Lade Veranstaltungen

ASTA GRÖTING

Where do you see yourself in 20 years?

22.9.-24.11.2019

Asta Gröting’s (b. 1961, Germany) exhibition combines objects from the beginning of her career in the 1990s, which turn the inside outside, with new sculptures and videos focusing on the physical and psychological deconstruction of the human body. Whether via the space created by lovers having sex or the holes made by bullets during World War II in the facades of buildings in Berlin, Gröting reveals the inner voice of things. She inverts the lexicon of monumental sculpture to draw our attention to absence and the physical and emotional gaps between people and things. Whether based on family members, friends, or historical figures, Gröting’s work across media seeks to cast abstract qualities such as thought, intimacy, dignity, mourning, conflict and subjectivity. Her ongoing engagement with gaps, interior spaces, and inner organs conceptually and emotionally questions the social body by taking something away from it and allowing this absence to do the talking.

Gröting’s on-going inquiry into the hidden spaces of the body and the emotive charge they exude informs the sculptures entitled Space Between Lovers (2014-15), which employ polyurethane and silicon to depict a moment of intimacy. For the body of works, Berliner Fassaden (2016–18), Gröting cast the facades of public buildings damaged by WWII in silicone. Revealing not only the architectural structure, but also the dust and dirt accumulated over decades in the bullet holes, the process can be understood as a protest against forgetting. The Fassaden function as a sculptural “slow exposure”, bringing the 20th century into the 21st in one single moment. The three new videos also emphasise slowness, as well as the poignancy of mundane objects and actions. Projected large-scale, they recall tableaux vivants or Old Master still life paintings.

In her richly diverse artistic practice, which she has been developing since the mid-1980s, Asta Gröting translates invisible or ignored elements of the human condition into sculptures. On both an emotional and a conceptual level her work addresses the role of the body in personal, collective and political contexts. Gröting’s probing of the intimate depths of the body began in the 1990s when she cast human and animal digestive systems in materials such as glass and silicone. Emancipated from the confines of the body, Verdauungswege (1990) not only exposes a part of the its unfamiliar interior, but also gestures towards the more sensual aspects of the intestinal nervous system—splayed on the floor in front of us is the body’s “second brain”, which ancient philosophers claimed was the home of the soul. Gröting continues her inquiry into the hidden spaces of the body and the emotive charge they exude in her series of sculptures entitled Space Between Lovers, which employ materials like polyurethane and silicon to depict a moment of intimacy. To create the work, Gröting literally cast two actors while they were having sex. On first glance, the smooth white silicone of Space Between Lovers, Unfolded (2008) seems to resemble a delicate shell rather than two human forms. A closer look reveals a man and a woman inextricably bound together. Prised open, the contours of their bodies appear as a negative void, yet the sculpture also reveals the unexpressed, inexpressible and hidden issues of relationships. Other works are a monument to more collective forms of absence, loss and time passing, notably Bodenplatte (2013), a series of sculptures inspired by Rodin’s Burghers of Calais. Gröting molded the base of Rodin’s sculpture in his studio in Meudon, modeling the places where the robes and feet of the six city leaders who offered their lives for the city of Calais in the Hundreds Years’ War touched the base of the sculpture.

Asta Gröting reveals not only the things that can’t normally be seen, but also those we don’t want to see, whether the conveyor belt from a coal mine, recontextualised in Reifen (1987) as a sculptural object, or Reclining Figure 2 (2018), a cast of a sleeping bag, its tangled and cocoon-like appearance conveying the fragility of the human form. Her decision to work with a particular material is always determined by the story behind each sculpture. Affentanz 6 (1987-2015), for example, was inspired by 1980s leather jackets. Gröting decided to bring the narrative full circle by changing the upright, human form of the jacket back into animals walking on all fours. Feuerstelle (2011) similarly turns the inside out: three logs made of glass glow red where they meet in the middle, conveying the heat of fire which is necessary for the production of glass.

For her most recent body of works, Berliner Fassaden (2016–2018), Gröting cast in silicone the facades of public buildings damaged by the Second World War. When the silicone is removed from the building, it reveals not only impressions of the façade’s architectural structure, but also pulls the depth of its bullet holes out onto its surface—forming bulbous protuberances that also include bits of sandstone particles, dirt, and dust that had collected in the holes over the decades. As such structures are rapidly being renovated as part of urban renewal – as well as post-war Germany’s ongoing attempt to rid its urban surfaces from remnants of the war – Gröting’s forensic approach to Berlin’s damaged facades can be understood in this context as a protest against forgetting. Equally monumental in scale and atmosphere are the three videos made for this exhibition. First Drink (2018) is an homage to the simple ritual of the drink each of us chooses to start the day, yet this work too condenses past and present via the physical and intensely human experience of objects, places and time passing.

Exhibition curator

Felicity Lunn

Guided tour

Thurs 24.10.2019, 18:00 (dt)        Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Asta Gröting, First Drink, 2019, video, 17 min, with audio; Courtesy the artist and carlier | gebauer; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Asta Gröting, exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019. Photos: Lia Wagner

Lade Veranstaltungen

ASTA GRÖTING

Where do you see yourself in 20 years?

22.9.-24.11.2019

Asta Gröting (*1961, Allemagne) combine des objets de ses débuts de carrière datant de années 1990, qui se retournent de l’intérieur à l’extérieur, avec l’aide de nouvelles sculptures et vidéos qui traitent de la déconstruction physique et psychologique de l’existence humaine. Qu’il s’agisse de représenter l’espace créé par les corps de couples aimants lors de l’acte sexuel ou de rendre visibles les trous de fusil dans les façades des bâtiments de Berlin pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Gröting révèle l’intérieur des choses. Elle subvertit le style de la sculpture monumentale pour diriger notre regard vers l’espace vide et les différences physiques et émotionnelles entre les personnes et les choses. Gröting s’inspire de membres de famille, d’ amis ou encore de personnalités historiques en utilisant son travail intermédial pour explorer des qualités abstraites comme la pensée, l’intimité, la dignité, le chagrin, les conflits et la subjectivité. En travaillant continuellement avec les lacunes, les intérieurs et les entrailles, elle questionne le corps en tant que construction sociale conceptuelle et émotionnelle en lui enlevant quelque chose et en permettant à cette pièce manquante de parler pour elle-même.

L’intérêt de Gröting pour les espaces invisibles, que les corps créent par leurs mouvements, et leurs caractères émotionnels sont typiques des sculptures en polyuréthane et silicone Space Between Lovers (2014-15) et représentent un moment d’intimité pur. Pour les Berliner Fassaden (2016-18), Gröting a réalisé des moulages en silicone de bâtiments publics endommagés durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ce processus révèle non seulement la structure architecturale, mais aussi la poussière et la saleté accumulées pendant des décennies dans les trous de fusil et peut être compris comme une récrimination contre l’oubli. Les façades fonctionnent comme traductrices sculpturales d’une « lente révélation » qui fait passer le XXe siècle au XXIe siècle en un seul instant. La lenteur ainsi que l’urgence des objets et des actions du quotidien sont également sujet des trois nouvelles vidéos. Projetées en grand format, elles rappellent les tableaux vivants ou les natures mortes des anciens maîtres.

Dans sa pratique artistique très diversifiée, développée depuis le milieu des années 1980, Asta Gröting traduit en sculptures des éléments de la condition humaine qui sont invisibles ou ignorés. Tant sur le plan émotionnel que conceptuel, son travail aborde le rôle du corps dans les contextes personnels, collectifs et politiques. Dans les années 1990, Gröting commence à sonder les profondeurs intimes du corps en réalisant des moulages de systèmes digestifs humains et animaux à l’aide de matériaux tels que le verre et le silicone. Verdauungswege (1990) révèle non seulement une partie de son intérieur inconnu, mais nous dirige aussi vers les aspects plus sensuels du système nerveux intestinal. Ce «deuxième cerveau» du corps qui, selon les anciens philosophes, hébergeait l’âme est étalé devant nous sur le sol. Gröting poursuit sa quête autour des espaces cachés du corps et de la puissance émotionnelle que ce dernier dégage dans sa série de sculptures intitulée Space Between Lovers en employant des matériaux comme le polyuréthane et le silicone pour représenter cet instant d’intimité. Pour créer l’œuvre Space Between Lovers, Unfolded (2008), Gröting a moulé deux acteurs lors d’un rapport sexuel. Au premier abord, le silicone blanc et lisse semble être une coquille délicate plutôt que deux formes humaines. Les contours de leur corps apparaissent comme un vide négatif, mais la sculpture révèle aussi les questions inexprimées, indicibles et cachées des relations. D’autres travaux sont un témoignage de formes d’absence plus collectives, de perte et du temps qui s’écoule, comme notamment Bodenplatte (2013), une série de sculptures inspirées des Bourgeois de Calais de Rodin. Dans l’atelier à Meudon, Gröting a réalisé un moulage du socle de l’œuvre, en modelant les endroits où les robes et les pieds des six dirigeants – qui étaient prêts à sacrifier leur vie pour Calais pendant la guerre de Cent Ans – touchent la base de la sculpture.

Asta Gröting dévoile non seulement ce que l’on ne perçoit pas normalement, mais aussi ce que l’on refoule. Fût-ce le tapis roulant d’une mine de charbon, recontextualisé dans Reifen (1987) comme objet sculptural, ou encore la fragilité de la physionomie humaine exprimée dans Reclinging Figure 2 (2018), un moulage de sac de couchage en forme de cocon enchevêtré. Pour Gröting, le choix de travailler avec un matériau spécifique est toujours déterminé par l’histoire qui se cache derrière chaque sculpture. Affentanz 6 (1987-2015), par exemple, s’inspire des vestes en cuir des années 1980, produites à partir d’agneaux turcs et importées ensuite en Europe orientale. Gröting boucle littéralement la boucle en changeant la forme dressée et humaine de la veste en animaux marchant à quatre pattes.  Pour Feuerstelle (2011), l’artiste retourne également l’intérieur vers l’extérieur: trois bûches en verre luisent d’un rouge vif là où elles se rejoignent et font allusion à la chaleur du feu qui est nécessaire pour la production du verre.

Pour son œuvre la plus récente, Berliner Fassaden (2016-2018), Gröting a enduit de silicone les façades de bâtiments publics endommagés pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Lorsque cette couche est retirée de l’édifice, elle révèle non seulement les empreintes de la structure architecturale de la façade, mais aussi la profondeur des impacts de balles. Ceux-ci apparaissent sur la surface et forment des protubérances bulbeuses qui contiennent également des particules de grès et de poussière, rendant visible ce qui s’y était déposé durant des décennies. De telles structures sont habituellement vite mises à neuf dans le cadre de la rénovation urbaine. De plus, l’Allemagne d’après-guerre tente de débarrasser ses surfaces des vestiges de la guerre. Dans ce contexte, l’approche médico-légale de Gröting envers les façades endommagées berlinoises peut être comprise comme une manifestation contre l’oubli. First Drink (2018) est un hommage au rituel simple et journalier qui consiste à choisir une boisson pour bien commencer la journée. Cette œuvre condense aussi le passé et le présent à travers l’expérience physique et intensément humaine des objets, des lieux et du temps qui passe.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn

Visite guidée

je 24.10.2019, 18:00 (dt)          Felicity Lunn, directrice centre d’art Pasquart

Asta Gröting, First Drink, 2019, video, 17 min, avec audio; Courtesy the artist and carlier | gebauer; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Asta Gröting, vues d’exposition centre d’art Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019. Photos: Stefan Rohner