Lade Veranstaltungen

MELANIE MANCHOT – Open Stage. Back Stage

14.4.-16.6.2019

The exhibition at Kunsthaus Pasquart brings together for the first time a comprehensive overview of Melanie Manchot’s (*1966, D) series Mountainworks which responds to the landscape, community and tourism-led economic infrastructure of the Swiss village of Engelberg. The production over ten years of both photographic and moving image works, framed by this valley, can be understood as a sustained enquiry into our complex relationship with mountains as spaces of real and imaginary exploration of our place in the world.

Arising from her interest in the ways we look after the places temporarily in our care, Manchot focuses on the «back stage» and the hidden labour necessary to make mountain industry function. The video trilogy Out of Bounds (2016) follows two different groups of men whose daily work on the mountain allows tourism to function. “A” shows a team that goes up early in the mornings after a fresh snowfall to detonate controlled avalanches, while “B” and “C” record the repetitive movements of piste-bully drivers who flatten the snow at night, creating a mysterious drama of mountainside and machinery. Manchot’s earliest Engelberg work, Leap after The Great Ecstasy (2011) brings together sportspeople, experts and maintenance staff on the grounds of the world’s largest natural ski jump.  It charts the intense preparations for the event, both in terms of the physicality of the site itself and the individuals involved. The film’s climax (the jump) is, however, not shown. A situation thus arises of continual preparatory work and a focus on the artificiality of the spectacle. Cadence (2018) is one of Manchot’s most recent video works: from an aerial viewpoint we see a dark horse being led into a blank snowy landscape. Walking in a circle, it inscribes a trail of footprints in the snow, creating a kind of drawing. The scene is formal yet by means of the reduced visual language it places notions of nature and human agency in a state of suspense. At the same time, it echoes Manchot’s wider video and film works, in which choreography, dance, film and visual art are in dialogue. In the series White Light Black Snow (2017 ongoing) the artist questions the material qualities and conditions of the colour white. In examining the ability of the camera to «see» and to «reproduce» snow and ice, is concerned ultimately with the medium of photography itself. Manchot’s latest work Alpine Diskomiks (2019) arranges the convergence of image and sound, similar to a tectonic shift of land masses, and unfolds a continuous panorama of a mountain chain from the covers of 50 records, all of them showing the image of a mountain. An accumulation of sound that increases and reduces sequentially allows us to experience the drama and the forces of the continual process of accumulation and erosion in the mountains. The music in this incongruous collection spans the entire spectrum from classical to folk, techno to death metal.

Most of Manchot’s works hover on the threshold between the documentary and staged event, between observation and construction. Sometimes gestures, portraits or activities begin with a documentary reality and are then re-staged for the camera; at other times, it remains as pure observation. These

themes are equally evident in one of her most ambitious performative works, Dance (All Night, London) (2017), presented as a large-scale video installation in the Salle Poma. For an entire night Manchot brought together a variety of movements and cultures by working with dance schools based in London’s East End, each of which represented a different style of dance. In the course of the night the place transformed into a social space, formed by the dynamic of various gestures and movements which co-existed through a multitude of rhythms. The work questions the potential for variety, difference and collective belonging in the context of our increasingly complex societies. A new version of this collective dance performance will be performed live in the old town of Biel on 25 May 2019 in collaboration with nearly all Biel’s dance organisations. The film of the event will be presented at a later date at Kunsthaus Pasquart.

Following her degree at New York University Manchot studied fine art and education at City University, London and completed an MFA in photography at the Royal College of Art, London. She has had numerous exhibitions at, among others, the Whitechapel Gallery, London (2010), the Photography Festival, Canada (2012) and at MAC VAL, Paris (2018). Her work is represented in the following collections: DG Bank Collection (D), Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg (D), Brooklyn Museum, New York (US), Arts Council Collection, Hayward Gallery, London (UK). Melanie Manchot lives and works in London.

Exhibition curator

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication accompanying the exhibition

On the occasion of Melanie Manchot’s exhibitions at the Musée d’art contemporain du Val-de-Marne (20.10.2018-24.2.2019) and at Kunsthaus Pasquart (14.4.-16.6.2019) the publication Open Ended Now  was published, with texts by Fabienne Brugère & Guillaume le Blanc, Kate Bush, Maeve Connolly, Florian Gaité, Frank Lamy, Sibylle Omlin and Ellen Mara De Wachter (DT / FR / ENG). Edited by MAC VAL and Kunsthaus Pasquart, ca. 100 illustrations, 244 pages, hardcover, 2018.

Guided tours

Thurs 9.5.2019, 6pm (fr)    Natacha Isoz, art historian

Thurs 6.6.2019, 6pm (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Thurs 23.5.2019, 6pm (dt)   Melanie Manchot in conversation with Felicity Lunn.

Collective performance

Sat 25.5.2019, 8:30-9:30pm  In the old town of Biel

You are cordially invited to accompany the Biel dance groups brought together by Melanie Manchot on their procession-like route through the old town of Biel.

Melanie Manchot, Above/Below, 2017, Digital C-type print; Courtesy the artist and Gallery m, Bochum

………
………

Lade Veranstaltungen

MELANIE MANCHOT – Open Stage. Back Stage

14.4.-16.6.2019

L’exposition au Centre d’art Pasquart propose pour la première fois un panorama complet de la série d’œuvres Mountainworks de Melanie Manchot (*1966, D) qui aborde à la fois le paysage, la communauté et les infrastructures liées au tourisme économique de la vallée d’Engelberg. Elle marque dix années de travail photographique et vidéo sur cette région alpine de Suisse, formant une enquête approfondie sur notre rapport complexe à la montagne en tant qu’espace d’exploration réel ou imaginaire.

L’intérêt de Melanie Manchot pour la manière dont nous prenons soin des lieux qui nous sont temporairement confiés l’incline à se pencher sur le travail réalisé en coulisse nécessaire au fonctionnement de la vie en montagne. Ainsi, elle a travaillé avec plusieurs équipes de la région d’Engelberg afin d’observer et d’articuler cette thématique dans ses photographies et ses vidéos. La trilogie de vidéos Out Of Bounds (2016) accompagne deux différents groupes d’hommes, dont seul le travail quotidien en montagne rend le tourisme possible. «A» montre une équipe qui gravit un versant tôt le matin dans la neige fraîche afin de déclencher des avalanches contrôlées, tandis que «B» et «C» capturent les mouvements répétitifs des dameuses qui, la nuit, aplanissent la neige et transforment le paysage en un mystérieux spectacle de machines et de flancs de montagnes. Le premier travail vidéo de Melanie Manchot à Engelberg, Leap after The Great Ecstasy (2011), regroupe des athlètes, des experts et du personnel d’entretien sur le site du plus grand saut à ski naturel du monde. Il montre les préparatifs intensifs de l’événement au niveau des personnes impliquées et des conditions physiques du lieu. Le climax du film (le saut) est cependant évincé, créant une impression de préparation continue et mettant l’accent sur l’artificialité du spectacle. Cadence (2018) est l’une des vidéos les plus récentes de Melanie Manchot. Elle présente, en perspective aérienne, un cheval foncé conduit dans un paysage vide et enneigé. En marchant en cercle, l’animal inscrit une trace dans la neige et crée ainsi une sorte de dessin. Cette scène formelle, par son langage visuel réduit, met en tension la conception de la nature et la capacité d’action humaine. En outre, cette œuvre entre en écho avec les films de l’artiste dans lesquelles la chorégraphie, la danse, le cinéma et les arts visuels dialoguent. Dans la série White Light Black Snow (2017), Melanie Manchot interroge les propriétés et les conditions matérielles de la couleur blanche, en explorant le médium photographique. Elle examine ainsi les capacités de l’appareil à «voir» et à «reproduire» la neige et la glace. Enfin, dans son travail récent Alpine Diskomiks (2019), un panorama d’une chaîne de montagnes se déploie à partir de 50 pochettes de vinyles figurant chacune une montagne. Ici, des masses d’images et de sons s’entrechoquent tel un processus de déplacement tectonique. L’accumulation de sons qui se compose et se déconstruit séquentiellement permet d’expérimenter le drame des forces et le processus constant de formation et d’érosion des montagnes. Cette collection incongrue couvre l’entier du spectre musical, du classique au folk en passant par la techno et le métal.

La plupart des œuvres de Melanie Manchot se situent à la frontière entre documentaire et mise en scène, entre observation et construction. Certaines fois, les gestes, les portraits, les activités sont abordés par le documentaire et sont ensuite mis en scène; d’autres fois, ils sont uniquement observés. Ceci est perceptible dans l’une de ses performances les plus ambitieuses, Dance (All Night, London) (2017), exposée dans la Salle Poma sous la forme d’une installation vidéo à grande échelle. Durant une nuit, l’artiste a rassemblé une diversité de mouvements et de cultures, en travaillant avec des écoles de danse de l’East End de Londres de styles de danse différents. Au cours de la nuit, ce quartier s’est transformé en un espace social caractérisé par des gestes et des mouvements polyrythmiques.  Cette œuvre questionne le potentiel de la diversité, de la différence et de l’union dans nos sociétés de plus en plus complexes. Une nouvelle version de cette performance collective sera réalisée dans la vieille ville de Bienne le 25 mai 2019. Elle sera développée en collaboration avec la majorité des institutions de danse biennoises, réunissant des traditions éminemment différentes et des percussionnistes. Le film réalisé à cette occasion sera projeté ultérieurement au Centre d’art Pasquart.

Après un cursus à l’Université de New York, Melanie Manchot a étudié les beaux-arts et la médiation culturelle à la City University de Londres, puis a obtenu un Master of Fine Arts en photographie au Royal College of Art de Londres. Elle a réalisé de nombreuses expositions personnelles, notamment à la Whitechapel Gallery, Londres (2010), au Contact Photography Festival, Canada (2012) et au MAC VAL, Paris (2018). Ses œuvres sont représentées dans plusieurs collections dont la DG Bank Collection (D), la Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg (D), le Brooklyn Museum, New York (US), l’Arts Council Collection, la Hayward Gallery et la Government Art Collection, London (UK). Melanie Manchot vit et travaille à Londres.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice du Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication accompagnant l’exposition

L’exposition est accompagnée de la publication Open Ended Now, éditée à l’occasion des expositions de Melanie Manchot au Musée d’art contemporain du Val-de-Marne (20.10.2018-24.2.2019) et au Centre d’art Pasquart (14.4-16.6.2019). L’ouvrage comprend des textes de Fabienne Brugère & Guillaume le Blanc, Kate Bush, Maeve Connolly, Florian Gaité, Frank Lamy, Sibylle Omlin et Ellen Mara De Wachter (DT / FR / ENG). Publié par le MAC VAL et le Centre d’art Pasquart, env. 100 illustrations, 244 pages, relié, 2018.

Visites guidées

Je 9.5.2019, 18:00     (fr)    Natacha Isoz, historienne de l’art

Je 6.6.2019, 18:00     (dt)   Felicity Lunn, directrice du Centre d’art Pasquart

Entretien avec l’artiste

Je 23.5.2019, 18:00    (dt)   Melanie Manchot s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn.

Performance collective Dancing is the best revenge – A procession

Sa 25.5.2019, 20:30-21:30    Dans la vieille ville de Bienne

Melanie Manchot a réuni un grand nombre d’institutions de danse biennoises de traditions éminemment différentes (baroque, afro, jazz, breakdance…). Le public est cordialement invité à accompagner les groupes de danse dans leur périple processionnel à travers la vieille ville de Bienne et à rencontrer toutes les danseuses et les danseurs ainsi que les percussionnistes sur la place du Ring.

Melanie Manchot, Above/Below, 2017, tirage digitale type-C; Courtesy the artist and Gallery m, Bochum

………
………