Lade Veranstaltungen

KIEFER HABLITZEL | GÖHNER ART PRIZE 2019

22.9.-24.11.2019

Kunsthaus Pasquart is showing work by the prize-winners of the Kiefer Hablitzel | Göhner Art Prize 2019 for artists under the age of 30. The group exhibition presents new works by Mohamed Almusibli, Natacha Donzé, Bernhard Hegglin, Roman Selim Khereddine, Nils Amadeus Lange, Sveta Mordovskaya and Valentina Triet.

From 229 applications the jury selected 17 artists who were invited to the exhibition within the framework of the Swiss Art Awards in Basel. In a second round 7 of these nominations were awarded with the Kiefer Hablitzel | Göhner Art Prize 2019. From large-scale paintings via multimedia installations to the focus on words, text and narrative, the examination of the body and physical realities, the exhibition conveys an impression of the variety and originality of a new generation of artists working in Switzerland. A publication accompanying the exhibition with short essays by international authors on all the prize-winners is published by the Kiefer Hablitzel and Ernst Göhner Foundation.

The exhibition provides insight into the practices of young Swiss artists, with a focus on new work. The presentation is defined by a broad spectrum of artistic positions and a large variety of media and materials. From large format paintings via drawings and installations to the examination of word, text and narrative as well as the investigation of the body and physical reality, the exhibition gives an impression of the diversity and originality of a new generation of artists in Switzerland.

Mohamed Almusibli (*1990 in Sanaa (YE), works in Geneva and Zurich) makes installations with text and sound. He sees in words the voice which in addition to the linguistic expressions of an individual can also be a message with political potential in the social sphere. His works thus reveal social nuances which he subtly embeds in their spatial context. As a starting point he takes a playlist of Yemen love songs compiled by his mother and translates these in various media. He shows the Arabic lyrics as images, questioning the ways in which history is passed down and how truth is formed. He also addresses the private sphere in the domestic context and the intimacy connected with this.

Natacha Donzé (*1991 in Boudevilliers, works in Lausanne) questions in her work social codes, stereotypes, every day occurrences and fables from popular culture. The compositions of her paintings isolate, repeat or combine form, surface, colour and figurative symbols from the most varied cultural fields. The painter creates a multi-layered formal language in which the relationship between figurative and abstract elements on the evenly painted canvas is left open. For the exhibition she has produced a series of paintings that appropriate architectural room ornaments and thus refer to objects relating to interior decoration, lighting or the luxurious environment of hotel resorts.

Bernhard Hegglin (*1989 in Zurich, works in Zurich) is concerned in his artistic practice with drawing, sculpture and installation. His new metal sculptures develop from the ceiling and into the space as a delicate linear arrangement, transcending the boundaries of drawing and sculpture. At the ends of the metal lines are attached a selection of pages from a « Best of » advertising magazine. The structure fuses pre-existing elements with new additions. Thus the beginning and the end of the artistic creative process remain deliberately indeterminate and ambiguous.

In his work Roman Selim Khereddine (*1989 in Zurich, works in Zurich) treats history as a many-layered construct by re-working existing stories, anecdotes and myths and thus undermining established connections and their claim to truth. He extends his paintings with the bodies and animals of heads cast in concrete, recalling the methods of taxidermy. He refers on the one hand to the animal as the object of scientific analysis but at the same time also to the fact that as mythical creatures they implicate other methods of story-writing. The fusion of fiction and reality allows him to deconstruct socio-political constellations.

Nils Amadeus Lange (*1989 in Cologne (GER), works in Zurich) is a performer and choreographer. Parallel to his own works he has developed many collaborations with visual artists in the last few years. Lange employs the body as a means of expression and an instrument for the deconstruction of conventions and social models, such as role models and gender clichés. For this exhibition, in addition to a performance he is producing an installation that combines high culture with trivial and popular elements of mass culture. The fusion of High and Low, in combination with the choice of natural materials, produces an effective field of tension.

Sveta Mordovskaya (*1989 in Ulan-Ude (RUS), works in Zurich and Vienna) examines in her drawings and sculptures the relationship of the body to things and materials in our environment. She confronts familiar everyday objects with corporeality, directing her gaze firmly on the composition of objects. The materiality and modelled surfaces recall sediments, fossils or remains of corals, which like geological relics illustrate the traces of time, but also ornamental elements of interior decoration such as frames or wreaths. Ambiguous, poetic seeming works emerge, that oscillate between anthropomorphism and abstraction but refer mostly to the absence of the body.

Valentina Triet (*1991 in Winterthur, works in Zurich and Vienna) is concerned in her work with techniques from the contents of spatial orientation, architecture, social infrastructure and the landscape. She treats various perpectives on a subject which can be implemented in various media – installations, sculpture, texts, photography or film – and develops her own specific narrative. The artist eludes with her artistic practice an unequivocal reading of her work; rather the associative use of everyday materials plays a large role.

Guided tour and performance

Sat 19.10.2019, 15:00             Performance by Nils Amadeus Lange

Thu 24.10.2019, 18:00 (dt)   Guided tour with Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk and book launch

Thu 7.11.2019, 18:00 (dt)     Artists of the exhibition in conversation with Felicity Lunn
Book launch of the publication Kiefer Hablitzel | Göhner Art Prize 2019

Panel discussion: : The art of promotion

Thu 13.11.2019, 19:00 (dt)     Promotion of young swiss artists  Organised by Kiefer Hablitzel Stiftung

Kiefer Hablitzel | Göhner Art Prize 2019, exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019. Photos: Stefan Rohner

Lade Veranstaltungen

KIEFER HABLITZEL | GÖHNER PRIX D’ART 2019

22.9.-24.11.2019

Le Centre d’art Pasquart présente les œuvres des lauréats du prix Kiefer Hablitzel | Göhner 2019 pour des artistes de moins de trente ans. L’exposition collective réunit de nouveaux travaux de Mohamed Almusibli, Natacha Donzé, Bernhard Hegglin, Roman Selim Khereddine, Nils Amadeus Lange, Sveta Mordovskaya et Valentina Triet.

Parmi 229 candidatures, le jury a sélectionné 17 artistesà participer à l’exposition réalisée à Bâle dans le cadre des Swiss Arts Awards. Lors d’une deuxième sélection, 7 d’entre eux ont été distingués par le Prix d’art Kiefer Hablitzel | Göhner 2019. Des peintures de grand format aux installations multimédias, de l’analyse des mots, du texte et du récit en passant par l’étude du corps et des réalités physiques, l’exposition donne un aperçu de la diversité et de l’originalité d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes travaillant en Suisse. L’exposition est accompagnée d’une publication éditée par les fondations Kiefer Hablitzel et Ernst Göhner comprenant de courts essais sur les lauréats par des auteurs internationaux.

L’exposition donne un aperçu de la jeune création artistique suisse en mettant l’accent sur de nouvelles œuvres. Cette présentation se caractérise par une large palette de positions artistiques et une grande variété de médias et de matériaux: de la peinture grand format aux œuvres graphiques et aux installations, jusqu’aux travaux recourant aux mots, aux textes et aux récits, ou s’intéressant au corps et aux réalités physiques. L’exposition offre en effet une impression de la diversité et de l’originalité d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes suisses.

Mohamed Almusibli (*1990 à Sanaa (YE), vit et travaille à Genève et à Zurich) crée des installations avec du texte et du son. Par les mots, il fait entendre non seulement la voix d’un individu, mais peut-être aussi une déclaration politique dans un contexte social. Ses œuvres révèlent ainsi des subtilités de la société qu’il intègre avec beaucoup de finesse dans l’espace. Comme point de départ, il prend une playlist de chansons d’amour yéménites compilées par sa mère et les retravaille à travers divers médias. Il montre les paroles écrites en arabe sous forme d’images et questionne ainsi comment l’histoire se transmet, et de quelle manière la vérité se constitue. Il aborde également la protection de la vie privée dans le contexte domestique ainsi que l’intimité qui y est associée.

Dans son travail, Natacha Donzé (*1991 à Boudevilliers, travaille à Lausanne) examine les codes sociaux, les stéréotypes, les événements quotidiens et les mythes de la culture populaire. Ses compositions picturales isolent, répètent ou combinent des formes, des surfaces, des couleurs et des symboles figuratifs provenant des domaines culturels les plus divers. La peintre crée un langage de formes à plusieurs strates dans lequel la relation entre les éléments figuratifs et abstraits de la toile uniformément peinte est laissée ouverte. Pour l’exposition, elle a créé une série de tableaux qui récitent des ornements architecturaux et qui font ainsi référence à des objets liés à la décoration intérieure, à l’éclairage ou à l’environnement luxueux des complexes hôteliers.

Bernhard Hegglin (*1989 à Zurich, travaille à Zurich) se consacre dans sa pratique artistique au dessin, à la sculpture et l’installation. Partant du plafond, ses nouvelles sculptures métalliques se fraient un passage dans la pièce comme une structure linéaire délicate, traversant les frontières médianes du dessin et de la sculpture. De plus, une sélection de pages du magazine publicitaire «Best of» est fixée aux extrémités des lignes métalliques. La structure réunit ainsi l’existant et le nouveau. Le début et la fin du processus de création artistique restent délibérément indéterminés et ambigus.

Dans ses œuvres, Roman Selim Khereddine (*1989 à Zurich, travaille à Zurich) aborde l’Histoire comme un sujet multidimensionnel en reconstituant des histoires, anecdotes et mythes connus et en sapant ainsi les liens existants et leur revendication à la vérité. Il complète ses tableaux avec des corps et des têtes d’animaux moulés dans le béton qui rappellent les méthodes de la taxidermie. D’une part, il se réfère à l’animal en tant qu’objet d’investigation scientifique, mais aussi au fait que, en tant que créatures mythiques, elles renvoient à d’autres méthodes propres à l’historiographie. Le mélange entre la fiction et la réalité lui permet de déconstruire des constellations sociales et politiques.

Nils Amadeus Lange (*1989 à Cologne (D), travaille à Zurich) est à la fois performeur et chorégraphe. À côté de son travail personnel, il a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes visuels ces dernières années. Lange utilise son corps comme moyen d’expression et instrument pour déconstruire les conventions et les paradigmes sociaux tels que les stéréotypes et les clichés de genre. Pour cette exposition, il crée une performance et une installation dans laquelle il mélange la culture d’élite avec le banal et le populaire de la culture de masse. Le mariage entre l’art noble et l’art populaire, combiné au choix des matériaux naturels, crée un champ de tension efficace.

Sveta Mordovskaya (*1989 à Oulan-Ude (RU), travaille à Zurich et à Vienne) explore, par le dessin et la sculpture, le rapport du corps avec les choses et matériaux dans notre environnement. Elle confronte des objets familiers et quotidiens à la corporéité, son regard étant fortement orienté vers la composition des objets. La matérialité et la forme des surfaces rappellent les sédiments, les fossiles ou les restes de coraux qui, tels des reliques géologiques, illustrent les traces du temps, mais font aussi penser aux éléments de décoration intérieure comme des cadres ou des couronnes. Naissent des œuvres ambiguës et poétiques qui oscillent entre l’anthropomorphisme et l’abstraction, mais qui font surtout référence à l’absence du corps.

Valentina Triet (*1991 à Winterthour, travaille à Zurich et à Vienne) se penche dans son travail sur des techniques d’orientation dans l’espace, dans l’architecture, dans l’infrastructure et dans le paysage. Elle élabore diverses perspectives sur un thème qui peuvent être déclinées dans différents médias – installations, sculptures, textes, photographies ou films – et qui développent une narration spécifique. Par sa pratique artistique, Triet se garde d’une lecture claire de son Œuvre. Celui-ci est avant tout caractérisé par l’utilisation associative de matériaux quotidiens.

Visite guidée et performance

sa 19.10.2019, 15:00              Performance de Nils Amadeus Lange

je 24.10.2019, 18:00 (dt)      Visite guidée avec Felicity Lunn, directrice centre d’art Pasquart

Entretien avec les artistes et présentation du catalogue

je 7.11.2019, 18:00 (dt)         Des artistes de l’exposition s’entretiennent avec Felicity Lunn
Présentation du catalogue Kiefer Hablitzel | Göhner Kunstpreis 2019

Table ronde: L’art de la promotion

me 13.11.2019, 19:00 (dt)     Promotion de jeunes artistes en Suisse  Organisé par Kiefer Hablitzel Stiftung

Kiefer Hablitzel | Göhner Prix d’art 2019, vues d’exposition centre d’art Pasquart 2019. Photos: Stefan Rohner