1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events

Maija Luutonen

27.1.-31.3.2019

Maija Luutonen’s (b. 1978, FI) large-scale, vividly coloured paintings are made primarily on paper, chosen for its suitability for direct experimentation as well as for the immaterial nature of the white ‘negative’ spaces created on its surface. Considering the material to have a transient quality, she addresses the relation between time and movement, treating the works as an ensemble of slowly moving images rather than complete or final objects. This open-endedness is underlined by the presentation of the work leant against the wall, piled up, folded or placed in front of a door or window. Bringing together colour and light with references to the built environment and nature, Luutonen explores the possibilities for creating the illusion of spatial immersion on a flat surface. She retains in the paintings elements that are awkward or unresolved but nonetheless interesting and dynamic.

The exhibition consists of three bodies of work:  a group of paintings made in 2016; the series entitled Patch shown at the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / The Finnish National Gallery in Helsinki in 2018; and a number of new works that the artist has produced especially for the exhibition in Kunsthaus Pasquart. The paintings produced in 2016 demonstrate Luutonen’s simultaneous treatment of two-dimensionality and spatiality, as well as her consideration of the notion of representation. This exploration extended already at this time to the surface of the paper, which the artist sometimes handled as a relief in which her markings brought forth shapes from the reverse side. In this body of work, she focused on the oscillation between anxiety and ecstasy in times of constant input, on encrypted subjects, strange weather and a potential apocalypse. The paper itself also became an increasingly significant subject of her work, entering the space as a background or curling up at the base, like a secret scroll. Reflecting on spatiality through an otherwise flat surface, in the paintings of 2016 the artist dealt with notions of seemingly enclosed spaces, or rooms; where we live, where we look out from, where the material and digital seem to increasingly merge, or where art is presented. In these works, the surface became a container of narratives and thoughts, the room a stage for both withdrawal and emergence.

In the Patch series Luutonen pushed further the boundaries of traditional painting to create spatiality through colour, light and experimentation with media. She combined here painting techniques with printing, digital processing and borrowed images, enabling her to follow a different process of shortcuts, mistakes and experiments, before arriving at a more concise and clear form of the original idea. The dazzling visuality and highly sensory utilisation of materials and surfaces in her oeuvre became more apparent in the Patch series; at the same time, the artist began to test different and unconventional ways of presenting the works in the gallery space.

The new paintings, made in the second half of 2018, are all connected to the field of vision and to what happens at the fringes of that area. This encompasses the subjects of bodily perception as well as sight and the eyes in general. Similar to the «floaters» that can occur on retinas, giving the impression that one sees floating lines, blurred dark areas and insect-like forms, Luutonen is making works that «see double», have particles floating on them or are somehow not in focus. Whilst this is the psychological and aesthetic field in which the artist is currently working, in terms of the images or subjects that emerge in her paintings, she is dealing with themes such as repetition, words, boredom, tiredness, leisure and meditation. The larger paintings feature spaces that might be described as interior, exterior, constructed by humans or in-between spaces. The smaller works are more like very personal notebook notations and recall close-ups and fleeting moments.

The presentation of Patch at Kunsthaus Pasquart is the first exhibition of Maija Luutonen’s work in Switzerland. It is produced in collaboration with Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / The Finnish National Gallery in Helsinki. Luutonen’s Patch (2018) is the first in a series of commissions by emerging artists living and working in Finland. Kiasma Commission by Kordelin is initiated by Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma in Helsinki with the generous support of Alfred Kordeli Foundation, Helsinki.

Maija Luutonen studied at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Paris and the Finnish Academy of Fine Art. She lives and works in Helsinki. She has had solo exhibitions in Finland, Denmark and Latvia. The presentation at Kunsthaus Pasquart is her most comprehensive solo exhibition to date.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 28.2.2019, 6pm (fr)    Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 7.3.2019, 6pm  (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

.

MAIJA LUUTONEN – PATCH, Exhibition views Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart 2019
photos: Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Événements

Maija Luutonen

27.1.-31.3.2019

Maija Luutonen (*1978, FI) exécute principalement ses peintures grands formats aux couleurs vives sur papier, qu’elle choisit pour son adaptabilité à toutes sortes d’expérimentations ainsi que pour la nature immatérielle des espaces «négatifs» blancs qui apparaissent à sa surface. Tirant profit de la qualité transitoire de ce matériau, elle analyse la relation entre temps et mouvement, et traite ses œuvres comme un ensemble d’images en constante interaction plutôt que comme des objets accomplis et autonomes. Cette apparence inachevée est soulignée par la présentation de ses travaux tantôt appuyés contre le mur, empilés, pliés ou encore placés contre une porte ou contre une fenêtre. Réunissant couleur et lumière, en référence aussi bien à l’environnement construit qu’à la nature, Luutonen explore la possibilité de créer l’illusion d’une immersion spatiale à travers une surface plane. Elle conserve des éléments dérangeants ou laissés en suspens dans ses peintures, lesquelles restent néanmoins fascinantes et dynamiques.

L’exposition se compose de trois groupes d’œuvres: un premier ensemble de peintures réalisées en 2016, la série intitulée Patch montrée en 2018 au Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / The Finnish National Gallery d’Helsinki et plusieurs nouvelles œuvres produites par l’artiste spécialement pour l’exposition au Centre d’art Pasquart. Les peintures exécutées en 2016 illustrent la manière dont Luutonen traite simultanément bidimensionnalité et spatialité, ainsi que sa réflexion sur la notion de représentation. À cette époque, son exploration s’étend déjà à la surface du papier que l’artiste traite parfois comme un relief, ses traits faisant émerger des saillies au verso du médium. Dans ce corpus, elle se focalise sur l’oscillation entre anxiété et extase dans une ère faite d’informations constantes, ainsi que sur des sujets cryptés, un climat étrange et une potentielle apocalypse. Le papier lui-même devient aussi progressivement un sujet de plus en plus significatif de son œuvre. Il s’insère dans l’espace tel une toile de fond ou s’enroule sur lui-même depuis le bas comme un parchemin confidentiel. En explorant la spatialité à travers un médium initialement plat, l’artiste interroge dans ses peintures de 2016 la notion d’espaces en apparence clos, ou de pièces où nous vivons, d’où nous observons le monde extérieur et où matérialité et numérique semblent se confondre de plus en plus, ou encore dans lesquels l’art est exposé. Dans ces œuvres, la surface devient un réservoir de récits et de pensées, et la salle d’exposition une scène dédiée à la fois au repli et à l’émergence.

Dans la série Patch, Maija Luutonen repousse les limites de la peinture traditionnelle afin de créer une impression d’espace à travers la couleur, la lumière et divers médias qu’elle expérimente. Elle combine ici ses techniques picturales à l’impression, au traitement numérique et à l’appropriation d’images. Cela lui permet de développer un procédé différent fait de raccourcis, d’erreurs et d’essais avant de parvenir à une forme plus concise et précise de son idée originale. La série Patch rend encore plus manifeste l’exploitation éblouissante dans son œuvre des qualités visuelles et sensorielles des matériaux et des surfaces. C’est à la même période que l’artiste se met à expérimenter de nouvelles manières non conventionnelles de présenter ses œuvres dans l’espace d’exposition.

Les nouvelles peintures réalisées dans la seconde moitié de l’année 2018 explorent notre champ de vision et examinent ce qui se passe à la limite de cette zone. Elles englobent aussi bien la notion de perception corporelle que la vue et les yeux de manière plus générale. Évoquant le symptôme de «mouches volantes» qui peut se produire sur la rétine et qui donne l’impression de voir des lignes troubles, des zones d’ombre floues ou encore des formes d’insectes, Luutonen réalise des œuvres qui «voient double», qui semblent faites de particules flottantes ou sur lesquelles on aurait oublié de faire la mise au point. Alors que ceci constitue le champ psychologique et esthétique des recherches actuelles de l’artiste, les images ou les sujets qui émergent de ses peintures abordent des thèmes tels que la répétition, les mots, l’ennui, la fatigue, les loisirs et la méditation. Les plus grands tableaux présentent des espaces pouvant être lus comme intérieurs ou extérieurs, construits par l’homme ou comme des espaces intermédiaires. Les plus petites œuvres sont comme des notes personnelles dans un journal rappelant des plans serrés et des moments fugaces.

L’exposition Patch au Centre d’art Pasquart constitue la première présentation de l’œuvre de Maija Luutonen en Suisse. L’exposition a été réalisée en collaboration avec le Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / The Finnish National Gallery à Helsinki. Le groupe d’œuvres Patch (2018) est le premier d’une série de nouveaux travaux d’artistes émergents vivant et travaillant en Finlande, commandés par Kiasma Commission by Kordelin. Le Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma à Helsinki est à l’origine de cette initiative, avec l’aimable soutien de la Fondation Alfred Kordeli, Helsinki.

Maija Luutonen a étudié à l’École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris et à la Finnish Academy of Fine Art. Elle vit et travaille à Helsinki. Elle a réalisé des expositions personnelles en Finlande, au Danemark et en Lettonie. Cette présentation au Centre d’art Pasquart est sa plus importante exposition personnelle à ce jour.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice du Centre d’art Pasquart

Visites guidées

Je 28.2.2019, 18:00   (fr)    Valentine Yerly, médiatrice culturelle

Je 7.3.2019, 18:00     (dt)   Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart