Lade Veranstaltungen
Susan Morris, SunDial:NightWatch_Activity and Light 2010–2012 (Tilburg Version), 2014, Jacquard: cotton, linen yarn, 155 x 589 x 4 cm, Stiftung Kunsthaus-Sammlung Pasquart; Foto: Stefan Rohner

KALÉIDOSCOPE

CURRENT VIEWS ON THE 30 YEARS OF COLLECTION

4.7.–6.9.2020

Exhibition opening (without vernissage): Sat 4.7.2020, 11:00am, free entry the whole day

Marking its 30th jubilee this year, the Kunsthaus looks back to 30 years of collecting activity, concentrating on highlights. Oriented at the beginning towards regional art, the Kunsthaus-Collection has focused for several years on works by international artists shown in an exhibition at the Kunsthaus. Today the collection numbers over 1800 works.

Kaleidoscope means «seeing beautiful forms», but its play with forms goes beyond its meaning: the Kaleidoscope inspires us to reflect on other perspectives. It combines fragments in new forms and produces a multiplicity of different ways of seeing things that connect or recoil from each other. The exhibition presents new acquisitions, works that have rarely been seen or are familiar, series of works or individual pieces. The variety reflects the changing views of those protagonists who have helped mould the collection, but also the role of donations in defining new emphases. In this encounter between works there can emerge on the one hand relationships or correspondences; on the other hand the individual pieces often have little in common. The testing of constellations and contemporary perspectives on the collection allow new contexts to emerge.

It was important to us to expand our views on the 30 years of collection with the work of contemporary artists from Biel. The personal, artistic response of Béatrice Gysin, Katrin Hotz, Jeanne Jacob and Simon Ledergerber to selected works creates a lively dialogue with the collection.

Béatrice Gysin (b. 1947 in Zurich, lives and works in Biel) juxtaposes smaller drawings and objects with the 17 heliogravures from Markus Raetz’ portfolio Ombre (2007). The artist meticulously selected existing works from her own archive, in which she found parallels, similarities or affinities with Raetz’ graphic work. Presented as an installation on tables, the combination creates a contrast, however the subject of seeing accompanies both artists, who question in their work the way perception becomes an everyday routine. The result is a quiet, poetic room which invites the viewer’s gaze to sweep over the textures of drawings and hilly alabaster landscapes, to follow the precise lines and discover forms that emerge over and again. The juxtaposition demands intense observation from the viewer for narratives, equivalences or sensuous encounters to open. As a second juxtaposition, Béatrice Gysin selected the sculptural drawing by Anna Barriball Untitled V (2008), to which she reacts with a three-dimensional drawing on wood and glass.

Katrin Hotz (b. 1976 in Glarus, lives and works in Biel) encounters the Kunsthaus-Collection with large and small format pen and ink drawings from the period 2011-13. The works in her series Occhi (2013) are formed from net structures and lozenges, empty white spaces or black circles which she develops with quick, rhythmical marks. Her forms break out of the geometrical rigour and recall instead meshwork or organic structures. The artist places these moving forms in a dialogue with Clare Goodwin’s paintings Graham (2013) and Howard (2016), whose precise and clearly delineated colour fields Goodwin counters with narratives from a social reality by entitling her compositions with names of people. Next to these, in the same room, are abstract works by Heinz-Peter Kohler, which unexpectedly enter into a relationship with these other paintings and drawings. Katrin Hotz finds in Rebecca Horn’s Bleistift-Flügel (1988) a formal relationship with works from her series Pickles (2011-13). These are vague formations of thoughts and gentle structures that stand out against the white background and give the impression of escaping the space of the picture at any moment. In another part of the exhibition Hotz’ burning tower Vergessen das Vergessen nicht (2007) enters into conversation with Martin Ziegelmüller’s 5th cycle Teilchenbeschleuniger (2013-14).

The painter Jeanne Jacob (b. 1994 in Neuchâtel, lives and works in Biel) has produced several new works for the exhibition, with which she in various ways reacts to artists in the collection, such as Rebecca Horn, Klodin Erb or Francisco Sierra. She paints intuitively and surfaces, forms and figures are often superimposed until the artist arrives at a result through the painting process. In the foyer she combines Party, Party (2020) with San Keller’s Stammtisch (2007). The two figures seem to be caught in a moment between fun and boredom. Jacob paints people and bodies, unstaged and caught in an everyday matter-of-factness; senuous and intimate, without appearing pornographic. The are situated in a kind of state of uncertainty, in which ideals are subverted and contraditions are possible. In the Galeries we encounter 99 Mickeys, which Jacob has made in response to Markus Raetz’ sculpture Form im Raum (1991-92). By giving the icon 99 faces, her work Fluide Mickey (2020) dissolves the idealised and stereotypical image of Mickey Mouse. The varied emotions of the mouse faces make different characteristics visible. Jacob gives the fictive character a personality and thus transforms the collective into the individual.

Simon Ledergerber (b. 1977 in Brunnen, lives in Zurich and works in Biel) chose from the Kunsthaus-Collection the work from white earth (1993) by the Dutch artist herman de vries. Here the landscape is depicted not as an image, but in the form of earth rubbings on paper, that join together as a minimalistic presentation of monochromes. At the centre of his practice is nature as a space of life and experience. Simon Ledergerber juxtaposes with this work his sculpture Vor dem Gesetze (nach Kafkas Text) (2019), with which he refers to Franz Kafka’s parable of the doorkeeper. He works primarily with natural materials and is concerned with processes and questions of formation. At the heart of his work is the consideration of how to give a form to raw material, without dominating its features, but rather incorporating that which is already inherent in the material. In this way, his works are often situated in the field of tension between nature and artificiality.

 

Project Till Velten in the Collections Room and the NMB Neues Museum Biel

As a satellite project the artist Till Velten (b. 1961 in Wuppertal, Germany, lives and works in Zurich and Berlin) presents in the Collections Room of the Kunsthaus his curatorial project TAUSCHEN. A work by Till Velten. In the collaboration with the NMB he created an exchange of works from both collections, which he presents in each case in the other institution. By showing works from the Kunsthaus-Collection in the NMB and vice versa he aims to show how the boundaries between the applied arts housed in the NMB and the so-called free art collected in the Kunsthaus are blurred. From the exchange between the institutions there emerges a changed perspective: it becomes clear how strongly a work is determined by its environment and the perception of viewers. The work is extended by two video interviews with the directors and curators of the two institutions who are confronted  with their power to bring works of art out of their sleep in the storage and place them for a certain time in the focus of perception.

Curators of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director, and Stefanie Gschwend, associate curator Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Artists’ talk

Sun 5.7.2020, 14:00 (dt)                Béatrice Gysin, Katrin Hotz and Jeanne Jacob in conversation with Felicity Lunn and Stefanie Gschwend.

Guided tours

Thurs 13.8.2020, 18:00  (fr)             Laura Weber, art historian. Followed by a concert.

Thurs 3.9.2020, 18:00    (dt)            Felicity Lunn and Stefanie Gschwend, curators of the exhibition

With the kind support of the Foundation Kunsthaus-Collection Pasquart.

Lade Veranstaltungen
Susan Morris, SunDial:NightWatch_Activity and Light 2010–2012 (Tilburg Version), 2014, Jacquard: coton, fil de lin, 155 x 589 x 4 cm, Fondation Collection Centre d’art Pasquart; photo: Stefan Rohner

KALÉIDOSCOPE

REGARDS ACTUELS SUR LES 30 ANS DE LA COLLECTION

4.7.–6.9.2020

Ouverture de l’exposition (sans vernissage): sa 4.7.2020, 11:00, entrée libre toute la journée

À l’occasion de son 30e anniversaire, le Centre d’art revient sur la constitution depuis 30 ans de sa collection. Privilégiant dans un premier temps l’art régional, celle-ci se concentre depuis plusieurs années sur les oeuvres d’artistes internationaux ayant exposé au Centre d’art. La Collection Centre d’art Pasquart compte aujourd’hui plus de 1800 oeuvres.

Kaléidoscope signifie «voir de belles formes», mais ce jeu de formes va au-delà de cette définition: le kaléidoscope nous incite à réfléchir à d’autres perspectives. Il assemble des fragments pour constituer de nouvelles configurations et crée ainsi une multitude de points de vue différents qui se relient ou se repoussent. L’exposition présente des acquisitions récentes, des travaux rarement montrés ou connus, des ensembles d’un-e même artiste ou des oeuvres isolées. Cette diversité reflète la perception individuelle des acteur-trice-s ayant contribué à la constitution de la collection, mais aussi le rôle des dons qui viennent alors définir de nouvelles priorités. La réunion d’oeuvres au sein d’une même collection fait émerger des relations et des correspondances entre elles, mais aussi leur singularité.

Nous avons tenu à élargir notre perspective sur les 30 ans de la collection en invitant des artistes biennois-es contemporain-es. Béatrice Gysin, Katrin Hotz, Jeanne Jacob et Simon Ledergerber proposent leur réaction personnelle aux œuvres choisies dans la collection. Leur regard artistique provoque une confrontation vivante et inédite avec le fonds existant.

Béatrice Gysin (*1947, Zurich, vit et travaille à Bienne) associe des petits dessins et objets avec les 17 héliogravures du portfolio de Markus Raetz, Ombre (2007). L’artiste biennoise a consciencieusement choisi des œuvres issues de ses propres archives dans lesquelles elle a trouvé des parallèles et des similitudes avec le travail graphique de Raetz. Présentées sous la forme d’une installation sur table, les œuvres constituent un ensemble contrasté qui s’accorde toutefois sur la question du regard. Les deux artistes interrogent en effet la perception quotidienne, voire routinière. Un espace calme et poétique est ainsi créé, invitant le regard à vagabonder sur les textures graphiques et les paysages vallonnés de l’albâtre, ainsi qu’à suivre les lignes précises et découvrir des formes qui se répètent. Cette confrontation exige des spectateur-trices une observation attentive, afin que des récits, des correspondances ou des rencontres sensorielles puissent s’épanouir. Pour sa seconde intervention, Béatrice Gysin a choisi le dessin sculptural d’Anna Barribal, Untitled V (2008) qu’elle confronte à un dessin tridimensionnel sur bois et verre.

Katrin Hotz (*1976, Glaris, vit et travaille à Bienne) va à la rencontre de la collection du Centre d’art avec de petits et grands formats de dessins à l’encre de Chine des années 2011-13. Elaborées par un tracé rythmé et rapide, les œuvres de sa série Occhi (2013) se composent de structures réticulaires et de losanges, accompagnés de zones blanches ou de cercles noirs. Ses formes sortent de l’austérité géométrique et rappellent davantage des enlacements ou des structures organiques. L’artiste met ses compositions mouvantes en dialogue avec les œuvres de Clare Goodwin, Graham (2013) et Howard (2016) dont les surfaces de couleurs sont précises et clairement délimitées et que Goodwin oppose aux récits d’une réalité sociale en leur donnant des prénoms. Dans la même salle se trouvent également des peintures abstraites de Heinz-Peter Kohler qui entrent en relation de manière inattendue avec les autres œuvres. Avec Bleistift-Flügel (1988) de Rebecca Horn, Katrin Hotz établit une relation formelle avec les œuvres de sa série Pickles (2011-13). De vagues pensée et des formes légères se détachent du fond blanc et semblent vouloir s’échapper à tout moment de l’espace pictural. Ailleurs, la tour en feu de Hotz Vergessen das Vergessen nicht (2007) entre en conversation avec le cinquième cycle de Teilchenbeschleuniger (2013-14) de Martin Ziegelmüller.

Jeanne Jacob (*1994, Neuchâtel, vit et travaille à Bienne) a réalisé pour l’exposition plusieurs peintures, avec lesquelles elle réagit à différent-es artistes de la collection, comme Rebecca Horn, Klodin Erb ou Francisco Sierra. Les formes, les surfaces et les figures se chevauchent souvent dans sa peinture intuitive, laissant le résultat se former librement pendant le processus créatif. Dans le Foyer, Jeanne Jacob associe Party, Party (2020) avec San Kellers Stammtisch (2007). Les deux figures de sa peinture semblent avoir été saisies dans un instant suspendu entre le désir et l’ennui. Jacob peint des personnes et des corps sans mise en scène, capturés dans une évidence ordinaire, sensuelle et intime sans paraître pornographique. Ces individus se trouvent dans un vide dans lequel les idéaux sont subvertis et les contradictions rendues possibles. Dans les Galeries, nous rencontrons les 99 Mickeys créés par Jacob en réaction à la sculpture de Markus Raetz Form im Raum (1991-92). Son travail Fluide Mickey (2020) dissout l’image idéalisée et stéréotypée de Mickey Mouse en donnant à cette icône 99 visages. La diversité des émotions de la souris rend visibles différents traits de caractère. Jacob personnifie cette figure culte, transformant ainsi le collectif en individuel.

Simon Ledergerber (*1977, Brunnen, vit à Zurich et travaille à Bienne) a sélectionné dans la collection du Centre d’art l’œuvre from white earth (1993) de l’artiste néerlandais herman de vries. Le paysage n’y est pas représenté de manière figurative, mais à l’aide de terres frottées sur du papier assemblées dans une composition minimaliste de monochromes. Au centre de sa recherche se trouve la nature en tant qu’espace de vie et d’expérience. Simon Ledergerber associe ce tableau à son œuvre Vor dem Gesetze (nach Kafkas Text) (2019), avec laquelle il fait référence à la parabole du portier de Franz Kafka. L’artiste utilise principalement des matériaux naturels et s’intéresse aux processus de création, ainsi qu’aux questions liées au développement des formes. Son objectif est de donner forme à la matière première, sans en dominer ses propriétés, mais en incluant ce qui est déjà présent dans le matériau. Ses œuvres se trouvent ainsi souvent en tension entre la nature et l’artificialité.

Le projet de Till Velten dans la Salle de Collection et au NMB Nouveau Musée Bienne

En parallèle, l’artiste Till Velten (*1961, Wuppertal, D, vit et travaille à Berlin et Zurich) présente dans la Salle de Collection du Centre d’art son projet curatorial TAUSCHEN. Un travail de Till Velten. En collaboration avec le NMB, il a organisé un échange d’œuvres entre les deux institutions. En exposant des œuvres de la collection du Centre d’art au NMB et inversement, il souhaite mettre en lumière le brouillage des frontières entre les arts appliqués, hébergé au NMB et ce qu’on appelle habituellement les arts plastiques, conservés au Centre d’art. L’échange d’institutions entraîne un changement de point de vue qui souligne le rôle déterminant de l’environnement et du regard des spectateur-trices sur une œuvre. Ce projet est également accompagné de deux entretiens vidéo avec les directrices et les curatrices des deux musées. Ces personnes seront confrontées à leur pouvoir de placer des œuvres d’art au centre de l’attention pendant une certaine période, alors qu’elles sommeillent le reste du temps au dépôt.

Commissaires de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice, et Stefanie Gschwend, collaboratrice scientifique Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Entretien avec les artistes

Di 5.7.2020, 14:00 (dt)                Béatrice Gysin, Katrin Hotz et Jeanne Jacob s’entretiennent avec Felicity Lunn et Stefanie Gschwend.

Visites guidées

Je 13.8.2020, 18:00  (fr)             Laura Weber, historienne de l’art. Suivi d’un concert.

Je 3.9.2020, 18:00    (dt)            Felicity Lunn et Stefanie Gschwend, commissaires de l’exposition

Avec l’aimable soutien de la Fondation Collection Centre d’art Pasquart.