Lade Events
  • This event has passed.
Klodin Erb, Die Wolfslaterne, 2017, Öl auf Leinwand / huile sur toile, Detail / détail, 130 x 100 cm; Courtesy: Lullin + Ferrari, Zürich; Foto / Photo: Stefan Altenburger

KLODIN ERB

Die Wolfslaterne

28.1.-1.4.2018

Known for her expressive, fantastical visual worlds, Klodin Erb (b. 1963, Switzerland) plumbs the limits of painting and simultaneously questions definitions of gender and identity. The alienation of images from their original contexts and playful interpretations of classical genres, styles and motifs characterise her gestural figurative works. These are mostly produced in series. In her attempts to connect topicality with timelessness in her paintings, Erb borrows from art history and samples motifs from the contemporary world, using various techniques. She places less emphasis here on representation as on the process of painting, which should be autonomous and, through brushstrokes and colour, generate the pictorial object as a form of materialisation. The rooms in the exhibition follow a structured sequence. Focussing on the theme of movement, new works are placed in relationship to paintings from the last five years, to the point at which they are finally freed from the canvas and culminate in a moving play of shadow and film to become immaterial.

Klodin Erb operates in the field of tension between figuration and abstraction. She explores to what extent she can alienate motifs from classical art history, so that a subject is still recognisable or can be guessed at and at the same time acquires a new contemporary interpretation. In this way her work also questions and illuminates current social developments and challenges. However, the process of painting – the plumbing and the questioning of the image, its objectness and materialisation – always remains central. Erb’s treatment of colour is always physical and temporal and therefore ultimately also performative. Fascinated for a long time by the moving image, Klodin Erb made her first film in 2016, in which the real painting and its filmed counterpart stimulate each other. Inspired by this new exploration of the medium of film, the solo show in Kunsthaus Pasquart examines and analyses Klodin Erb’s painting via the theme of movement and metamorphosis. Works conceived especially for the exhibition are connected with ones from the last five years and placed in relationship to each other.

For the entirety of the twenty metre long vitrine in the corridor of the second floor Erb has created a landscape painting that develops over the various levels in the vitrine itself as well as in the form of painting directly on the glass. Various layers are superimposed and the painting achieves a depth and structure, spread as it were before the observer’s eyes as an elusive panorama. This physical and mental visual walk spills over in to the row of five rooms on the second floor. The works presented here include the series Am Anfang war die Farbe (2015). The paintings conceived as «shaped canvases» show what images seen through a window or a frame, that is images of a view, could look like. While in the corridor the landscape unfolds and opens up, here it is limited to details. In very different ways Erb demands in both works a mobile form of seeing which also always corresponds to the painting process: in the concreteness of colour, in its status as object on the support and in the independent dynamic that Erb often allows the colour.

For the series produced especially for the exhibition, Alphabet der Heiligen (2017), Klodin Erb has elevated the building blocks of our writing to the painterly. Since time immemorial several saints and their attributes have been associated with the letters of the alphabet. By means of a corpus of images from magazines, books and newspapers that the artist has been collecting for a decade, she reinterprets the alphabet by replacing the old features with contemporary analogies. It is a work with spiritual leanings that takes up questions of identity and gender and enquires into the blurred boundaries between the sexes. The work Boring Childhood (2017) presents another kind of story of transformation. Ten equally sized paintings behind glass show a boy sitting forlornly on a bridge. One sees the same setting ten times, each with a different mood, accentuated and bordered by bars recalling film frames. It’s not a story that is being told here, but the expression of a condition with all its facettes and changing sensitivities. Produced in ink through a complex process, the large-format Transformations (2016/17), are layered shadow paintings. Abstract and reduced to shades of blue, this series shows a new approach of Erb to painting. In contrast with her dynamic, gestural paintings, these are merely a hint of colour that can drift away at any moment and wraps around the canvas like a veil.

On entering the Salle Poma one is completely submerged in the world of shadows. In the centre hangs the work after which the exhibition is named, Wolfslaterne (2017/18), a lantern constructed especially for the monumental space. Rotating slowly on its own axis, it throws huge shadows on the walls. In an unfathomable and fascinating play of light the shadows escape from the colour and their support, become autonomous and are nonetheless for ever bound to and dependent on the material.

Curator

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication

The exhibition is accompanied by an artist’s book, published by the Verlag für moderne Kunst with a text by Cathérine Hug (German / French / English).


Public tours

Thurs 8.3.2018, 6pm    (fr)    Valentine Yerly, historienne de l’art

Thurs 22.3.2018, 6pm   (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Wed 21.2.2018, 6pm    (dt)   Klodin Erb in vconversation with Felicity Lunn

Dance show

Sun 4.2.2018, 2:30pm, 3:30pm, 4:30pm

Based on the baroque danse noble, Compagnie enSuite’s choreography combines movement and a flow of energy with the union of music and dance..


Press conference: Friday, 26.1.2018, 10:30am
Opening: Saturday, 27.1.2018, 5pm
Children’s preview: Saturday, 27.1.2018, 5-6:30pm


KLODIN ERB_A5_low

KLODIN ERB, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Pasquart 2018, Fotos / photos: Julie Lovens

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Legats von Mme M. Mottier-Lovis. /
Avec le soutien aimable du legs de Mme M. Mottier-Lovis. /
With the kind support of the legacy of Mme M. Mottier-Lovis.

Dance performance to Klodin Erb’s Wolfslaterne (2018)

Salle Poma, 4.2.2018

Based on the baroque danse noble, Compagnie enSuite’s choreography combines movement and a flow of energy with the union of music and dance.

Film made by Alan Sahin

Lade Événements
  • Cet Événement est passé
Klodin Erb, Die Wolfslaterne, 2017, Öl auf Leinwand / huile sur toile, Detail / détail, 130 x 100 cm; Courtesy: Lullin + Ferrari, Zürich; Foto / Photo: Stefan Altenburger

KLODIN ERB

Die Wolfslaterne

28.1.-1.4.2018

Connue pour son univers visuel expressif et fantastique, Klodin Erb (*1963, CH) sonde les limites de la peinture et interroge dans le même temps les définitions du genre et de l’identité. Prise de distance et interprétations ludiques des catégories picturales, des styles et des motifs classiques caractérisent ses travaux alliant gestualité et figuration. Ceux-ci se manifestent par série dans des groupes d’œuvres. Dans un souci de lier actualité et intemporalité dans ses peintures, Erb associe l’application de diverses techniques empruntées à l’histoire de l’art avec des motifs tirés du monde actuel. Il s’agit moins de s’intéresser à ce qui est représenté qu’à l’action de peindre qui devient autonome et qui produit le sujet de l’œuvre et le matérialise par la couleur et le mouvement du pinceau. Dans l’exposition, un concept dramaturgique définit le parcours dans les salles. Des œuvres inédites sont mises en lien avec des travaux datant des cinq dernières années autour de l’idée de mouvement, jusqu’à se détacher enfin de la toile et culminer immatériellement en un jeu mouvementé de couleurs, d’ombres et d’animations.

Klodin Erb évolue entre figuration et abstraction. Elle observe jusqu’à quel point elle peut détourner des motifs issus de l’histoire de l’art classique afin qu’ils restent reconnaissables et perceptibles mais que dans le même temps, ils soient interprétables de manière contemporaine. En ce faisant, ses travaux illustrent et remettent en question les développements et défis sociaux actuels. Néanmoins, la peinture – et par là même l’examen et la critique de l’image ainsi que son caractère concret et sa matérialisation – reste toujours centrale.  Le rapport d’Erb à la couleur est à la fois physique et temporel, et dernièrement performatif. Depuis longtemps fascinée par les images mouvantes, Klodin Erb a réalisé un premier film en 2016, dans lequel la peinture réelle et sa version filmée s’enrichissent mutuellement. Inspirée par cette confrontation nouvelle avec le médium filmique, l’exposition au Centre d’art Pasquart examine et analyse la peinture de Klodin Erb à travers l’idée de mouvement et de métamorphose. Dans ce but, des œuvres conçues spécialement pour l’exposition seront mises en relation avec des travaux datant des cinq dernières années.

Pour remplir la vitrine de vingt mètres de long située dans le corridor du Parkett 2, Erb crée une peinture de paysage qui se développe non seulement sur différents niveaux à l’intérieur de la vitrine mais également sous forme de peinture appliquée directement sur le verre. Différents plans se superposent, la peinture recèle profondeur et structure, s’étendant sous les yeux du spectateur comme un panorama difficile à cerner. Cette promenade dans l’image à la fois corporelle et mentale se poursuit dans les cinq salles contiguës du Parkett 2.  Des œuvres de la série Am Anfang war die Farbe (2015) y seront entre autres présentées. Ces peintures, conçues comme des «shaped canvas» – ou toiles non rectangulaires –, nous montrent à quoi des images peuvent ressembler lorsque l’on jette un coup d’œil à travers une fenêtre, ou plus particulièrement à travers un cadre. Alors que dans le corridor le paysage s’ouvre et se déploie, il est là limité par le découpage. Erb sollicite dans les deux types de travaux, mais de manière différente, une vision mobile, dont on retrouve toujours l’équivalent dans le processus de peinture: dans la nature concrète de la couleur, dans son caractère tridimensionnel sur un support, et dans sa dynamique interne à laquelle Erb laisse pleine liberté.

Pour la série Alphabet der Heiligen (2017), spécifiquement produite en vue de l’exposition, Klodin Erb a prélevé les éléments constitutifs de notre écriture pour en faire des composantes pittoresques. Les lettres ont depuis toujours été associées à des saints avec leurs attributs. Au moyen d’un fonds d’images tirées de magazines, d’ouvrages et de journaux rassemblés depuis une décennie, l’artiste interprète l’alphabet d’une nouvelle manière, en y confrontant les anciens attributs avec des éléments contemporains analogues. Il s’agit d’un travail avec une approche spirituelle qui reprend des questions d’identité et de genre et qui invite à une réflexion sur la fluide démarcation entre les genres. Le travail Boring Childhood (2017) présente une histoire de transformation d’un autre type. Dix peintures sous verre de même grandeur montrent un jeune garçon perdu, assis sur un pont. Le même décor est représenté dix fois, dans une scène à l’atmosphère toujours différente, accentuée par une large bordure rappelant le découpage d’une image filmique. Il ne s’agit pas d’une histoire racontée mais plutôt de la formulation d’une situation sous tous ses angles et selon des états d’esprit changeants. Les grands formats de Transformations (2016/17), réalisés à l’encre à la suite d’un processus de création complexe, s’apparentent à des silhouettes superposées. Abstraite et limitée dans des tons bleus, cette série montre un nouveau rapport qu’Erb développe avec la peinture. En comparaison avec ses images à la composition dynamique et gestuelle, il n’y a ici qu’une pointe de peinture qui peut à tout moment se retirer et qui enrobe la toile comme un voile délicat.

En entrant dans la Salle Poma, nous plongeons entièrement dans le monde des ombres. Au centre est suspendue une lanterne spécialement conçue pour cet espace monumental et qui donne son titre à l’exposition Wolfslaterne (2017/18). Tournant lentement autour de son axe, elle projette sur les parois de gigantesques ombres qui s’échappent de la couleur et de leur support en un jeu lumineux vertigineux et fascinant, s’émancipant mais restant pourtant pour toujours liées et tributaires de la matière.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication

Un livre d’artiste avec un texte de Cathérine Hug paraît à l’occasion de l’exposition aux éditions Verlag für moderne Kunst (DT / FR / ENG).


Visites guidées

Je 8.3.2018, 18:00     (fr)    Valentine Yerly, historienne de l’art

Je 22.3.2018, 18:00    (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Entretien avec l’artiste

Me 21.2.2018, 18:00   (dt)   Klodin Erb s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn

Spectacle de danse

So 4.2.2018, 14:30, 15:30, 16:30

Découlant de la danse noble baroque, la chorégraphie de la Compagnie enSuite associe mouvement et flux d’énergie à l’union de la musique et de la danse.


Conférence de presse: Vendredi, 26.1.2018, 10:30
Vernissage: Samedi, 27.1.2018, 17:00
Vernissage des enfants: Samedi, 27.1.2018, 17:00-18:30


KLODIN ERB_A5_low

KLODIN ERB, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Pasquart 2018, Fotos / photos: Julie Lovens

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Legats von Mme M. Mottier-Lovis. /
Avec le soutien aimable du legs de Mme M. Mottier-Lovis. /
With the kind support of the legacy of Mme M. Mottier-Lovis.

Spectacle de danse pour Wolfslaterne (2018) de Klodin Erb

Salle Poma, 4.2.2018

Découlant de la danse noble baroque, la chorégraphie de la Compagnie enSuite associe mouvement et flux d’énergie à l’union de la musique et de la danse.

Film de Alan Sahin