Lade Veranstaltungen

Daniel Zimmermann

Extended until 14.6.2020

Daniel Zimmermann, exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2020, Courtesy the artist; photos: Lia Wagner

Daniel Zimmermann (b. 1966, CH) is a visual artist and film-maker. His films, installations and performances touch the interface between visual art and action. The artist reacts to situations and environments and questions the meaning and sustainability of human behaviour. The Swiss artist’s one-person exhibition is his first retrospective. It presents the new film installation Walden in the context of older videos, photographs and installations that through their juxtaposition emphasise the diversity of his practice. A publication on Walden will accompany the exhibition.

Shortly before digging in preparation for the extension to the Kunsthaus Pasquart, in 1998 Daniel Zimmermann, who at the time lived and worked in Biel, laid out a structural area with 10’000 wooden strips. The ground plan of the extension determined the form and the size of the work. Within this limited space he created over eight days free constellations, independent from any rules. The artist carried out this physically tiring ritual as though he was playing an oversized Mikado. The structural field refers to the situation that was about to change and the designation of the extension as a Kunsthaus. Zimmermann has produced a red thread through the exhibition with the wooden strips by making them appear over and again as photographic elements in different forms. The 3-D panorama-viewers Strukturfeld Kunsthaus Pasquart (1998/2000) recall the work, for example. The exhibition presents the documentation of these site-specific interventions, whilst in the foyer – as a memory of the situation more than 20 years ago – the 10’000 wooden strips, which the artist also used for other works, are shown as a stack bound together.

Daniel Zimmermann’s latest work Walden (13 Projektionen) (2020) will be shown for the first time at Kunsthaus Pasquart as a 360° film installation consisting of 13 sequence shots from his film Walden (2018). Wooden strips are the protagonists here as well. The installation is a portrait of the places from and to which the stack of wooden strips is transported. The latter makes its journey in the reverse direction of a usual trade route. The transport of the wood, carried out as quickly and efficiently as possible entirely in terms of the economic principle, is framed by the place of origin and the destination of the tree: in the timber of the Benedictine monastery in Admont and in Campinas near Rio Preto, at an indigenous community in the middle of the Amazon. In this way Walden spans two different world systems: in the former the monotheistic Catholicism, in the latter the animist perspectivism, which considers plants, animals and inanimate objects as beings with souls. Between the two is the capitalist economy that connects everything.

Daniel Zimmermann considers the way in which we think and act in specific places or in certain situations and which the defining values are. Through tightly focused, often unusual actions he questions dominant systems of belief and conventions. If at the beginning places in Switzerland and the Alps were at the centre, which the artist connected with the obsession for perfected sporting achievements and the search for the racing line, as in the video works Lauberhornrennen im Sommer (2007) or Stick Climbing (2010), his view became more global in later works. What has become apparent is the artist’s interest in how the different belief systems of various cultures and places collide. WAR (2013), for example, has its point of departure in the Polynesian war dance of the Rapa Nui, a traditional dance form which was at the same time identity forming and acted as a survival strategy. Zimmermann’s work is formed among other things by his examination of politics, in particular with the places of politics. He confronts these situations with the idea of collectivity and belonging. For example in Go and Talk to Your Government: Gründungsakt des Bundesministeriums für Bewegungsangelegenheiten (BMfB) (2009) he was concerned with the government in Austria as the centre of power. He confronted this with the free movement of bodies in space, in order to encourage the potential of physical movement for the enhancement of mental awareness: dancing politicians were suddenly symbols for the fragility of the system.

Performances and stagings are central for Daniel Zimmermann’s work, of which the view on his own practice and the development process of these pieces is a basic part. The exhibition shows several dioramas, such as the four-part work Four Remarks on the History of Dance (2015), which gives the observer the possibility of participating in the artistic process and seeing important places of production. On four small stages scenes take place that retrace the development of the work from journeys by plane, research in the studio, rehearsals and finally the theatre production. As in a historical museum this fluid process is preserved for eternity in the diorama as though it were a historically meaningful event.

Daniel Zimmermann has initiated and carried out numerous art projects in museums, galleries and the public space, such as exhibitions in the Museum Gegenwartskunst, Admont (2019), Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, Vienna (2011), Kunstmuseum Thun (2007), at Haus für Kunst Uri (2006) or Kunsthalle Bern (1999). His projects also consist of films presented at international film festivals such as the Berlinale, the Internationalen Filmfestspielen Rotterdam, the Sundance Film Festival and at the Art of the Real – Film Society of the Lincoln Center, US. He has done performances at NAVE, Santiago de Chile, deSingel, Antwerpen, the ImpulsTanzFestival, Vienna and at the Gessnerallee Zurich. In collaboration with the choreograph Amanda Piña he founded the artist association nadaproductions in 2005, the art and performance space nadalokal in 2009 and in the same year the Austrian Ministry for Movement (BMfB).

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication

The exhibition is accompanied by a publication about Walden, published in Verlag für moderne Kunst (eng).

Performance

Sat 1.2.2020, 5:30pm                   Performance von Robert Steijn & Daniel Zimmermann

Artist’s talk

Thurs 5.3.2020, 6pm (dt)             Daniel Zimmermann in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Guided tours

Thurs 6.2.2020, 6pm (fr)             Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 26.3.2020, 6pm(dt)            Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Lade Veranstaltungen

DANIEL ZIMMERMANN

2.2.–5.4.2020

Vernissage: sa 1.2.2020, 17:00

Daniel Zimmermann (*1966, CH) est un artiste plasticien et réalisateur. Ses films, installations et performances touchent aussi bien les arts visuels que l’action. Avec ses œuvres, l’artiste réagit aux situations et aux environnements en questionnant le sens et la durabilité de l’action humaine. L’exposition monographique de l’artiste suisse est sa première rétrospective. Elle présente la nouvelle installation vidéo Walden aux côtés d’anciennes vidéos, photographies et installations. Cette confrontation présente ainsi les multiples facettes de son travail artistique. Une publication sur Walden accompagne l’exposition.

Peu avant la construction du nouveau bâtiment du Centre d’art Pasquart, Daniel Zimmermann, qui vivait et travaillait alors à Bienne, a réalisé en 1998 une structure composée de 10’000 lattes en bois. Le plan de l’édifice a déterminé la forme et la taille de l’œuvre. Dans cet espace délimité, Zimmermann a créé pendant huit jours des constellations libres, exemptes de toutes règles. L’artiste a accompli ce rituel physique et éprouvant, comme s’il jouait avec un mikado surdimensionné. L’installation fait référence à la situation de l’institution qui était sur le point de changer ainsi qu’à la destinée du nouveau bâtiment comme Centre d’art. Zimmermann utilise les lattes en bois pour créer un fil rouge à travers l’exposition, où elles apparaissent à nouveau sous différentes formes dans des photographies. Les visionneuses de panorama 3D Strukturfeld Kunsthaus Pasquart (1998/2000) par exemple nous rappellent l’ancienne œuvre. L’exposition présente la documentation de ces interventions in situ. Pour évoquer la situation de l’institution d’il y a plus de vingt ans, les 10’000 lattes en bois, également utilisées pour d’autres œuvres, seront présentées en piles reliées dans le Foyer.

La dernière œuvre de Daniel Zimmermann, Walden (13 Projektionen) (2020), sera présentée pour la première fois au Centre d’art Pasquart, sous la forme d’une installation vidéo à 360° composée de 13 plans-séquences tirés de son film Walden (2018). Ici aussi, les lattes en bois sont les protagonistes. L’installation représente le trajet d’une pile de lattes qui effectue le chemin inverse d’une route commerciale ordinaire. Le transport du bois – qui doit respecter des contraintes économiques et se faire le plus rapidement et le plus efficacement possible – est déterminé par l’origine et la destination de l’arbre. Dans ce cas précis, il s’agit de l’exploitation forestière du monastère bénédictin d’Admont et de la forêt de Campinas du Rio Preto, proche d’une communauté indigène au milieu de l’Amazonie. De cette façon, Walden réunit deux univers différents: d’une part, le catholicisme, religion monothéiste; d’autre part, la perspective animiste, qui considère les plantes, les animaux ainsi que les objets comme des êtres animés. Entre les deux se trouve l’économie capitaliste qui relie le tout.

Daniel Zimmerman s’intéresse à la façon dont les gens pensent et agissent dans des lieux ou des situations spécifiques, ainsi qu’aux valeurs qui les guident. Par des actions ciblées, souvent inhabituelles, il remet en question les systèmes de croyance et les coutumes dominantes. À ses débuts, l’artiste se préoccupait surtout des lieux suisses et alpins, qu’il associait aux obsessions de performances sportives perfectionnées et à la recherche de la ligne idéale, comme dans ses œuvres vidéo Lauberhornrennen im Sommer (2007) ou Stick climbing (2010). Le regard de Zimmermann devient ensuite plus global. L’artiste questionne en effet la façon dont différents systèmes de croyance de cultures et de lieux distincts s’entrechoquent. Ainsi, WAR (2013) trouve son point de départ dans la danse de guerre polynésienne du Rapa Nui, une forme de danse traditionnelle qui est à la fois une source d’identité et une technique de survie. L’œuvre de Zimmermann est également influencée par son engagement politique. Il appréhende ainsi les lieux de la politique avec l’idée de collectivité et d’unité. Par exemple, dans Go and Talk to Your Government: Gründungsakt des Bundesministeriums für Bewegungsangelegenheiten (BMfB) (2009), il aborde le gouvernement autrichien en tant que centre de pouvoir et le confronte à la libre circulation des corps dans l’espace. Ce faisant, l’artiste promeut le mouvement physique comme moyen d’expansion de la conscience spirituelle: Les politiciens en train de danser deviennent soudainement symbole de la fragilité du système.

Les performances et les mises en scène sont au cœur de l’œuvre de Daniel Zimmermann, dans la mesure où la réflexion sur sa propre pratique et son processus de création constitue une composante élémentaire. L’exposition présente plusieurs dioramas comme l’œuvre en quatre parties Four Remarks on the History of Dance (2015) qui donne au public la possibilité de participer au processus de création artistique et de découvrir des sites de production importants. Les scènes se déroulent en effet dans quatre petits décors qui retracent l’évolution de l’œuvre en présentant le voyage en avion, les recherches en studio, les répétitions ou encore la production théâtrale. Comme dans un musée historique, ce processus mouvant est conservé pour l’éternité dans le diorama, faisant ainsi penser qu’il s’agissait d’un événement historiquement significatif.

L’artiste a conçu et réalisé de nombreux projets artistiques dans des musées, des galeries et des espaces publics, tels que le Museum Gegenwartskunst d’Admont (2019), le Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, Vienne (2011), le Kunstmuseum de Thoune (2007), la Haus für Kunst d’Uri (2006) ou encore à la Kunsthalle de Berne. Zimmermann a également réalisé des films présentés dans des festivals de cinéma internationaux de renom comme la Berlinale, le Festival international du film de Rotterdam, le Sundance Film Festival et l’Art of the Real – Film Society of Lincoln Center, US. Il a montré des performances à NAVE, Santiago du Chili, deSingel, Anvers, Impuls TanzFestival, Vienne ou encore à la Gessnerallee, Zurich. Avec la chorégraphe Amanda Piña, il a fondé en 2005 le collectif d’artistes nadaproductions, l’espace d’art et de performance nadalokal en 2009, ainsi que le Ministère autrichien du Mouvement (BMfB) la même année.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication

Une publication accompagnant l’exposition avec des images et des textes en lien avec l’œuvre Walden est éditée par les éditions Verlag für moderne Kunst (eng).

Performance

Sa 1.2.2020, 17:30 (dt)                 Performance de Robert Steijn & Daniel Zimmermann

Entretien avec l’artiste

Je 5.3.2020, 18:00 (dt)                Daniel Zimmermann s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn.

Visites guidées

Je 6.2.2020, 18:00    (fr)             Valentine Yerly, médiatrice culturelle

Je 26.3.2020, 18:00   (dt)            Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Daniel Zimmermann, Administration fédérale des finances, 1995; Courtesy the artist;
photo: Andreas Greber