1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events

Florian Graf

27.1.-31.3.2019

Florian Graf (b. 1980, CH) examines in his work themes connected with architecture and landscape architecture and thus investigates the psychological and emotional impact of spaces. Via sculpture, installation, drawing, video or photography he creates moments of poetic density, in which the borders between reality and imagination are dissolved. In the garden of the Kunsthaus Florian Graf has installed three concrete sculptures, each constructed from three very different basic forms. A circle, an L-form and a jagged figure also function as the building blocks of ceramic models, a photographic work and a series of drawings. Applied in a variety of ways, these structures differ from each other in terms of their composition, size and placement and make reference to the artist’s considerations of new modular social structures. Finally, he has connected these three forms to create large-scale sculptures in aluminium, staging these spectacularly in the monumental Salle Poma. The further exhibition spaces are transformed by the artist into a living situation, in which his seemingly documentary films are presented alongside the other works. In these Graf plays his alter ego, the action artist Graphenheim, thereby parodying himself. Between conceptual logic, visionary power and subtle humour, Florian Graf examines the appropriation of bodies, role models and living spaces, creating a lively construct from imagination, materiality and temporality.

In his most comprehensive solo exhibition to date Florian Graf accords the drawing books (1988-2018) a central significance, thereby giving us insight into his artistic thought processes. Situated between idea and work, these books acquire a special meaning, since they serve simultaneously as an explanatory model for his work as well as for his stance as an artist. Their content spans sketches for sculptures to conceptual experiments. Between observation and imagination, they refer with playful seriousness to the changing nature of social structures and incite us to consider the world with a questioning gaze.

Florian Graf also considers the series Bio Diversity (2018) to be a changeable structure. These works exist in various dimensions and materials and are always composed from a circle, an L-form and a jagged figure. Installed on the grass in front of the Kunsthaus, the concrete figures appear like small buildings, which because of their openings suggest a supposed inner life. The artist produces modifications of these objects in wood in the size of humans. In their allusion to the human body, they almost appear confrontational. The presence of the three large-format objects in the Salle Poma is achieved by the artist through their materiality in aluminium and the asymmetrical installation in the space. Made in three different colours, due to their placement on a base of organic matter they evoke a game between artificiality and naturalness. Graf highlights the multi-faceted character of the model with a three-part group of ceramic objects. Here, however, the model does not take the role of representing the original. It is rather an autonomous work which in the dialogue with its big sisters can be both the design for a future prototype as well as a study subject. We also discover an ambivalence in the photographs, drawings and text works, which in a variety of ways ground these three basic forms in different combinations. Through the aspect of display, materiality or reception Bio Diversity ultimately examines the potential of a changing architectural corpus and thus becomes the leitmotif of the exhibition.

In his videos about the fictional character Olf Graphenheim, Florian Graf shows that the human body can also be regarded as a container of identities and emotions. Played by the artist himself, Graphenheim appears in the videos Air (2010) or Animistic (2015) as an irritating character, creating works of earth-shattering proportions. The witty humour displayed in these videos runs subtly through Florian Graf’s entire œuvre, lending it roguishness and astuteness. These characteristics are also recognisable in the photograph Transfixed (2011). We see here a hammer in which a nail is fixed. Intuitively we ask ourselves how this is possible, forgetting though that the nail could also have been driven into the wooden handle with another hammer. The work Door in Gray (2018) takes as its theme the image in the object and shifts the imagination into reality. When we consider the framed work from a certain distance, it appears to be a photograph. It is only when we approach the work that we recognise that it is in fact a framed door. As observers we are included via our movement and response as part of the work.

Beyond questions concerning the contemplation of art Florian Graf creates with this exhibition a place that questions the museum context as such. When the artist arranges a living situation with furniture placed around the works, an almost cosy environment is created that encourages the visitor to stay and makes us almost forget that we are in an exhibition space. He thus fosters a new way of looking at art and demonstrates that the idea of changeability can be articulated in many different ways.

After studying architecture at the ETH Zürich Florian Graf studied fine art at the Royal Drawing School, London, Edinburgh College of Art and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. He lives and works in Basel. Numerous exhibitions have been dedicated to his work, among others at the Abbatiale de Bellelay (2011), the Zeppelin Museum, Friedrichshafen (2012) and the Kunsthalle St. Gallen (2015). Prizes and awards include: Cahier d’Artistes (2010), Fellow of the Sommerakademie, Zentrum Paul Klee (2012), 2013 Swiss Art Award (2013) and Residency Künstlerhaus Schloss Balmoral (2018). The presentation at Kunsthaus Pasquart is his most comprehensive solo exhibition to date.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 28.2.2019, 6pm (fr)    Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 7.3.2019, 6pm  (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Thurs 21.3.2019, 6pm (dt)   Florian Graf in conversation with Felicity Lunn

FLORIAN GRAF, exhibition views Kunsthaus Centre d’ art Pasquart 2019
Fotos: Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Événements

Florian Graf

27.1.-31.3.2019

Florian Graf (*1980, CH) met en lumière dans son travail artistique les thèmes de l’architecture et de l’architecture du paysage, étudiant ainsi les effets psychologiques et émotionnels que produisent les espaces. À travers la sculpture, l’installation, le dessin, la vidéo ou encore la photographie, il crée des instants de densité poétique qui floutent la frontière entre réalité et représentation. Florian Graf présente dans le jardin du Centre d’art trois sculptures en béton, chacune composée des trois mêmes formes élémentaires. Un cercle, un «L» et une figure dentelée sont également repris dans ses modèles en céramiques, ses travaux photographiques ou ses séries de dessins. Disposées de manière variée, ces formes se distinguent les unes des autres en terme de qualité matérielle, d’échelle et de scénographie et évoquent les réflexions de l’artiste autour de nouvelles structures sociales modulables. Par la combinaison de ces trois formes simples, Graf crée finalement des sculptures géantes en aluminium mises en scène de manière spectaculaire dans la Salle Poma. Les autres salles d’exposition sont transformées par l’artiste en espaces domestiques afin d’y projeter aux côtés d’autres œuvres ses films à l’allure documentaire. Graf s’y parodie lui-même en endossant le rôle de son alter ego, l’artiste-performateur Graphenheim. Entre logique conceptuelle, force visionnaire et humour subtil, Florian Graf explore l’appropriation de divers corps, rôles et logements et crée des structures vivantes mêlant imagination, matérialité et temporalité.

Dans son exposition personnelle la plus complète à ce jour, Florian Graf accorde une place centrale à ses livres de dessin (1988-2018) et nous donne ainsi un aperçu de sa pensée artistique. Situés entre l’idée et l’œuvre, ces livres ont une signification particulière, car ils servent de support explicatif autant pour ses œuvres que pour sa posture d’artiste. Leur contenu va de l’esquisse de sculptures à l’expérimentation conceptuelle. Entre observation et imagination, ils se réfèrent avec un sérieux ludique à la transformation possible des structures sociétales et nous encouragent à appréhender le monde avec un regard interrogateur.

Florian Graf conçoit également les œuvres du groupe Bio Diversity (2018) comme des structures modulables. Existant dans différentes dimensions et matériaux, ces œuvres se composent toujours d’un cercle, d’un « L » et d’une forme dentelée. Installées sur l’herbe devant le Centre d’art, les sculptures en béton évoquent de petits bâtiments dont les ouvertures laissent supposer une vie intérieure. L’artiste réalise à partir de celles-ci des variations en bois et à taille humaine. Se rapprochant d’une forme humaine, ces dernières semblent presque entrer en confrontation avec nous. Dans la Salle Poma, Florian Graf renforce la présence des trois œuvres de grand format par le biais de leur matérialité – elles sont en aluminium – et leur positionnement asymétrique dans l’espace. De trois couleurs différentes, elles évoquent, de par leur emplacement sur une base organique, un jeu entre artificialité et nature. Graf illustre encore cette versatilité du modèle dans un triptyque en céramique. Toutefois, le modèle n’a pas pour fonction de suppléer l’original. Il s’agit plutôt d’une œuvre autonome qui, en dialogue avec ses grands frères et sœurs, peut être à la fois l’ébauche d’un futur prototype et un objet d’étude en soi. On découvre également une ambivalence dans les photographies, les dessins et les textes de l’artiste qui reprennent ces trois mêmes formes de base de multiples façons et dans des contextes variés. Enfin, à travers des aspects liés à la présentation, la matérialité ou la réception, Bio Diversity examine le potentiel d’un corps architectural modulaire et devient ainsi le fil rouge de l’exposition.

Dans ses vidéos autour du personnage fictif d’Olf Graphenheim, Florian Graf montre que le corps humain peut aussi être considéré comme un réservoir d’identités et d’émotions. Interprété par l’artiste lui-même, Graphenheim apparaît dans les vidéos Air (2010) ou Animistic (2015) comme un personnage troublant qui crée des œuvres ayant un impact mondial. L’humour plein d’esprit que révèlent ces vidéos imprègne subtilement l’ensemble de l’œuvre de Florian Graf et lui confère malice et finesse. Des caractéristiques qui sont également perceptibles dans la photographie Transfixed (2011). On y voit un clou coincé dans un marteau. On se demande alors intuitivement comment cela est possible, oubliant que le clou aurait pu être enfoncé dans le manche en bois avec un autre marteau. Door in Gray (2018) thématise quant à elle la relation entre image et objet, et transforme ainsi l’idée en réalité. Si l’on regarde cette œuvre encadrée avec une certaine distance, elle ressemble à une photographie. Ce n’est que lorsqu’on s’en approche qu’on réalise qu’il s’agit en fait véritablement d’une porte encadrée. En tant que spectateurs, nous devenons, par le biais de notre mouvement et de notre position vis-à-vis de l’œuvre, partie intégrante de celle-ci.

Au-delà des questions liées à la contemplation de l’art, Florian Graf crée avec cette exposition un lieu où le contexte muséal lui-même se voit interrogé. Lorsque l’artiste installe un espace domestique avec des meubles autour des œuvres, il en résulte un environnement presque douillet qui nous encourage à nous attarder et nous fait pratiquement oublier que nous sommes dans un lieu d’exposition. Il promeut ainsi une nouvelle perspective sur l’art et démontre que l’idée de versatilité peut prendre des sens multiples.

Après des études d’architecture à l’EPF de Zurich, Florian Graf a étudié les beaux-arts à la Royal Drawing School de Londres, au Edinburgh College of Art et à la School of the Art Institute de Chicago. Il vit et travaille à Bâle. Il a réalisé de nombreuses expositions personnelles, notamment à l’Abbatiale de Bellelay (2011), au Zeppelin Museum de Friedrichshafen (2012) et à la Kunst Halle de Saint-Gall (2015). Il a notamment reçu les prix et récompenses suivants: Cahier d’Artistes (2010), résident de la Sommerakademie im Zentrum Paul Klee (2012), Swiss Art Award (2013) et résident de la Künstlerhaus Schloss Balmoral (2018). Cette présentation au Centre d’art Pasquart est sa plus importante exposition personnelle à ce jour.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Visites guidées

Je 28.2.2019, 18:00   (fr)    Valentine Yerly, médiatrice culturelle

Je 7.3.2019, 18:00     (dt)   Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Entretien avec l’artiste

Je 21.3.2019, 18:00    (dt)   Florian Graf s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn.