Lade Veranstaltungen
Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

ANDREA HELLER

7.7.–8.9.2019

Andrea Heller (b. 1975, CH) makes works on paper as well as ceramic, plaster and glass objects, in which a world of fragile landscapes, associative traces and anthropomorphic hybrid creatures unfolds. In her works on paper soft colour gradations in watercolour and ink develop into cristalline objects and forms, that oscillate between different scales – diffuse and hard, attractive and uncanny. At the same time the artist examines systems, sequences and orders. This becomes particularly clear in her large scale drawings as well as in a new series of paintings on textile. The artist, who lives and works in Biel, has conceived the work L’Endroit de l’envers (2019) especially for this exhibition. The painted, wooden structure reaches almost to the ceiling of the approximately 6m high Salle Poma. Reflecting the conditions of our environment, Andrea Heller focuses on aspects such as deconstruction, instability and changeableness, creating an installation which fills the space and can be experienced in a number of ways.

The exhibition at the Kunsthaus Pasquart brings together key works of Andrea Heller’s which underline the breadth of her artistic output. Although painting and drawing are at the centre of her practice, the artist regards her work as encompassing various media and materials. Sculptures and installations occupy an increasingly important place in her practice. However, drawing runs as a constant through her work and can be considered as the starting point. For example, her ceramic and glass objects have the quality of drawings. She draws her inspiration, ideas and means of expression from the events and circumstances with which we are confronted in our world. In addition to abstraction and the decomposition of volumes in relation to space, she is interested in social structures and architectures, their relation to the human body and their meaning for people and the landscape.

Heller develops her works on the basis of found visual material that she comes across in books, newspapers or the internet. What interests her here is the formal construction of images, the ways in which from a birds’ eye view a settlement is inscribed in the desert as though it were a drawing, or a wall draws a line through a landscape, splitting it. She looks for a principle or set of rules that define such constructs, for forms and surfaces that these everyday phenomena produce. Thus on the one hand smaller, fragile seeming drawings, but also unusually large, almost three-dimensional works are created which turn these structures into a mixture of floating objects, hybrids and uncontrolled growths. The artist sets herself a simple formal principle (triangle, square, drops, stripes) and builds these basic forms, which she continually repeats in her images, into a huge monster. She dips her brush in the ink only once per plane so that each individual basic form consists of a gradation or layering. Structures are created from these colour nuances that merely hint at motifs, always staying immaterial. The artist remarks that she doesn’t seek images but rather finds these by chance.

She explains that an important aspect of her work is the perception of a place as a fragile space in which peripheral thought bubbles can’t be excluded. She reflects again and again on how external conditions influence our environment and how differently this can be perceived: as protection, as threat, or as limitation. She uses layers to construct works, deconstruct and abstract themes and contexts in such a way that they can be read and experienced in multiple ways. Andrea Heller’s works do not therefore create a simple unified body of work but contain a continuous mixture of understanding and not understanding, taking into account the reflective gaze of the distanced observer and putting into perspective prevailing points of view, which the artist considers to always be in flow and subject to change.

The presentation ends in the Salle Poma with a new, site specific work. L’Endroit de l’envers is a work as radical as it is subtle: an overpowering installation constructed from wood and painted a rich black. The panels are painted with several layers of ink, producing an all-consuming sense of depth. On entering the space, one is confronted with the side view, leaving an impression of toughness and closedness. Only on moving round the structure does its form reveal itself – a kind of over-sized house of cards, towering over the viewer. Depending on where one is in the room, the structure appears almost as a kind of dwelling, only to confront the viewer again with precarious instability. Heller’s central concern with abstraction and decomposition, emptiness and absence, brutality and at the same time a delicacy of space and volume becomes evident.

L’Endroit de l’envers acts as a link to the context of the exhibition as well as to basic themes in Andrea Heller’s practice such as brutality and fragility. In addition, the installation also forges a bridge with earlier works such as Meteoriten (2004-07), Panzersperren (2006) or Überbau (2005). The artist balances the oppressive weight of the meteorite with smaller objects. In her watercolours we are confronted over and again by daring ideas resulting from the artist’s ability to take the world at face value.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication accompanying the exhibition

The exhibition is accompanied by a richly illustrated publication with texts by Olivier Kaeser, Aoife Rosenmeyer and Felicity Lunn (DT / FR / ENG), published in Verlag für moderne Kunst.

Guided tours

Thurs 11.7.2019, 6pm (fr)    Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 5.9.2019 6pm  (dt)     Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Thurs 22.8.2019, 6pm (dt)   Andrea Heller in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Andrea Heller exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019. Photos: Stefan Rohner; courtesy the artist

Lade Veranstaltungen

ANDREA HELLER

7.7.-8.9.2019

Andrea Heller (*1975, CH) crée des œuvres sur papier et des objets en céramique, en plâtre et en verre, desquels se déploie un univers fait de paysages fragiles, d’évocations et d’êtres anthropomorphiques. Dans ses travaux sur papier, de doux dégradés d’aquarelle et d’encre forment des objets et des paysages cristallins qui, diffus et durs, attrayants et inquiétants, oscillent entre bi-dimensionnalité et tri-dimensionnalité. Parallèlement, l’artiste s’intéresse aux systèmes, aux séquences et aux agencements qu’elle examine de manière particulièrement évidente dans ses grands formats et dans sa nouvelle série de peinture sur textile. L’artiste biennoise a conçu l’œuvre L’Endroit de l’envers (2019) spécialement pour l’exposition. Cette structure en bois finement peinte de près de 6 mètres de haut touche presque le plafond de la Salle Poma. En reflétant les conditions de notre environnement, Andrea Heller place la déconstruction, l’instabilité et l’impermanence au centre de sa réflexion et réalise une installation ambiguë qui emplit l’espace.

L’exposition au Centre d’art Pasquart réunit des œuvres-clés d’Andrea Heller et présente de multiples aspects de son travail artistique. Bien que la peinture et le dessin soient au centre de sa pratique, l’artiste considère son travail comme relevant de divers médias et matériaux. Les sculptures et les installations sont de plus en plus importantes dans sa création. Le dessin traverse toutefois son travail comme un fil rouge et peut être compris comme le point de départ des œuvres.  Ses objets en céramique et en verre ont ainsi également une qualité picturale. Son inspiration, ses idées et ses moyens d’expression sont issus des conditions et des circonstances auxquelles nous sommes exposés dans notre monde. Outre l’abstraction et la décomposition du volume par rapport à l’espace, Andrea Heller examine les structures et les architectures sociales, leur rapport au corps humain, leur signification pour l’homme et le paysage.

Andrea Heller développe ses œuvres à partir d’images qu’elle trouve dans les livres, les journaux ou sur internet. Elle s’intéresse à la structure formelle des images, à la manière dont une cité s’inscrit sur le sol du désert depuis une perspective aérienne – comme s’il s’agissait d’un dessin – ou à la façon dont un mur trace une ligne à travers le paysage et le divise. Elle recherche le principe ou la constante qui définit ces constructions; les formes et les surfaces que produisent ces phénomènes de la vie courante. Il en résulte des dessins fragiles et petits ou sur des feuilles surdimensionnées qui transforment ces structures en un mélange d’objets flottants, hybrides, de croissance organique et sauvage. L’artiste se donne un principe simple: elle convoque des formes telles que le triangle, le polygone, la goutte ou les rayures qu’elle répète constamment et qui deviennent massifs dans ses tableaux. Elle trempe son pinceau dans l’encre une seule fois par surface de sorte que chaque forme de base émerge individuellement d’une gradation ou d’une superposition. Ces dégradés de couleurs donnent naissance à des formes qui ne font que suggérer des motifs, toujours immatériels. L’artiste ne cherche pas les images; elle les trouve par hasard.

Pour Andrea Heller, l’un des aspects importants de son travail est la perception des lieux comme des endroits fragiles, où aucune bulle de pensée périphérique n’est exclue. Elle réfléchit sans cesse à la manière dont les conditions extérieures influent sur l’espace environnant et sur la façon dont ce dernier peut être différemment perçu, à la fois comme une protection, une menace ou une restriction. Elle déconstruit et rend abstraits des thèmes et des contextes au travers des couches de peinture afin qu’ils puissent être compris et vécus de manière ambiguë. Ses créations offrent ainsi plusieurs lectures. Elles mélangent compréhension et incompréhension en incluant le regard de l’observateur et relativisent des points de vue que l’artiste considère toujours en mouvement et changeants.

L’exposition se termine dans la Salle Poma par une nouvelle œuvre conçue spécifiquement pour le lieu. L’Endroit de l’envers est une pièce aussi radicale que délicate, une installation impressionnante construite en bois et trempée à la chaux dans un noir profond. Les panneaux sont peints par plusieurs couches d’encre, créant un effet de profondeur. En entrant dans l’espace, nous sommes confrontés à une vision latérale de l’installation qui laisse une impression brutale et fermée. Ce n’est qu’en se déplaçant que la forme se révèle: une sorte de château de cartes surdimensionné et empilé en hauteur. Selon où l’on se trouve, la structure apparaît comme une sorte d’habitation qui confronte à nouveau le spectateur à une instabilité précaire. La confrontation d’Andrea Heller avec l’abstraction et la décomposition, le vide et l’absence, la brutalité et le raffinement de l’espace et du corps devient ainsi manifeste.

L’Endroit de l’envers crée un lien entre le contexte de l’exposition et les thèmes élémentaires de l’œuvre d’Andrea Heller telles que la brutalité et la fragilité. De plus, l’installation s’inspire de ses premiers travaux tels que Meteoriten (2004-2007), Panzersperren (2006) et Überbau (2005). Le poids écrasant des météorites est compensé par les objets plus petits de l’artiste tandis que les aquarelles présentent des idées audacieuses qui naissent de la capacité de l’artiste à prendre le monde au pied de la lettre.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication accompagnant l’exposition

L’exposition est accompagnée d’une publication avec des textes de Olivier Kaeser, Aoife Rosenmeyer et Felicity Lunn, publiée aux éditions Verlag für moderne Kunst (DT / FR / ENG).

Visites guidées

Je 11.7.2019, 18:00    (fr)            Valentine Yerly, médiatrice culturelle

Je 5.9.2019, 18:00     (dt)            Felicity Lunn, directrice Centre d’art Pasquart

Entretien avec l’artiste

Je 22.8.2019, 18:00   (dt)           Andrea Heller s’entretient avec Felicity Lunn.

Andrea Heller vues d’exposition Centre d’art  Pasquart 2019. Photos: Stefan Rohner; courtesy the artist