Lade Events
  • This event has passed.

KATIE PATERSON

11.9.2016-20.11.2016

Katie Paterson (b. 1981, Glasgow, GB) is widely regarded as one of the most talented artists of her generation. At the heart of her practice is the examination of the relationship of human beings to the universe in terms of both time and space. Focusing on the themes of ecology, geology and cosmology, underpinned by collaborations with leading scientists as well as writers, astronomers, nanotechnologists and musicians, Paterson employs a conceptual approach to the poetic treatment of existential ideas. Her work includes a map documenting the locations of 27,000 dead stars known to humanity; a meteorite that has been cast, melted, re-cast and launched back into space; a string of fossils, individually selected from all corners of the globe and then carved into spherical beads; a perfumed candle based on information from astronauts concerning the smells emanating from planets and space; and a haunting recording of Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata reflected from the moon’s surface via radio transmission.

Katie Paterson‘s largest solo exhibition to date, her presentation at Art Centre Pasquart will include the major works of her ten year career, as well as several new pieces made in 2016.

The exhibition is loosely divided between those works by Katie Paterson which relate to the earth, displayed in Parkett 2, and those concerning the universe, shown in the Salle Poma. The vitrine in the corridor of Parkett 2 presents The Dying Star Letters, 2011. For one year, each time Paterson received news of a star dying, she sent a letter referring to this event to the cosmologist, Professor Richard Ellis. The resulting series of obituary letters traces the perpetual movement of the universe, whilst personalising events generally unknown to humanity. The presentation continues with Ara, 2016, a string of festoon lights in which each bulb is wired to produce a luminosity relative to the brightness of each star in the constellation of Ara, as viewed from earth. In Timepieces (Solar System), 2014 each clock represents the number of hours that must pass before each planet in our solar system experiences a full day. From the shortest days on Jupiter to the longest on Mercury, the artist takes us into different time zones and by extension into the range of diurnal experiences of entities on other planets.

Paterson’s concern for the environment is implicit in works made in Iceland. For Langjökull, Snaefellsjökull, Solheimajökull, 2007 the sounds of the three glaciers were recorded and their melted water frozen into moulds of a record pressed with audio. The three video recordings combine the gurgles, drips and gushes, added to by the rasps of the needle on the ice records. Fossil Necklace, 2013 is a string of worlds, with each bead representing a major event in the evolution of life through a vast expanse of geological time. From the mono-cellular origins of life on earth to the shifting of the continents, the extinction of the Cretaceous period triggered by a falling meteorite and the first flowering of flowers, it charts the development of our species and affirms our intimate connection to the evolution of those alongside us. Ecological urgency has also inspired Future Library, 2014-2114. A forest has been planted in Norway to supply paper for a special anthology of books, with one text written every year until 2114, when the full set will be published. These certificates, made from the trees from the forest, entitle the owner to one full set of the anthology in 100 years’ time.

The perception of time passing is similarly the subject of As the World Turns, 2010, consisting of a record of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons played at the speed with which the earth turns in 24 hours. As four years are needed to hear the record from start to finish, the visualisation of its movement is rendered impossible. Shown in the same space, the photographic work Inside the Desert, 2010, conjures the magnitude of both time and space. Paterson removed a grain of sand from the Sahara Desert and, in cooperation with nanotechnologists, had it sculpted into 0.00005 mm, the smallest dimension possible. The photograph depicts the artist in the act of returning the reduced grain of sand to the desert. This humble gesture of giving back to nature that which belongs to it is one of the themes of the meteorite Campo del Cielo, 2012 – 2014. This meteorite was cast, melted and re-cast back into a new version of itself, collapsing time, space, pressure and erosion to create a new but ancient form. A smaller version of this artwork was launched back into space by the European Space Agency.

The vastness and mystery of the universe are expressed in different ways through the work shown in the Salle Poma, appealing to various senses as well as to our imagination. 100 Billion Suns, 2011 represents Gamma-ray bursts (GRBs), super-explosive events in distant galaxies that can burn as brightly as 100 billion suns. Confetti is colour-matched to each of the 3216 GRBs and released regularly during the exhibition by a confetti canon. A new piece made especially for the exhibition in Biel, Colour Field, 2016 is a photographic image whose fake colours have been removed, rendering it black and white, and then re-tinted with real life colours on earth. Here, the colours from the cityscape of Los Angeles becomes merged with the stellar landscape of the Milky Way.

Another form of simulation informs Candle (from Earth into a Black Hole), 2015. Paterson used information from astronauts and others concerning the smells emanating from planets and space to create her own descriptions and had these transformed by a biochemist into a perfumed candle. The candle sends the observer on an olfactory voyage from earth via clouds and atmospheric strata to the moon and the planets. History of Darkness, 2010 (ongoing) consists of 2200 slides documenting levels of darkness throughout the universe, as recorded at different times and places over billions of years. All the Dead Stars, 2009 documents the original locations of the almost 27’000 dead stars that have been recorded and observed by humankind. Vatnajökull (the Sound of) Archive, 2007 was made by submerging a microphone in the earth’s largest ice cap, which is melting under the pressures of climate change. A telephone number invited visitors to call up and listen live to the sounds of the melting ice. This presentation is an archive of the live artwork.Light Bulb to Simulate Moonlight, 2008, reproducing a full moon, is accompanied by a cabinet displaying 289 bulbs, each providing enough light to last the average life of a human being (66 years).

In juxtaposition with the static lunar fragment of Second Moon, 2013 – 2014 – a work in which a piece of the moon which was posted around the earth for one year – the magnitude of Earth-Moon-Earth (Moonlight Sonata Reflected from the Surface of the Moon), 2007 is monumental. Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata was transmitted to the moon and back by Morse code, with elements of information becoming lost in the shadows of the moon’s craters. On its return to earth the gaps in the musical score were transposed into a new piece of music, played in the exhibition by an automated piano. The two prints in this room show the Morse code as sent and received from earth. Similarly condensing a monumental concept into a familiar object, Totality, 2016 is a mirror ball comprising nearly every solar eclipse documented by humankind. Totalling over 10’000 images, these eclipses come together to reflect animations of the progression of an eclipse across the room, from total to partial eclipses and mirroring the sequence of the sun eclipsed by the moon.

Curator of the exhibition: Felicity Lunn, director Art Centre PasquArt, Biel

 

Katie Paterson, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart 2016
Fotos / Photos: Julie Lovens.

Lade Événements
  • Cet Événement est passé

KATIE PATERSON

11.9.2016-20.11.2016

Katie Paterson (*1981, GB) est largement considérée comme l’une des artistes les plus talentueuses de sa génération. A travers les notions d’espace et de temps, elle examine la relation entre l’Homme et l’Univers. Paterson se concentre sur des domaines tels que l’écologie, la géologie et la cosmologie, et choisit une approche conceptuelle pour le traitement poétique d’idées existentielles. Elle consolide sa démarche à l’aide de collaborations avec d’importants chercheurs ainsi qu’avec des écrivains, des  astronomes, des nanotechnologistes et des musiciens. Il en résulte des œuvres multiformes : elle a ainsi fondu une météorite, l’a remoulée dans sa forme d’origine puis renvoyée dans l’Univers. Elle a collecté des fossiles provenant du monde entier afin d’en façonner des perles ensuite montées en collier. Le parfum des planètes et de l’espace émane d’une bougie à longue combustion. Un enregistrement de la Sonate au clair de lune de Beethoven a été traduit en morse avant d’être envoyé sur la surface lunaire par radiodiffusion, puis retransmis sur terre afin d’être retranscrit sur une partition, finalement jouée sur un piano à queue.

Avec sa présentation au Centre d’art Pasquart, Katie Paterson réalise son exposition personnelle actuellement la plus exhaustive, montrant des œuvres centrales issues de sa carrière longue de dix ans, tout comme quelques travaux réalisés en 2016.

Cette exposition est approximativement divisée entre les œuvres de Katie Paterson se rapportant à la Terre, disposées au Parkett 2 et celles concernant l’Univers, présentées dans la Salle Poma. Au début de l’exposition dans la vitrine du corridor au Parkett 2, The Dying Star Letters, 2011 est exposé. Pendant une année, chaque fois que Paterson a reçu l’information qu’une étoile mourrait, elle a envoyé une lettre à un cosmologue, le Professeur Richard Ellis. Cette série de lettres retrace le mouvement perpétuel de l’Univers, en même temps qu’elle personnalise ces événements généralement inconnus de l’Humanité. L’étendue et le mystère de l’Univers sont exprimés de diverses façons à travers l’œuvre présentée dans la Salle Poma, faisant appel tant à différents sens, qu’à notre imagination. Ara, 2016 est une guirlande lumineuse dans laquelle chaque ampoule est programmée pour produire une luminosité relative à l’éclat de chaque étoile de la Constellation de l’Autel. Dans Timepieces (Solar System), 2014, chaque horloge représente le nombre d’heures qui doivent passer avant que chaque planète de notre système solaire n’ait connu un jour entier. Depuis les jours les plus courts sur Jupiter aux plus longs sur Mercure, l’artiste nous emmène dans différentes zones de temps et par extension, dans le domaine des expériences quotidiennes d’existence sur d’autres planètes.

L’intérêt de Paterson pour l’environnement est implicite dans ce travail réalisé en Islande. Pour le travail vidéo Langjökull, Snaefellsjökull, Solheimajökull, 2007, les sons de trois glaciers ont été enregistrés et leur eau fondue congelée dans un moule en forme de vinyle sur lequel ces sons ont également été pressés. Les trois enregistrements vidéo mêlent les gargouillis, les gouttes et les bouillonnements, additionnés des grincements de l’aiguille sur le disque en glace. Comme un collier de mondes, l’œuvre Fossil Necklace, 2013 accueille le visiteur au début de l’exposition. Chaque perle de ce collier représente un événement majeur dans l’évolution de la vie, au travers d’une vaste étendue de temps géologique. Depuis les origines monocellulaires de la vie sur Terre jusqu’à la division des continents, l’extinction du Crétacé déclenchée par la chute d’une météorite et la première floraison de fleurs, l’œuvre évoque le développement de notre espèce et affirme notre connexion intime à l’évolution de ceux que nous côtoyons. L’urgence écologique a également inspiré Future Library, 2014. Une forêt a été plantée en Norvège pour fournir du papier à une anthologie spéciale de livres, un texte étant écrit toutes les années jusqu’en 2114, date à laquelle toute la série sera publiée.

Des certificats, produits également à partir du bois de la forêt, donnent le droit d’obtenir à leurs acquéreurs l’anthologie complète après 100 ans.

La perception du temps qui passe est aussi le sujet de As the World Turns, 2010, qui consiste en un enregistrement sur un vinyle des Quatre saisons de Vivaldi, jouées à la vitesse à laquelle la Terre tourne en 24 heures. Comme quatre ans sont nécessaires pour entendre l’enregistrement du début à la fin, la vue de ses mouvements est rendue impossible. Le travail photographique Inside this Desert, 2010 évoque l’ampleur du temps et de l’espace. Paterson a prélevé un grain de sable du désert du Sahara et, avec la coopération de nanotechniciens, l’a fait poncer au 0.00005 mm, la plus petite dimension possible. La photographie représente l’artiste en train de ramener le grain de sable réduit dans le désert. Cet humble geste de redonner à la nature ce qui lui appartient, est l’un des thèmes des météorites Campo del Cielo, 2012. Pour cela, des moulages de météorites ont été réalisés, leur métal fondu et reversé dans le moule obtenu, pour former une nouvelle version d’elles-mêmes. Ceci crée une nouvelle mais en même temps ancienne forme, dépassant le temps, l’espace, la pression et l’érosion et l’une des plus petites météorites a été renvoyée dans l’espace par European Space Agency.

100 Billion Suns, 2011 représente des sursauts de rayons gamma (SRG), des événements hautement explosifs dans des galaxies lointaines, qui peuvent brûler aussi intensément que 100 milliards de soleils. Des confettis sont assortis par couleur aux 3216 SRG et régulièrement lâchés par un canon au cours de l’exposition. La photographie de grand format Colour Field, 2016 a été réalisée expressément pour l’exposition à Bienne. Puisque les couleurs des photographies de l’espace ne sont pas fidèles à la réalité, Paterson a superposé, en collaboration avec un astrophotographe, les couleurs réelles de la ville de Los Angeles sur une photographie en noir et blanc de l’espace, fusionnant ainsi ce paysage urbain avec le paysage stellaire de la Voie lactée.

Une autre forme de simulation est mise en place par Candle (from Earth into a Black Hole), 2015. Ici, Paterson utilise des informations d’astronautes concernant les odeurs qui émanent des planètes et de l’espace pour créer sa propre description et a fait transformer celle-ci par un biochimiste en une bougie parfumée. La bougie entraîne le visiteur dans un voyage olfactif depuis la Terre via les nuages et les couches atmosphériques pour la Lune et les planètes. History of Darkness, 2010 (en cours) consiste en 2200 diapositives illustrant les niveaux d’obscurité à travers l’Univers enregistrés à différentes époques et endroits depuis des milliards d’années. All the Dead Stars, 2009 documente l’emplacement originel de presque 27’000 étoiles mortes qui ont été enregistrées et observées par l’Homme. Vatnajökull (the Sound of) Archive, 2007 – 2008 a été créé en submergeant un microphone dans la plus grande calotte glaciaire du monde, qui fond à cause du changement climatique. Un numéro de téléphone invitait les visiteurs à appeler et à écouter en direct les sons de la glace en train de fondre. Un enregistrement est présenté ici. Light Bulb to Simulate Moonlight, 2008, qui reproduit la pleine lune, est accompagné par une étagère affichant 289 ampoules, chacune fournissant assez de lumière lunaire pour durer plus longtemps qu’une vie humaine moyenne (66 ans).

En juxtaposition avec le fragment lunaire statique de Second Moon, 2013 – 2014 – un morceau de Lune qui a voyagé pendant un an autour de la Terre – l’ampleur de Earth-Moon-Earth (Moonlight Sonata Reflected from the Surface of the Moon), 2007 est monumentale. La Sonate au Clair de Lune de Beethoven a été transmise à la Lune par code morse et renvoyée sur Terre, avec des éléments d’informations perdues dans les ombres des cratères lunaires. A son retour sur Terre, les lacunes de la partition sont transposées et un morceau de musique est joué dans l’exposition par un piano automatique. Les deux impressions montrent le code morse comme il a été envoyé et reçu. L’œuvre Totality, 2016 condense de la même manière un concept monumental en un objet familier. Totalisant plus de 10’000 images, une boule à facettes rassemble presque chaque éclipse solaire documentée par l’Homme. Eclairée par deux projecteurs, cette boule restitue sur les murs de la salle tous les stades du Soleil obscurci par la Lune.

Commissaire de l’exposition : Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart, Bienne

 

Katie Paterson, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Centre d’art Pasquart, Bienne 2016
Fotos / Photos: Julie Lovens.