Lade Events
Kemang Wa Lehulere, Every Song, 2017, Wandschnitt / gravure murale, Detail / détail, 260 x 360 cm; Courtesy Kemang Wa Lehulere, Deutsche Bank’s «Artist of the Year» 2017; Foto / Photo: Mathias Schormann



Hand signals engraved in stone, Bibles clamped between false teeth, blurred chalk marks on blackboards, school benches turned into birdhouses. Kemang Wa Lehulere’s (*1984, SA) many-sided work produces haunting, suggestive images, founded in the past of his native country South Africa. Located between an autobiographical search for clues and historical events, the exhibition creates a place of reflection on ideologies in the education system, the instrumentalisation of religion or the erasure of collective memory. He submits his visual narratives to an on-going process of overwriting and reconstruction. Beyond the examination of South African history his drawings, performances, installations and videos also have an impact that extends to the questions of our time. The force of an associative visual language provokes an awareness of a present that its history has caught up with and which demands the disclosure of differences and prejudices. Like a film script waiting to be implemented, a narrative space opens up in which muted voices have their say again and unfulfilled ways of living become reality.

Kemang Wa Lehulere’s work is articulated through its openness. It stems from the idea that all artistic manifestations develop in collective processes and stand in relation to the historical and social context from which they arise. When, therefore, the artist combines works by artists such as Ernest Mancoba (1904 – 2002, SA) or Gladys Mgudlandlu (1917 – 1979, SA) with his own, he creates a situation in which the borders between past and present, community and individual are dissolved.

Gladys Mgudlandlu, who is considered to be one of the first black female South African artists, made a series of paintings and drawings in the 1960s. Critics described the autodidact’s style of painting as superficial, as she was apparently unaware of the division of races and was commited to using primarily traditional motifs. Based on research for the video Homeless Song 5 (2017), produced with the architect Ilze Wolff, Wa Lehulere concluded, however, that the landscapes that Mgudlandlu shows in the series Untitled (undated) must be illustrations of the hills and huts of Luyolo. At that time the strip of land was declared a living area for whites and its occupants were forcibly re-housed. Furthermore, when Wa Lehulere learnt from his aunt Sophia Lehulere that she knew Mgudlandlu personally, he had her draw from memory her colourful paintings with chalk and small boards and completed these sketches later. In the exhibition he presents the group of works Does This Mirror Have a Memory (1962 – 66 / 2015) which consists of original paintings by Gladys Mgudlandlu and these reconstructions. The autobiographical links become denser due to the aunt’s memories  of wall paintings in the artist’s former block of flats, which Wa Lehulere and a restorer freed from nine layers of plaster and paint and subsequently exposed.

A recurring motif in the artist’s work are porcelain sheep dogs, which can be seen in the site-specific installations Cosmic Interlude Orbit (2016) or Red Winter in Gugulethu (2016). Sheep dogs can still be found today in South African houses, guarding the property of the upper class. Here, the dogs in their upright sitting position look like silent witnesses. However, in spite of their calm there is something menacing about them. Unavoidably the question arises whom the dogs are observing and in what relationship they have with the recycled school tables or the suitcases pierced by crutches – symbols of forms of repression.

Bones stubbornly resist decay and over the decades make the covering up of the traces of past crimes impossible. As a metaphor in the installation Homeless Song 5 (a sketch) (2017) they also refer to the South African author Nat Nakasa (1937 – 1965), who jumped to his death in New York. The grass that was originally used came from his grave. The artist transported pieces of the turf from the USA to South Africa, placed them in the suitcase and let the grass carry on growing, guarded by porcelain sheep dogs.

During apartheid the education system was designed above all else to keep the black population’s horizon of knowledge limited. Mathematics, philosophy and art had no place in the curriculum. Alongside the obstruction of the freedom of speech, through the ban on the mother tongue speaking in a foreign language was also imposed. The group of works My Apologies to Time (2017) reveals mechanisms of conditioning and its translation into an ambivalent state of freedom. Table legs from school desks are turned into steel tube structures and their wooden panels rebuilt as bird houses, thus making them visible as instruments of domestification. The stuffed grey parrot, the most talkative speaker of the parrot family, embodies in a discrepant way formability by impartially imitating various languages and at the same time an apparent independence due to its ability to fly.

The photograph Untitled (2017) shows a bird from the exposed wall painting in Gladys Mgudlandlu’s house. Following its discovery, this triggered Wa Lehulere’s research into birds and their significance during apartheid. Constructed from crutches, the floating Installation Broken Wings (2017) refers to the Biblical fall of humanity, that is to the forcible expulsion from paradise. In this work false teeth clamp Bibles written in the language of the South African people Xhosa. The human rights campaigner Desmond Tutu said in this connection: «When the missionaries came to Africa they had the Bible and we the land. They said : ‹Let’s pray›. We closed our eyes. When we opened them again, we had the Bible and they the land.»

In his first comprehensive institutional solo exhibition in Switzerland Kemang Wa Lehulere refers to far-reaching consequences of repressive systems. He shows how history can’t be re-writen, but through artistic and social intervention can be enlarged to contain more complexity and points of view. Formulated in sign language, the hand symbols engraved in a piece of wall from the work Every Song (2017) read: «Mother said every song knows its home».

The exhibition is a collaboration with the Deutsche Bank, which distinguished Kemang Wa Lehulere with the title «Artist of the Year» 2017. The works from the presentation Bird Song, which on the occasion of the distinction were shown in the Deutsche Bank Kunst Halle in Berlin and at MAXXI in Rome, form part of the exhibition at Kunsthaus Pasquart.

Curator of the exhibition

Damian Jurt, scientific collaborator Kunsthaus Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 8.3.2018, 6pm  (fr)    Valentine Yerly, historienne de l’art

Thurs 22.3.2018, 6pm (dt)   Damian Jurt, Kurator der Ausstellung

Artist’s talk

Sun 28.1.2018, 2pm   (eng) Kemang Wa Lehulere in conversation with Damian Jurt

Press conference: Friday, 26.1.2018, 10:30am
Opening: Saturday, 27.1.2018, 5pm
Children’s preview: Saturday, 27.1.2018, 5-6:30pm


KEMANG WA LEHULERE, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Pasquart 2018, Fotos / photos: Julie Lovens


Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung der Stiftung Kunsthaus-Sammlung Pasquart. /
Avec l’aimable soutien de la Fondation Collection Centre d’art Pasquart. /
With the kind support of the Foundation Collection Kunsthaus Pasquart.

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Événements
Cet Événement est passé
Kemang Wa Lehulere, Every Song, 2017, Wandschnitt / gravure murale, Detail / détail, 260 x 360 cm; Courtesy Kemang Wa Lehulere, Deutsche Bank’s «Artist of the Year» 2017; Foto / Photo: Mathias Schormann

KEMANG WA LEHULERE

28.1.-1.4.2018

Des signes de mains gravés dans la pierre, des exemplaires de la Bible coincés entre des dentiers, des traits de craie floutés sur tableau noir, des bancs d’école transformés en volières. Le travail protéiforme de Kemang Wa Lehulere (*1984, SA) libère des images poignantes et suggestives qui trouvent leur origine dans le passé de son pays d’origine, l’Afrique du Sud. Entre recherche autobiographique et faits historiques, l’artiste crée dans son exposition un espace qui invite à réfléchir à l’irruption des idéologies dans le système éducatif, aux instrumentalisations de la religion ou encore à l’effacement de la mémoire collective. Il fait subir à son travail un processus continu de réinterprétation et de reconstruction. Au-delà de la confrontation avec l’histoire sud-africaine, ses dessins, performances, installations et vidéos ont aussi une résonance dans les questionnements de notre époque. Le flot de son langage visuel associatif éveille la conscience d’un présent rattrapé par son histoire, qui revendique la mise à nu de ses différences et préjugés. A l’image d’un scénario attendant sa réalisation, émerge un espace narratif dans lequel des voix opprimées retrouvent la parole et des projets inaboutis deviennent réalité.

L’œuvre de Kemang Wa Lehulere s’articule à travers son ouverture. Il naît de l’idée que toute manifestation artistique résulte de processus collectifs et est liée au contexte historique et social, duquel elle est issue. Lorsque l’artiste met ses travaux en relation avec les œuvres d’artistes comme Ernest Mancoba (1904 – 2002, SA) ou Gladys Mgudlandlu (1917 – 1979, SA), il crée une situation dans laquelle les frontières entre passé et présent, communauté et individu, s’estompent.

Dans les années 1960, Gladys Mgudlandlu, considérée comme l’une des premières artistes noires d’Afrique du Sud, crée une série de peintures et de dessins. Des voix critiques ont décrit le style pictural de l’artiste autodidacte comme superficiel, du fait qu’elle semblait moins s’intéresser au traitement de la ségrégation dans son œuvre qu’à des motifs essentiellement traditionnels. Pourtant, suite à la recherche menée avec l’architecte Ilze Wolff pour l’œuvre vidéo Homeless Song 5 (2017), Kemang Wa Lehulere arrive à la conclusion que les paysages dépeints dans la série Untitled (sans date) de Mgudlandlu représentent probablement les collines et les cabanes du Luyolo. Cette région a vu ses habitants déplacés de force après avoir été déclarée comme zone d’habitation pour Blancs. Lorsque Wa Lehulere apprend que sa tante, Sophia Lehulere, a personnellement connu Mgudlandlu, il l’invite à reproduire de mémoire, et à la craie, ses peintures hautes en couleur sur de petits tableaux noirs, qu’il a ensuite lui-même retravaillés. Pour cette exposition, l’artiste présente Does This Mirror Have a Memory (1962 – 66 / 2015), une œuvre qui réunit les peintures originales de Gladys Mgudlandlu aux côtés de ces reconstructions. Les imbrications autobiographiques se densifient encore lorsque sa tante l’informe que les parois de l’ancienne maison de l’artiste sont recouvertes de ses peintures murales. Il entreprend alors, avec l’aide d’une restauratrice, de les libérer des neuf couches de peinture et de crépi qui les dissimulent.

Un motif récurrent dans l’œuvre de l’artiste est celui de bergers allemands en porcelaine, visibles dans les imposantes installations Cosmic Interlude Orbit (2016) et Red Winter in Gugulethu (2016). Encore aujourd’hui, les bergers allemands sont très présents en Afrique du Sud et ont pour rôle de garder les propriétés de la classe supérieur. Ici, par leur posture droite et assise, les chiens font figure de témoins silencieux. Pourtant, malgré leur calme apparent, ils dégagent quelque chose de menaçant, posant inévitablement la question de savoir qui ils surveillent et quel rapport ils entretiennent avec les pupitres d’écoles recyclés ainsi que les valises transpercées de béquilles – des symboles de formes d’oppression.

Les os résistent de manière persistante à la dégradation du temps et empêchent, au fil des décennies, la disparition de traces laissées par les crimes du passé. Présents en tant que métaphore dans l’installation Homeless Song 5 (a sketch) (2017), ils font également référence à l’écrivain sud-africain Nat Nakasa (1937 – 1965), qui s’est suicidé à New York. L’herbe utilisée initialement dans la valise provenait de sa tombe. L’artiste a transporté des morceaux de gazon des Etats-Unis vers l’Afrique du Sud afin de les placer dans la valise, où ils continuent de pousser sous la surveillance des bergers allemands en porcelaine.

Durant l’apartheid, le système éducatif se concentrait en première ligne à restreindre les connaissances de la population noire. Mathématiques, philosophie et art n’avaient pas leur place dans le programme scolaire. A côté des entraves à la liberté d’expression figurait également l’interdiction de parler sa langue maternelle, forçant de surcroit les populations à communiquer dans une langue étrangère. L’ensemble d’œuvres My Apologies to Time (2017) met en lumière des mécanismes de conditionnement qui se traduisent par une forme ambivalente de la liberté. Des pupitres d’école sont transformés en une structure constituée de tubes en acier, dont les plateaux en bois font office de volières, révélant ainsi leur fonction d’instruments de domestication. Le perroquet gris empaillé, orateur le plus loquace de la famille des perroquets, incarne de manière discordante à la fois malléabilité, par son imitation indifférenciée des langues, et indépendance apparente, par son aptitude à voler.

La photographie Untitled (2017) présente un oiseau issu de la peinture murale dégagée dans la maison d’origine de Gladys Mgudlandlu. Celui-ci a donné lieu à une recherche sur les oiseaux et leur signification durant l’apartheid. L’installation flottante Broken Wings (2017), constituée d’un assemblage de béquilles en bois, renvoie à la chute dans le péché originel, c’est-à-dire à l’expulsion violente hors du Paradis. Des bibles dans la langue originale du peuple Xhosa sont coincées entre des dentiers.  Le défenseur des droits de l’homme, Desmond Tutu, a exprimé dans ce contexte: «Quand les missionnaires sont venus en Afrique du Sud, ils avaient la Bible et nous avions la terre. Ils ont dit: ‹Prions ›. Nous avons fermé nos yeux. Lorsque nous les avons rouverts, nous avions la Bible, et eux la terre.»

Pour sa première exposition monographique de grande envergure dans une institution suisse, Kemang Wa Lehulere renvoie aux profondes conséquences des systèmes de répression. Il montre que, si l’histoire ne peut pas être réécrite, elle peut, par une intervention artistique et sociale, être élargie dans sa complexité et dans ses points de vues. Formulés en langue des signes, les gestes de la main gravés sur un morceau de mur dans l’œuvre Every Song (2017) indiquent: «Mother said every song knows its home».

L’exposition a été réalisée en coopération avec la Deutsche Bank, qui a élu Kemang Wa Lehulere «Artist of the Year» 2017. Les œuvres présentées dans le cadre de Bird Song à la Deutsche Bank KunstHalle à Berlin et au MAXXI à Rome font partie de l’exposition au Centre d’art Pasquart.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Damian Jurt, collaborateur scientifique Centre d’art Pasquart


Visites guidées

Je 8.3.2018, 18:00     (fr)    Valentine Yerly, historienne de l’artJe 22.3.2018, 18:00    (dt)   Damian Jurt, Kurator der Ausstellung

Entretien avec l’artiste

Di 28.1.2018, 14:00   (eng) Kemang Wa Lehulere s’entretient avec Damian Jurt


Conférence de presse: Vendredi, 26.1.2018, 10:30
Vernissage: Samedi, 27.1.2018, 17:00
Vernissage des enfants: Samedi, 27.1.2018, 17:00-18:30


 

KEMANG WA LEHULERE, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Pasquart 2018, Fotos / photos: Julie Lovens

 


Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung der Stiftung Kunsthaus-Sammlung Pasquart. /
Avec l’aimable soutien de la Fondation Collection Centre d’art Pasquart. /
With the kind support of the Foundation Collection Kunsthaus Pasquart.