Lade Veranstaltungen
Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.
France-Lise McGurn, Bodytronic, exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2020; Courtesy the artist and Simon Lee Gallery, photos: Stefan Rohner
France-Lise McGurn, Bodytronic, exhibition tour with Felicity Lunn, Kunsthaus Pasquart 2020; Courtesy the artist and Simon Lee Gallery
France-Lise McGurn, Bodytronic, publication accompanying the exhibition, Kunsthaus Pasquart 2020, Verlag für moderne Kunst

France-Lise McGurn

Bodytronic

19.9.-22.11.2020

The Scottish artist France-Lise McGurn (b. 1983) paints on canvases as well as directly on the walls of exhibition spaces, often combining the two to create an immersive experience. In her work she draws on a collected archive of images from films, club flyers and magazines, as well as her own experiences, ranging from life in a city, partying and dreams to motherhood and female sexuality. She makes drawings on paper loosely based on these sources, using these as inspiration for the linear forms of figures that drift languidly on abstract areas of wash. Bodytronic refers to the rhythmic, the trance and the moving body. Individual body parts float unrestrained across the different surfaces, connecting the canvases with the wall painting they are placed directly on to. The swift brushstrokes and repeated marks spill freely across canvases onto surrounding surfaces, animating the space with suggestions of pleasure, continual motion and the layered quality of contemporary experience. McGurn’s archetypal figures suggest both the distance of city life and the strange intimacy of urban connection.

The multiple sources which McGurn refers to in the initial stages of her work most recently include films of the 70s and 80s, fashion illustration, advertising, pop stars and glamour photography. The generic features of the figures, accentuated by their repetition across the wall paintings, conveys a sense of intimacy or familiarity open to multiple readings. She is also inspired by people she encounters, studying their movements, mannerisms and hand gestures.

France-Lise McGurn’s paintings are made with oil, acrylic, spray paint and marker. Their subject is predominantly the female figure, depicted in multiple, often overtly sexual poses that play with image, identity and desire. At once remote and intimate, inviting and aloof, they imply relationships to one another and challenge or flirt with the viewer. Their abandon and energy are heightened by the vivaciousness and fluid movement of McGurn’s drawing, as well as the contrast between the sensual illustration style in which the figures are depicted and the gestural abstract areas of pastel or chemical looking colours. This pictorial strategy allows the figures their essential ambiguity: although highly contemporary, they resemble classical archetypes or recall familiar styles such as the boyish poise of figures from the Art Deco period.

Most of the work shown in the exhibition was produced during the COVID-19 lockdown. This caused the artist to reflect differently on the principal themes in her work. The experience of being surrounded by bodies, whether through walls, in bed or in the street, has always been the starting point for McGurn’s practice, while the party theme that recurs in her paintings is not directly depicted but rather invoked as the sensation of other people’s proximity. However, confinement has highlighted for her the gap between private and public lives, specifically the response to certain kinds of behaviour depending on the time of day. Her interest in aspects of nightlife, such as partying, sleep, sex or insomnia, is based on how we are determined by social structures. The repetition in McGurn’s work reflects this cycle of day and night in a form of time collapse, with the figures sometimes appearing twice.

The wall painting in the exhibition extends across four rooms in the contemporary extension of the Kunsthaus, totalling around 400m2. As with all her murals, this has not been planned in advance. An initial sketching out on the wall is followed by numerous more detailed configurations and the re-working of areas to link the rooms. Superimposed on the wall painting are not only canvases, but also a selection of France-Lise McGurn’s drawings and neon works. The latter began with a commission for a bar in her hometown of Glasgow, which inspired her to make a group of neons, essentially another form of line drawing. For the framed works on paper, the artist continues the painting onto the glass, paralleling the ways in which the exuberant spilled image unites wall and canvas.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication

A publication accompanying the exhibition with texts by Michael Bracewell and Felicity Lunn will be published by the Verlag für moderne Kunst (ENG / DT / FR) and will be available in November (book launch on 12.11.2020).

Guided tours

Thurs 15.10.2020, 6pm  (fr)          Laura Weber, art historian

Thurs 29.10.2020, 6pm (dt)          Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Fri  13.11.2020, 12:15am (dt/fr)     Art at noon – Short tour followed by a lunch snack

Artist’s talk

Sat 19.9.2020, 2pm (eng)             France-Lise McGurn in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Lade Veranstaltungen
Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.
France-Lise McGurn, Bodytronic, vues d’exposition Centre d’art Pasquart 2020; Courtesy the artist and Simon Lee Gallery, photos: Stefan Rohner
France-Lise McGurn, Bodytronic, tour de l’exposition avec Felicity Lunn (eng), Centre d’art Pasquart 2020; Courtesy the artist and Simon Lee Gallery
France-Lise McGurn, Bodytronic, publication accompagnant l’exposition, Centre d’art Pasquart 2020, Verlag für moderne Kunst

France-Lise McGurn

Bodytronic

19.9.–22.11.2020

L’artiste écossaise France-Lise McGurn (*1983, GB) peint à la fois sur la toile et directement sur les murs, les sols et les plafonds des espaces d’exposition, combinant souvent les deux pour créer une expérience immersive. Dans son travail, elle s’appuie sur des archives d’images tirées de films, de magazines ou de flyers de discothèques ainsi que sur ses propres expériences: la vie en ville, les fêtes et les rêves, mais aussi la maternité et la sexualité féminine. En s’inspirant librement de ces sources, elle réalise des esquisses sur papier composées de figures aux formes linéaires qui dérivent nonchalamment vers des taches de couleur diluées. Bodytronic fait référence à la rythmique, à la transe et au corps en mouvement. Des éléments corporels isolés flottent subtilement sur la surface et relient la peinture murale avec les toiles directement apposées sur la paroi. Les coups de pinceau rapides et les plages de couleur rythmées se répandent librement sur les tableaux et les surfaces environnantes. Ils animent l’espace en suggérant des plaisirs, des mouvements continus et la nature multidimensionnelle de l’expérience contemporaine. Les figures archétypales de McGurn évoquent à la fois l’anonymat de la vie en ville et l’étrange intimité de la proximité urbaine.

Dans les premières étapes de son travail, McGurn se réfère à de multiples sources qui comprennent depuis peu les films des années 1970 et 1980, l’illustration de mode, la publicité, les pop stars et la photographie glamour. Les caractéristiques génériques de ses personnages, accentuées par leur répétition sur les peintures murales, transmettent un sentiment d’intimité ou de familiarité ouvert à de multiples interprétations. L’artiste s’inspire également des personnes qu’elle rencontre, de leurs mouvements, leurs manières et la gestualité de leurs mains.

Pour réaliser ses peintures, France-Lise McGurn utilise de la peinture à l’huile, de l’acrylique, de la peinture aérosol et des marqueurs. Leur sujet est principalement la figure féminine qu’elle représente dans de multiples poses, souvent ouvertement sexuelles, jouant ainsi avec l’image, l’identité et le désir. À la fois distantes et intimes, chaleureuses et réservées, elles nouent des relations entre elles et interpellent ou flirtent avec le spectateur. Leur abandon et leur énergie sont renforcés par la vivacité et le mouvement fluide du dessin de McGurn, ainsi que par le contraste entre le style d’illustration sensuel dans lequel les figures sont représentées et les zones abstraites et mouvantes composées de couleurs aux tonalités pastelles ou chimiques. Cette stratégie picturale confère aux figures leur ambiguïté essentielle: bien que très contemporaines, elles ressemblent à des archétypes classiques ou rappellent des styles bien connus comme l’attitude garçonne des figures de l’Art déco.

La plupart des œuvres présentées dans l’exposition ont été produites pendant le confinement dû à la pandémie de COVID-19. L’artiste a été ainsi amenée à réfléchir différemment sur les principaux thèmes de son travail. La relation au corps d’autrui, que ce soit à travers les murs, au lit ou dans la rue, a toujours été le point de départ de la pratique de McGurn. Le thème de la fête, récurrent dans ses peintures n’est ainsi pas directement représenté mais plutôt évoqué pour exprimer la sensation de proximité aux autres. Cependant, le confinement a mis en évidence pour l’artiste l’écart entre vie privée et vie publique, notamment la réaction à certains comportements en fonction du moment de la journée. Son intérêt pour les aspects de la vie nocturne, tels que la fête, le sommeil, le sexe ou l’insomnie, se fonde sur la façon dont nous sommes déterminés par les structures sociales. La dimension répétitive dans les travaux de McGurn reflète le cycle du jour et de la nuit dans une forme d’effondrement du temps, avec des figures apparaissant parfois deux fois.

La peinture murale de l’exposition s’étend sur quatre salles du nouveau bâtiment du Centre d’art qui totalise environ 400m2. Comme pour toutes les fresques murales de McGurn, celle-ci n’était pas planifiée à l’avance. Une première esquisse sur le mur est directement suivie de nombreux dessins plus détaillés ainsi que d’autres remaniements des surfaces pour relier les salles entre elles. Sur la peinture murale sont superposées des toiles, mais aussi une sélection de dessins et d’œuvres en néon de France-Lise McGurn. En effet, après avoir réalisé une commande pour un bar de Glasgow, sa ville natale, l’artiste a par la suite créé plusieurs œuvres en néon, médium qui s’apparente essentiellement à une forme de dessin au trait. Pour les œuvres sur papier encadrées, McGurn peint également sur le verre, réalisant un parallèle avec la manière dont l’image exubérante projetée sur le mur s’unit avec la toile.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’artPasquart

Publication

Une publication riche en illustrations avec des textes de Michael Bracewell et Felicity Lunn paraîtra aux éditions Verlag für moderne Kunst (ENG / DT / FR) et sera disponible en novembre (présentation du livre le 12.11.2020).

Visites guidées

Je 15.10.2020, 18:00  (fr)    Laura Weber, historienne de l’art

Je 29.10.2020, 18:00 (dt)   Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Ve 13.11.2020, 12:15 (dt/fr)  Art à midi – courte visite guidée suivie d’une collation

Entretien avec l’artiste

Sa 19.9.2020, 14:00  (eng) France-Lise McGurn s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn.