Lade Veranstaltungen

CÉLINE CONDORELLI

7.7.–8.9.2019

In her work Céline Condorelli (b. 1974, FR/I, lives and works in GB/PT) connects art with her environment. The artist transfers elements of urban construction, architecture and interior design, but also aspects of museum scenography such as lighting, support structures and seating, into installations, sculptures and videos. Thus the components and materials of a building, which are actually part of the formal language of building construction, become themselves works of art. By placing these elements in the context of the neutral museum space, she opens up a discourse on the manner in which exhibitions are presented, reflecting on values, the visibility of things, forms of communication and manipulative interventions. Above and beyond this Condorelli creates connections between history and socio-economic contexts in order to question existing and possible intersections and at the same time to examine how these can be translated in reality in the exhibition space. In her exhibitions the artist creates new constellations of her own preoccupations with various themes, spaces and their contexts. This, the artist’s first exhibition in Switzerland, presents a selection of significant existing works as well as new pieces.

In her work Céline Condorelli examines the history of cultural institutions and museums in order to question the contemporary way of presenting art. She focuses her interest on the architecture and the scenographic characteristics of such places, which are rarely questioned, although they have changed and developed in the course of time. The artist makes this situation clear by directing our gaze and our movements through the exhibition. The perforated aluminium sheets in After Image (Gray und Bayer) (2015) play with the angles of the walls and are painted in pastel colours in order to remind us that 150 years ago the walls of museums were not white but coloured. The neutrality of the exhibition space is changing. Average Spatial Compositions (2015), the prominent plywood bench in the formal language of De Stijl, covered with coloured fabric, seems to invite the viewer to sit down and observe the five large-format prints bau bau bau (2015) from another perspective. The installation recalls Bauhaus exhibitions – which juxtaposed art, graphic design, design and architecture as having the same status – as the synthesis and the expression of modernity.

In this context Céline Condorelli also examines the role of the viewer and their perception in exhibition spaces. Her installations remind us that structures used for the presentation of art influence our interpretation of exhibitions. The process of observation gives the artist the opportunity to critically examine art and its form of presentation and to subvert accepted norms. Support Structure Yellow (2000-2019) is a modular support structure made of yellow sheets of glass and steel, on which works can be mounted, thus making them visible in another way. Epilogue (2018), the two large green and white snake-like structures made of glass with a wave-like relief pattern play on the act of entering and leaving the intended path in an exhibition, while the multi-coloured neon series Grazie e Arrivederci (2018) imitates a sunset, reminding the visitor of the uniformity of museum lighting. The sculpture Zanzibar 1:10 (2018) is placed on a pink vinyl floor and consists of three concrete pots whose wave-like forms – similar to that of Epilogue – refer to the architecture of the restaurant Coati, designed by Lina Bo Bardi, one of the most significant figures of the modern movement. Like the tree piercing the heart of the Brazilian restaurant, the rubber plants rise up in the middle of the sculptures. Condorelli refers to the fact that it was usual in the last century to decorate exhibition spaces with plants. However, it is not only a question here of examining the White Cube, which has heavily influenced our perception of art, but also of the relationship between art and forms of social organisations. Just as the display of art is based on scenographic means external to a work of art, there are also similar ‘invisible’ structures in social systems whose power lies in the fact that systematic structures are not recognised as instruments of manipulation. Condorelli exposes the functioning of such secret apparatus and illustrates who is the controlling organ and who is the regulated authority: cultural institutions and public agencies direct visitors and citizens without them being aware of it.

Céline Condorelli’s explorations also concern the relationship of art and society and the question as to how art is integrated in society. She transfers infrastructures from the public or private realm into the art context, in order to highlight the ways in which we see that which surrounds us and to show the possibility of a society with a higher quality of life. Additionals, Structure for Communicating with Wind (2012) belongs to the five-part series, Additionals. The metallic curtain sways lightly in the breeze of a ventilator, in contrast with the other objects, which are monumental structures. All of these were created as part of a collective performance and oscillate formally and in terms of their content between a functional arrangement, decorative left-overs and art. The Additionals create a framework that makes possible communication between the objects presented and at the same time allows the concept of community to be experienced.

Curator of the exhibition

Damian Jurt, former associate curator Kunsthaus Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 11.7.2019, 6pm (fr)    Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 5.9.2019, 6pm  (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Sat 6.7.2019, 4pm (fr / eng) Céline Condorelli in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Céline Condorelli, exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019. Photos: Lia Wagner; Courtesy the artist and Galeria Vera Cortês

Lade Veranstaltungen

CÉLINE CONDORELLI

7.7.–8.9.2019

La pratique de Céline Condorelli (*1974, FR/I; vit et travaille en GB/PT) noue un dialogue entre l’art et l’environnement construit. L’artiste transforme des éléments d’urbanisme, d’architecture, de décor et de scénographie muséale telle que les structures, les assises ou l’éclairage en autant d’installations, sculptures, impressions et vidéos. Les composantes des lieux, en particulier celles de l’espace d’exposition, deviennent ainsi des œuvres d’art réalisées dans des matériaux relevant essentiellement de la construction du bâti. En exposant ces éléments en apparence neutre, Céline Condorelli questionne les discours qu’ils véhiculent et nous incline à réfléchir sur les notions de visibilité, de manipulation et de valeur. L’artiste convoque également l’Histoire et les contextes socio-économiques afin d’interroger la manière dont ils peuvent être mis en relation et prendre concrètement forme dans l’espace d’exposition. Elle restructure et réinvente les conjonctions pour conter à travers ses pièces une histoire issue de sa propre analyse. Cette première exposition de Céline Condorelli en Suisse présente une sélection de pièces significatives de sa carrière, complétée par de nouvelles productions.

L’artiste réalise des œuvres qui réfèrent à l’histoire des institutions culturelles et des musées afin de questionner la présentation de l’art aujourd’hui. Elle rend attentif au fait que l’architecture et les dispositifs scénographiques de ces lieux sont peu remis en question alors qu’ils ont évolué au cours de l’Histoire sans jamais cesser d’orienter notre regard et nos déplacements au sein des expositions. Les plaques d’aluminium perforés d’After Image (Gray and Bayer) (2015) jouent avec la perpendicularité des murs et sont peintes de couleurs pastels afin de nous rappeler qu’il y a cent cinquante ans les murs des musées étaient non pas blancs, mais colorés. Les normes de la «neutralité» en matière de muséographie sont donc changeantes. Étrange banc en acier, contre-plaqué et tissu colorés relevant du vocabulaire de De Stijl, Average Spatial Compositions (2015) semble inviter le spectateur à s’asseoir pour contempler au mur les cinq impressions de grand format bau bau bau (2015). L’installation évoque les expositions du Bauhaus qui laissaient dialoguer art, art graphique, design et architecture sans hiérarchie pour manifester la Modernité.

Céline Condorelli se penche également sur la perception que peuvent avoir les visiteurs des espaces d’exposition. Elle démontre que l’ensemble des structures utilisées pour encadrer la présentation de l’art influe sur notre interprétation des expositions. Dans sa pratique, elle traduit ces éléments en installations. Ce processus est en outre l’occasion pour elle de porter un regard critique sur la manière dont l’art est aujourd’hui présenté dans les musées, en créant des formes d’exposition qui se détachent des normes actuelles. Réalisée en panneaux de verre jaune et en acier, Support Structure Yellow (2000-2019) est une structure modulable sur laquelle peuvent être accrochées des œuvres et qui, au lieu de s’effacer derrière l’art qu’elle présente, est rendue visible. Les deux grandes sculptures serpentines vertes et blanches en verre ondulé nommées Epilogue (2018) évoquent quant à elles l’acte d’entrer et de sortir du lieu d’exposition via un parcours prédéfini tandis que la série de néons multicolores Grazie e Arrivederci (2018) imite un coucher de soleil qui rappelle au visiteur l’uniformisation de l’éclairage muséal. Enfin, disposé au sol sur un vinyle rose circulaire faisant office de socle, Zanzibar 1:10 (2018) est composé de trois pots en béton dont les formes ondulées – proches de celles d’Epilogue – réfèrent à l’architecture du restaurant Coati dessiné par Lina Bo Bardi, figure majeure du Mouvement moderne. Comme l’arbre transperçant le cœur du restaurant brésilien, des plantes Monstera s’élèvent au centre des sculptures. Elles indiquent que durant le siècle passé, il était habituel que des plantes décorent les salles des musées. Faisant office de norme, le White Cube est un dispositif récent qui influence notre perception de l’art et de la culture. Dès lors, Céline Condorelli crée un parallèle entre l’espace d’exposition et les formes d’organisation sociale. Tout comme la présentation de l’art est soumise à des dispositifs scénographiques invisibilisés, les systèmes sociaux les plus puissants sont ceux que l’on ne reconnaît pas comme tels ou dont on ignore l’existence. En révélant le fonctionnement de cet appareil clandestin, elle illustre qui est l’instance de contrôle et qui est l’instance dirigée: les institutions culturelles et les autorités mènent les visiteurs et les peuples sans que ceux-ci ne semblent s’en apercevoir.

Dans ses installations, Céline Condorelli examine la corrélation entre l’art et la société et questionne l’intégration de l’art dans la société. Elle transfère des infrastructures d’espaces publics ou privés dans l’espace d’exposition afin d’éclairer la manière dont nous regardons ce qui nous entoure et d’interroger la possibilité d’une société plus qualitative. Additionals, Structure for Communicating with Wind (2012) appartient à la série des cinq Additionnals. A l’image de ce rideau métallisé qui balance au gré du vent diffusé par un ventilateur au sol, les structures monumentales de cette série ont été créées dans le cadre d’une performance collective et oscillent dès lors entre ameublement, reliquat de décor et pièce d’art à part entière. Ils permettaient à l’artiste d’articuler les relations entre les personnages de la performance et d’expérimenter ainsi la notion de collectivité.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Damian Jurt, ancien collaborateur scientifique au Centre d’art Pasquart

Visites guidées

Je 11.07.2019, 18:00  (fr)             Valentine Yerly, médiatrice culturelle

Je 5.9.2019, 18:00     (dt)            Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Entretien avec l’artiste

Sa 6.7.2019, 16:00    (fr / eng)     Céline Condorelli s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn.

Céline Condorelli vues d’exposition Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019. Photos: Lia Wagner; courtesy the artist