléments colorés à la peinture à l’huile, laissant transparaître le dessin initial. Bien que l’application de la peinture sur la toile soit rapide, un processus de réflexion beaucoup plus long sous-tend ces œuvres dont un grand nombre ont été rejetées. Dès 2018, travaillant avec de l’huile et de l’acrylique solubles à l’eau, l’artiste réalise des peintures d’une seule traite, où le dessin se confond avec des zones de couleur floues. Les plus récentes sont davantage obscures et complexes, non pas en référence au sujet, mais dans leur manière de représenter l’atmosphère de la ville. Contrairement aux scènes de paysages urbains ou aux vues prises depuis une fenêtre, ses dernières œuvres se concentrent en particulier sur les détails du marquage routier que l’artiste observe lors de ses déambulations dans Londres. L’artiste considère de tels signes aux couleurs variées, directement tracés sur l’asphalte noir ou gris, comme un langage visuel similaire à sa propre application de peinture sur la surface bidimensionnelle. La caractéristique la plus frappante de la peinture d’Idelson est la simplification de son style. Intéressée par le peu de ressources nécessaires à une peinture pour exister en tant que telle, son objectif est de dépeindre les «éléments clés» de ses photographies par des touches aussi suggestives que possible. Ces formes rappellent souvent l’esthétique sommaire des dessins animés, comme c’est le cas notamment dans sa représentation simplifiée de voitures ou d’arbres. De plus, elle recourt souvent à un camaïeu pour souligner certains éléments d’un tableau.

L’attachement d’Idelson à la peinture repose sur la nature évocatrice de ce médium, sur la manière dont il peut contenir dans sa matérialité une vision plus profonde d’un lieu et l’évocation puissante d’une certaine atmosphère. Son travail s’inspire de l’idée que la richesse d’une image peut s’obtenir par le biais de stratégies de créations simples. À cela s’ajoute le format réduit de son travail, qui suscite une réaction particulière du spectateur en attirant son attention sur les contours et la profondeur physique du tableau. Le processus de fabrication qu’elle a clairement défini dans l’exploration de son nouvel environnement est aussi révélateur: les limitations qu’elle applique à la manière dont l’image est représentée lui permettent un engagement plus intense avec l’acte de peindre lui-même.

Après avoir passé son enfance et son adolescence à Genève, Zara Idelson a étudié à la Glasgow School of Art et terminera en été 2019 un Master à la Slade School of Fine Art de Londres. Depuis 2017, elle vit et travaille à Londres. Cette présentation au Centre d’art Pasquart est sa première exposition personnelle au sein d’une institution.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Visites guidées

Je 28.2.2019, 18:00   (fr)    Valentine Yerly, médiatrice culturelle

Je 7.3.2019, 18:00     (dt)   Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Entretien avec l’artiste

Je 21.2.2019, 18:00    (eng) Zara Idelson s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn.

Avec le soutien aimable du legs de Mme M. Mottier-Lovis