1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Veranstaltungen
Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

PHILIPPE VANDENBERG – KAMIKAZE

14.4.-16.6.2019

The Kunsthaus Pasquart is showing the most comprehensive exhibition to date of the work of the Flemish artist Philippe Vandenberg (1952-2009, BE), in collaboration with the Hamburger Kunsthalle, where the exhibition was presented from 16.11.2018 to 24.2.2019. It is the first institutional exhibition of his work in both Switzerland and Germany. Highly acclaimed in his home country of Belgium as one of the most important artists of the last few decades, Vandenberg produced a radical and uncompromising œuvre that is just now achieving greater international acclaim. The extensive retrospective comprises some 70 paintings and 80 drawings and prints from the period 1995 to 2009. Many of the works on loan come from the artist’s estate and are now being presented to the public for the first time.

Vandenberg’s art displays a compelling intensity that has the power to both disturb and excite. The exhibition title Kamikaze refers to a central artistic principle he espoused. Kamikaze meant for him creative destruction, i.e., enabling some-thing new to arise by annihilating what went before. This principle is reflected in myriad ways in Philippe Vandenberg’s paintings and drawings: in the many stylistic breaks, in his overpainting of existing pictures and scraping off paint once applied, and also in Kamikaze as a written word or its enigmatic abbreviation as «K.A.» or «KA.M.», as well as in many motifs and recurring symbols that open up the field of tension between destruction and creation or starting anew. The latter include for example burning monks (self-immolation as a form of political protest) and the element of the swastika, an ancient sun symbol that, when tilted ninety degrees, becomes an emblem of destruction. Vandenberg’s art is rife with themes from contemporary world events, from literature and art history, myths and legends. What distinguishes these works is nonetheless his devotion to the extreme contradictions to which human beings are subject: the simultaneity of love and hate, beauty and ugliness, innocence and guilt. The Japanese word kamikaze (divine wind) is used to refer to a Japanese air raid technique in the Second World War and also as a description of self-defeating actions. For Vandenberg, applying the kamikaze principle meant a radical change in direction and most of all a vehement demand for agile thought processes and an open mindset: «[…] to destroy your own thinking is equally important. You have to be mobile. Remain absolutely mobile!»

During his lifetime Philippe Vandenberg was celebrated in particular for his expressive, figurative canvases and rhythmical abstract works that coincided with the widespread renewal of painting in the early 1980s. The exhibition concentrates on the second half of Vandenberg’s career – on the period from 1995 to 2009 – in which the artist moved back and forth between figuration and abstraction, while developing a number of themes and working methods. The drawings selected for the exhibition prove him to be an extremely prolific and talented draughtsman. Whereas painting was necessarily a grander statement, drawing for Vandenberg had a mystical, almost religious quality. Vandenberg drew from the mid-nineties, primarily using pencil, ink, gouache and watercolour. Most of his drawings from this period are more than preliminary studies and can be considered as autonomous images. It was above all through drawing that Vandenberg found solace from his inner turbulence. The hundreds of books that he filled with drawings almost on a daily basis from the mid-nineties show above all special motifs and forms that he explored in repetitive variations.

The exhibition is a collaboration with Hamburger Kunsthalle.

Exhibition curators

Brigitte Kölle, Head of Collection Contemporary Art Hamburger Kunsthalle, and Felicity Lunn, Director Kunsthaus Pasquart.

Publication accompanying the exhibition

The exhibition is accompanied by a richly illustrated publication (DT/ FR / ENG), edited by Brigitte Kölle and Felicity Lunn, with texts by Harald Falckenberg, Josephine Karg, Brigitte Kölle, Felicity Lunn, Johannes Muselaers and Marek Wieczoreck. Approx. 100 illustrations, 272 pages, hardcover. Uitgeverij Kannibaal editions, Belgium, 2018.

Guided tours

Thurs 9.5.2019, 6pm (dt)   Natacha Isoz, art historian

Thurs 6.6.2019, 6pm (fr)    Felicity Lunn, director art center Pasquart

Talk on the work

Sun 14.4.2019, 14:00 (fr / eng)  The artist’s son, Mo Vandenberghe and Johannes Muselaers, archivist and researcher at the Estate Philippe Vandenberg, in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Philippe Vandenberg, exhibition views art center Pasquart 2019. Photos: Lia Wagner; courtesy the artist

With the kind support of the Foundation Collection Kunsthaus Pasquart

Video documentation on Philippe Vandenberg, Kamikaze

In short video clips we let talk Philippe Vandenberg himself. The artist comments important motives, techniques and themes of his works.
Filmmakers: Guillaume Vandenberghe (son of Philippe Vandenberg) and Neel Cockx

Lade Veranstaltungen

PHILIPPE VANDENBERG

14.4.-16.6.2019

Le Centre d’art Pasquart présente la plus importante exposition à ce jour de l’artiste flamand Philippe Vandenberg (1952-2009, BE) en collaboration avec la Hamburger Kunsthalle. En Allemagne – où ses œuvres ont été montrées du 16.11.2018 au 24.2.2019 – comme en Suisse, il s’agit de la première présentation de son travail dans une institution muséale. Si dans son pays d’origine, la Belgique, il est considéré comme l’un des artistes les plus importants des dernières décennies, son œuvre radical et implacable reste à découvrir à l’étranger. Cette exposition de grande envergure présente près de 70 peintures et 80 dessins ou estampes réalisés par Vandenberg entre 1995 et 2009. Plusieurs pièces proviennent de la succession de l’artiste et sont exposées pour la première fois.

L’art de Vandenberg est empreint d’une grande intensité tant perturbante que stimulante. Le titre de l’exposition Kamikaze fait référence à un principe artistique central chez lui. Kamikaze signifie pour l’artiste la destruction créative, à savoir la possibilité d’un renouveau basé sur la détérioration de l’ancien. Ce principe se retrouve dans l’œuvre peint et dessiné de Philippe Vandenberg de diverses manières, notamment au travers des nombreuses ruptures stylistiques, du procédé récurrent de rajout de peinture et de grattage de matière, de l’insertion du mot «kamikaze» ou de ses abréviations énigmatiques «K.A.» et «KA.M.». De même, la répétition de motifs et signes ouvre des zones de tension entre destruction et création, initiant alors un nouveau départ. Ceci apparaît, par exemple, dans le motif des moines en flammes (protestation politique par l’auto-immolation) ou dans l’iconographie du svastika qui, de symbole antique du soleil devient, en l’inclinant, un signe de destruction: la croix gammée. L’art de Vandenberg est traversé par des sujets d’actualité, des thèmes issus de la littérature et de l’histoire de l’art, des mythes et des légendes. Il est en outre caractérisé par les contrastes extrêmes auxquels l’homme peut être simultanément confronté tels que l’amour et la haine, la beauté et la laideur, l’innocence et la culpabilité. Le terme japonais kamikaze (en français «vent divin») désigne une technique d’attaque aérienne japonaise du temps de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ainsi qu’une action autodestructrice. Un changement radical de direction, et plus particulièrement une flexibilité de la pensée, engendrèrent le recours par Vandenberg au principe du kamikaze. L’artiste exigeait avec véhémence ce mode de pensée: «[…] détruire sa propre pensée est tout aussi important. Il faut être mobile. Rester absolument mobile!»

Philippe Vandenberg a été particulièrement loué de son vivant pour ses toiles figuratives expressives et ses œuvres abstraites rythmiques, qui coïncidaient avec le large mouvement de renouveau de la peinture au début des années 1980. L’exposition se concentre sur la seconde moitié de sa carrière – la période comprise entre 1995 et 2009 – durant laquelle il a effectué des allers et retours entre figuration et abstraction tout en développant une série de propos et de méthodes. Les dessins sélectionnés montrent qu’il était un dessinateur extrêmement productif et talentueux. Si la peinture représentait inévitablement un grand geste pour Vandenberg, le dessin avait pour lui un caractère mystique, presque religieux. Au milieu des années 1990, il se met à dessiner de plus en plus, utilisant principalement le crayon, l’encre, la gouache et l’aquarelle. La plupart des dessins de cette période sont davantage que des études préliminaires et peuvent être considérés comme des œuvres autonomes. Dans le dessin, Vandenberg trouve avant tout un moyen de libérer de manière plus immédiate ses propres tourments intérieurs. Les centaines de livres qu’il remplit de dessins presque quotidiennement à partir du milieu des années 1990 montrent avant tout des motifs et des formes spéciales, explorées au travers de variations répétitives.

L’exposition est une collaboration avec la Hamburger Kunsthalle.

Commissaires de l’exposition

Brigitte Kölle, responsable Collection Art Contemporain Hamburger Kunsthalle, et Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart.

Publication accompagnant l’exposition

L’exposition est accompagnée d’une publication (DT / FR / ENG) richement illustrée, éditée par Brigitte Kölle et Felicity Lunn, avec des textes de Harald Falckenberg, Josephine Karg, Brigitte Kölle, Felicity Lunn, Johannes Muselaers et Marek Wieczoreck. Env. 100 illustrations, 272 pages, relié. Éditions Uitgeverij Kannibaal, Belgique, 2018.

Visites guidées

Je 9.5.2019, 18:00     (fr)    Natacha Isoz, historienne de l’art

Je 6.6.2019, 18:00     (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Entretien sur l’œuvre

Di 14.4.2019, 14:00 (fr / eng)  Mo Vandenberghe, fils de l’artiste, et Johannes Muselears, archiviste et chercheur à l’Estate Philippe Vandenberg, s’entretiennent avec Felicity Lunn.

Philippe Vandenberg, Aimer c’est flageller I, 1981-1998, détail, huile et fusain sur toile, 152 x 302 cm; © Estate Philippe Vandenberg.
Courtesy Estate Philippe Vandenberg and Hauser & Wirth; photo: Joke Floreal / Guillaume Vandenberghe

Avec l’aimable soutien de la Fondation Collection Centre d’art Pasquart

Documentaires vidéos sur Philippe Vandenberg, Kamikaze

Nous laissons Philippe Vandenberg s’exprimer dans des courtes vidéos. L’artiste commente les motifs, les techniques et les thèmes importants de son oeuvre.
Réalisateurs: Guillaume Vandenberghe (fils de Philippe Vandenberg) et Neel Cockx