Lade Veranstaltungen

Miriam Sturzenegger

Manor Art Award Canton Berne 2020

19.9.–22.11.2020

The artistic interests of the Manor Award winner Miriam Sturzenegger (b. 1983, CH) concern material, matter and the built environment. In her preoccupation with spaces and architecture she focuses on the substance of construction materials, the quality of surfaces or the energies inherent in materials, looks at treatment technologies or the everyday use of material. These features inscribed in the material contribute to determining the artistic form. Via a re-evaluation and transformation of sculptural and material features works are consistently developed in terms of a reduction and in doing so frequently recall architectural elements. Arising from a longer-term preoccupation with the exhibition environment, the works are based on space-forming processes and connections and can be read for example as organising interventions in the space, as a displacement or layering. The exhibition presents a combination of site-specific interventions, newly produced groups of work and selected existing works.

The geomorphological term «relief energy» forms a central, dynamic element in Sturzenegger’s current practice that is connected to her sculptural thinking. Due to its many meanings it serves the artist as a poetic tool with which to initiate chains of associations and to make visitors aware of spatial experience in the exhibition. With the investigation of relief, she makes as her subject not only the topographical in the architectural space, but also the many-layered potential inherent in the spatiality of surfaces in the physical world. «Relief energy» forms a conceptual bracket in the exhibition between the architectural and the geological, between haptic and process, trace and rupture. She takes on the tensions between the internal dynamism and the memory of material and its cultural use and value within an ordered environment.

The starting point for the exhibition is the specific situation of the Kunsthaus Pasquart architecture. The constructed environment is shaped by scale and order, framing, rhythm and interruptions, haptic and light. At the same time these components give the rooms a temporal dimension in the sense of a physical memory. The old building is characterised by a clear sequence of rooms which can be read as formal breaks resulting from its history of construction or alternately from a re-organisation of the former hospital as an art institution. The movement directed by the ensuing long corridor as a predetermined route and the simultaneous existence of formal elements from various building phases influence the temporality and physical presence of the rooms. Intersecting Scores (2020), the row of columns running through all the rooms, consisting of Pillars (2016) und Lamella Pillars (2020), evokes a colonnade and emphasises the connecting function of the passageway. In installing the line of pillars, the artist expands the different references to time in the rooms in terms of an extension of the architecture. The artist places the axis line in relationship to Interruptions (2020), a work consisting of stack or fold-like floor elements that resemble benches or thresholds and dissolve the boundary between design and art. Their surfaces show the imprint of the artist’s studio floor.  The strip of parquet flooring removed to create the work Mise en relief (2020) marks one of the places on which walls stood before the conversion of the Kunsthaus in 1990. Almost inconspicuous, the incisions filled with graphite in the wall of Plis coupés, plis projetés (2020) take up the distinctive chamfers on the façade of the classical old building, projecting these in the interior space.

Passagen (2011-2020) is based on white sheets of A4 notepaper, carried by Miriam Sturzenegger in her handbag wherever she goes. Through the rubbings and compressions between objects she carries with her, particles or dust are released from their surfaces and inscribed automatically on the paper. Carriers of information are produced which incorporate the artist’s movement and the physical displacement of material inside the handbag. These sheets are mounted on plaster boards and placed in the 21m long vitrine in the corridor of Parkett 2 as a kind of cartography of condensed matter of her routes, paths or walks.

In the passage to the Salle Poma Sturzenegger presents Presence Information Value Agency (2020), a wall installation of four concrete reliefs. The terms in the title serve the artist as tools for perception in her preoccupation with material and space, between which exists a tension. By means of a binary code of signs, a code used for punch cards, she translates the terms into a grid-based image of points in the concrete surfaces. The coded terms are ultimately visible sculpturally as geometrically precise indentations in the porous, living material. In the concrete itself fine traces of limestone refer to the geological context of the exhibition location, the Jura mountains.

The Salle Poma, the large white cube in the new building, is characterised by its expanse, in which formal references to scale are missing. This aesthetic produces a spatial experience of disorientation and in its minimalistic neutrality the room doesn’t demonstrate a memory, but rather exudes a temporal standstill. Miriam Sturzenegger takes this circumstance as the subject for her site-specific floor installation What Remains (Black Line) (2020). The artist goes back here to a material that has developed naturally and is widely used in industry. Porous coke swims in a long, flat water basin. As a waste product the material has lost its cultural and industrial function as fuel. The combination of the process of evaporation and the transient casting process form a new energy constellation. Technological change is also evident in the Kunsthaus. The visual disappearance of energy created through matter is visible in the difference between the old and the new buildings. While in the former there are white radiators, in the latter there are no longer visible heating elements, but a climate infrastructure run via a central technological system. Re-evaluated as an art product, the coke unfolds a new meaning here in view of climate technology and the history of energy and industry.

Jury members

Luca Beeler, director Stadtgalerie Bern

Béatrice Gysin, artist Biel

David Lemaire, director Musée des beaux-arts de La Chaux-de-Fond

Pierre-André Maus, CEO Maus Frères SA, Genf

Chantal Prod’Hom, director mudac, Lausanne

[Proposals for the candidates: Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart]

Curator

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication

A publication accompanying the exhibition with texts by Gabrielle Schaad, Nadia Veronese and Felicity Lunn will be published by the Verlag für moderne Kunst (ENG / DT / FR).

Guided tours

Thurs 15.10.2020, 6pm (fr)          Laura Weber, art historian

Fri 16.10.2020, 12:15am (dt/fr)      Art at noon – Kurzführung und Mittagssnack

Thurs 29.10.2020, 6pm (dt)         Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk and book launch

Thurs 12.11.2020, 18:00 (dt)          Miriam Sturzenegger in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Miriam Sturzenegger, What Remains (Black Line), 2020, exhibition view Salle Poma Kunsthaus Pasquart; Courtesy the artist, photo: Stefan Rohner

Lade Veranstaltungen

Miriam Sturzenegger

Prix culturel Manor 2020

19.9.–22.11.2020

L’intérêt artistique de Miriam Sturzenegger (*1983, CH), lauréate du Prix culturel Manor, porte sur le matériau, la matière et l’environnement construit. Dans son travail sur les espaces et les architectures, elle se concentre sur la substance et l’énergie inhérente des matériaux, ainsi que sur la nature des revêtements ou encore sur l’utilisation habituelle de ces ressources et les technologies de traitement. Ces propriétés sculpturales et physiques inscrites dans la matière déterminent la création artistique. Par leur réévaluation et leur transformation, les œuvres sont constamment réduites et font souvent écho aux éléments architecturaux environnants. Partant d’une confrontation durable avec le lieu d’exposition, les réalisations de Sturzenegger se basent sur les processus et contextes de formation de l’espace. Elles peuvent être lues, entre autres, comme des interventions organisatrices, comme des déplacements ou des accumulations. L’exposition combine des interventions spatiales, des nouvelles productions et une sélection d’œuvres existantes.

Dans le processus de création actuel de l’artiste, la notion géomorphologique «Reliefenergie» (énergie du relief) constitue un élément central et dynamique de sa pensée sculpturale. Grâce à son ambiguïté, il sert à l’artiste d’outil poétique pour susciter des chaînes d’association et accentuer l’expérience spatiale au sein de l’exposition. En interrogeant le relief, elle aborde non seulement la topographie dans l’espace architectural, mais aussi le potentiel multidimensionnel inhérent à la spatialité des surfaces dans le monde physique. Dans l’exposition, le concept de «Reliefenergie» forme une passerelle conceptuelle entre l’architecture et la géologie, entre l’haptique et le processus, la trace et la partition. Elle touche aux tensions entre la mémoire et la dynamique propre du matériau ainsi qu’à son utilisation et sa valorisation culturelle dans un environnement ordonné.

L’exposition prend comme point de départ les spécificités de l’espace architectural du Centre d’art Pasquart. Son environnement se caractérise par ses volumes, mais aussi l’ordre, le cadrage, le rythme et les ruptures ainsi que l’haptique et la lumière. Ces éléments confèrent aux pièces une dimension temporelle, c’est-à-dire une mémoire physique. L’ancien bâtiment se caractérise par une succession simple et précise de salles. A travers les ruptures formelles, il est possible de lire l’histoire de l’édifice, à savoir la réorganisation de l’ancien hôpital en une institution d’art. Le mouvement, guidé par un parcours prédéterminé grâce à la disposition en enfilade, ainsi que la présence concomitante d’éléments issus de différentes phases de construction conditionnent la temporalité et la dimension physique des salles. La rangée de colonnes Intersecting Scores (2020), composée de Pillars (2016) et de Lamella Pillars (2020), qui traverse toutes les pièces de l’étage, évoque un portique et souligne la fonction de réunion du couloir. En intégrant cette colonnade, l’artiste élargit les références temporelles des pièces à l’aide d’un nouvel ajout architectural. Sturzenegger relie cette ligne axiale à Interruptions (2020), une œuvre qui dissout les frontières entre le design et l’art à l’aide d’éléments empilés sur le sol ressemblant à des banquettes ou à des seuils. Leurs surfaces présentent comme une empreinte du sol de l’atelier de l’artiste. Pour Mise en relief (2020), l’artiste retire une section du parquet de la salle afin de signaler l’emplacement de l’un des anciens murs présents avant la transformation du bâtiment en Centre d’art en 1990. De manière presque imperceptible, les incisions remplies de graphite dans le mur de Plis coupés, plis projetés (2020) reprennent les bords saillants de la façade du vieux bâtiment classiciste et les projettent à l’intérieur.

Passagen (2011-2020) est constituée par des blocs-notes A4 blancs que Miriam Sturzenegger transporte dans son sac lorsqu’elle est sur la route. Grâce à la friction et à la pression entre les objets qu’elle emporte avec elle, des particules ou de la poussière se détachent de leur surface et s’inscrivent spontanément sur le papier. Ces supports contiennent ainsi les traces des mouvements de l’artiste, de ses déplacements ou encore du contenu du sac. Les feuilles sont montées sur des plaques de plâtre, puis disposées dans la vitrine du couloir du Parkett 2 longue de 21 mètres. Elles agissent ainsi comme une sorte de cartographie de ses itinéraires, chemins ou promenades condensés dans la matière.

Dans le passage de la Salle Poma, Sturzenegger présente Presence Information Value Agency (2020), une installation murale de quatre reliefs en béton. L’artiste utilise les quatre notions présentes dans le titre, entre lesquelles se dégage une tension, comme une sorte d’outil perceptif dans l’examen de la matière et de l’espace. Au moyen d’un codage de caractères binaires, système utilisé pour les cartes à perforer, elle traduit les titres en un grillage de points sur les surfaces de béton. Les termes codés deviennent finalement visibles sculpturalement sous la forme de cavités géométriquement précises dans le matériau poreux et vivant. Dans le béton lui-même, de fines traces de calcaire renvoient au contexte géologique du site de l’exposition, la chaîne du Jura.

De par son ampleur, la Salle Poma du nouveau bâtiment se présente comme un grand White Cube, dans lequel les repères dimensionnels disparaissent. Cette esthétique produit une expérience spatiale de désorientation. De même, dans sa neutralité minimaliste, l’espace ne renvoie à aucune mémoire, mais rayonne par son immobilité temporelle. Miriam Sturzenegger aborde cette caractéristique avec son installation in situ What Remains (Black Line) (2020). L’artiste utilise ici un matériau cultivé naturellement et traité industriellement. Le charbon à coke poreux flotte dans un bassin d’eau allongé et peu profond. En tant que résidu, la matière a perdu sa fonction culturelle et industrielle de combustible et se combine avec le phénomène d’évaporation de l’eau dans un «processus de moulage» volatil pour former une nouvelle constellation énergétique. Cette évolution technologique est également perceptible au Centre d’art. La disparition de cette source d’énergie devient visible au travers des différences entre l’ancien et le nouveau bâtiment. Alors que le premier dispose de radiateurs blancs, le second n’a plus de chauffages apparents, mais utilise une infrastructure climatique contrôlée par un système central. Transformé en produit d’art, le charbon à coke prend ici rétrospectivement un sens nouveau en lien avec la technologie climatique, l’énergie et l’histoire industrielle.

Membres du jury

Luca Beeler, directeur Stadtgalerie Bern

Béatrice Gysin, artiste, Bienne

David Lemaire, directeur Musée des beaux-arts de La Chaux-de-Fonds

Pierre-André Maus, administrateur de Maus Frères SA, Genève

Chantal Prod’Hom, directrice mudac, Lausanne

[Proposition des candidats: Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart]

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication

Une publication riche en illustrations avec des textes de Gabrielle Schaad, Nadia Veronese et Felicity Lunn paraît aux éditions Verlag für moderne Kunst (ENG / DT / FR).

Visites guidées

Je 15.10.2020, 18:00  (fr)    Laura Weber, historienne de l’art

Ve 16.10.2020, 12:15  (dt/fr) Art à midi – courte visite guidée suivie d’une collation

Je 29.10.2020, 18:00 (dt)   Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Entretien avec l’artiste et présentation de la publication

Je 12.11.2020, 18:00  (dt)   Miriam Sturzenegger s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn.

Miriam Sturzenegger, What Remains (Black Line), 2020, vue d’exposition Salle Poma Centre d’art Pasquart; Courtesy the artist, photo: Stefan Rohner