1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events
This event has passed.

ZEITSPUREN

The Power of Now

9.9.-18.11.2018

URSULA BIEMANN – DORA BUDOR – ROMAN BUXBAUM – JULIAN CHARRIÈRE – DANIEL GUSTAV CRAMER – MARTIN CREED – PETER DREHER – ELMGREEN & DRAGSET – CÉCILE B. EVANS – FELIX GONZALEZ-TORRES – RODNEY GRAHAM – DAVID HORVITZ – TEHCHING HSIEH – SOPHIE JUNG – ON KAWARA – KAPWANI KIWANGA – RAGNAR KJARTANSSON – KRIS MARTIN – AGNIESZKA POLSKA – POPE.L – BARBARA PROBST – LAURE PROUVOST – PILAR QUINTEROS – RAQS MEDIA COLLECTIVE – SOPHY RICKETT – MIKKO RIKALA – DIETER ROTH – STÉPHANIE SAADÉ – MICHAEL SAILSTORFER – TARYN SIMON – SLAVS AND TATARS – SMUDGE STUDIO – GERNOT WIELAND – PEDRO WIRZ

Through installation, video, photography, performance and painting, ZEITSPUREN – The Power of Now examines the aesthetic and cultural significance of time within contemporary narratives and its impact on how we structure our lives and experiences. In their work, the 34 international artists selected for the exhibition explore the temporal nature of labour and leisure, politics and power, the body and representation or technology and memory. Due to the complexity of the concept of time, the exhibition is divided into four thematic groupings: Time and its DiscontentsSculpting Time, Capture: Staging the Live, Speculative and Planetary Time.

Time and its Discontents introduces us to the intersections of labour and social time. The works in this section build critical and playful narratives around current discontents of standardised living, work and leisure time. An early figure in the development of durational performance art, Tehching Hsieh displays in One Year Performance (1980–81) the documented evidence of a performance that chronicled a year of the artist’s life. To make the work, Hsieh followed a strict routine of punching a time clock every hour for 12 months, before presenting the individual images as a six-minute film with other forms of documentation. The tedium of industrial labour highlighted by Hsieh’s performance reinforces the dominance of western time structures that is investigated in Ragnar Kjartansson’s Scenes from Western Culture (2015). This employs six looped single-channel video tableaux to demonstrate Kjartansson’s fascination with the superficiality of cultural norms. Meanwhile David Horvitz’s The Distance of a Day (2013) breaks with the normal passage of time by juxtaposing videos of a single day made in different locations and time zones.

Sculpting Time examines the material processes of historiography with focus on the role of research in artistic methodologies. Artists revisit historical artefacts in order to draw out new meanings and associations. Kapwani Kiwanga’s Flowers for Africa (2014, 2017) reveal the artist’s interest in archival imagery of postcolonial independence celebrations. Finding that floral arrangements are a motif common to many of these photographs, for each venue where the work is exhibited Kiwanga commissions a local florist to recreate the bouquets as closely as possible. Flowers for Africa entertains a subjective response in the making and re-presentation of history. Similar manifestations of connectivity extend across many works in this section. Stéphanie Saadé’s Accelerated Time (2014) treats time as a physical property, making a mystery of the work’s broken fragments and the forces which produced them.

Capture: Staging the Live foregrounds the body as a site for expanding our perception of time, focusing on approaches to performance-based work. Pope.L’s practice takes the form of durational and endurance-based performances. The Great White Way, 22 Miles, 9 Years, 1 Street (2001–2009) is one of the artist’s best known «crawls» investigating exhaustion, in which he wore a Superman costume with a skateboard strapped to his back as he travelled the full length of Broadway, Manhattan’s longest street. Drawing frequently on sources from pop culture or philosophy, Sophie Jung produces marathon-length performances. For Come Fresh Hell or Fresh High Water (2017–18) the artist will activate different parts of her installation by reciting texts from memory, as well as employing stream-of-consciousness improvisation. Jung’s performance plays on the slippage between language and objects, transforming what the artist describes as a skewed format of « show and tell».

Finally, Speculative and Planetary Time analyses how digital connectivity and computerised technologies have radically shifted our experience of time. Works in this section reflect on deep time – time beyond the human – to speculate what new worlds might look like. Agniezska Polska’s My Little Planet (2016) combines animated daily-use objects floating in the cosmos with a humorous voice-over as a comment on the ways in which consumer culture dominates our world. The large-format photographs in Julian Charrière’s series First Light (2016–17) address the histories of nuclear testing at Bikini Atoll, making visible an atomic landscape within idyllic tropical island scenes. Where Charrière’s work turns our attention to the existence of radioactivity, Daniel Gustav Cramer’s Old Tjikko (2017) profiles «Old Tjikko» – the world’s oldest clonal tree located in Sweden’s Fulufjället National Park with roots thought to be almost 10’000 years old. Cramer explores how Old Tjikko functions as a myth deeply connected to the landscape and a symbol of endurance for our precarious planet.

Curated by SAMUEL LEUENBERGER and FELICITY LUNN

ZEITSPUREN – THE POWER OF NOW, Ausstellungsansichten / Vues d’exposition / Exhibition views Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart 2018; Fotos / photos: Gunnar Meier, Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist

The exhibition Zeitspuren is a collaboration between Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart, Photoforum Pasquart > PERFECT TIME AHEAD and NMB Neues Museum Biel > Von Zeit Zu Zeit.


Erna und Curt Burgauer Stiftung
Ernst und Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Veranstaltungen

ZEITSPUREN

The Power of Now

9.9.-18.11.2018

URSULA BIEMANN – DORA BUDOR – ROMAN BUXBAUM – JULIAN CHARRIÈRE – DANIEL GUSTAV CRAMER – MARTIN CREED – PETER DREHER – ELMGREEN & DRAGSET – CÉCILE B. EVANS – FELIX GONZALEZ-TORRES – RODNEY GRAHAM – DAVID HORVITZ – TEHCHING HSIEH – SOPHIE JUNG – ON KAWARA – KAPWANI KIWANGA – RAGNAR KJARTANSSON – KRIS MARTIN – AGNIESZKA POLSKA – POPE.L – BARBARA PROBST – LAURE PROUVOST – PILAR QUINTEROS – RAQS MEDIA COLLECTIVE – SOPHY RICKETT – MIKKO RIKALA – DIETER ROTH – STÉPHANIE SAADÉ – MICHAEL SAILSTORFER – TARYN SIMON – SLAVS AND TATARS – SMUDGE STUDIO – GERNOT WIELAND – PEDRO WIRZ

ZEITSPUREN – The Power of Now beleuchtet mit Installation, Video, Fotografie, Performance und Malerei die ästhetische und kulturelle Bedeutung von Zeit. Im Kontext gegenwärtiger Narrative legt die Ausstellung unbewusste Zeitstrukturen unserer Leben und Erfahrungen frei. Die 34 versammelten internationalen Kunstschaffenden setzen sich in ihren Werken mit dem zeitlichen Aspekt von Arbeit und Freizeit, Politik und Macht, Körper und Repräsentation oder Technologie und Erinnerung auseinander. Der Komplexität des Zeitbegriffs entsprungen, ist die Ausstellung in vier thematische Bereiche unterteilt: Zeit und Unbehagen; Formbare Zeit; Zeiterfassung: Inszenierung des Lebendigen; Spekulative und planetarische Zeit.

Zeit und Unbehagen gibt Einsicht in die Überlagerungen von Arbeit und sozialer Zeit. Kritische und verspielte Erzählungen rund um eine aktuelle Beklemmung in Bezug auf die Standardisierung von Leben, Arbeit und Freizeit entdecken wir in den Werken dieser Sektion. One Year Performance (1980–81) von Tehching Hsieh ist ein frühes Beispiel der Entwicklung langzeitorientierter Performancekunst. Seine Arbeit bestand darin, während zwölf Monaten zu jeder Stunde eine Stechuhr zu bedienen. Die einzelnen Bilder, die ein Jahr seines Lebens aufzeichneten, werden als sechsminütiger Film zusammen mit weiteren Dokumentationen präsentiert. Die in Hsiehs Performance hervorgehobene Eintönigkeit der industriellen Arbeit unterstreicht die Dominanz der westlichen Zeiteinteilung, mit der sich auch Ragnar Kjartansson in Scenes from Western Culture (2015) auseinandersetzt. Sechs Videoloops zeigen Szenen aus dem alltäglichen Leben und verweisen auf seine Faszination für die Oberflächlichkeit gesellschaftlicher Normen. Derweil entrinnt David Horvitz mit The Distance of a Day (2013) dem gewohnten Zeitverlauf, indem er Videos unterschiedlicher Standorte und Zeitzonen eines einzelnen Tages einander gegenüberstellt.

Formbare Zeit sondiert materielle Prozesse der Geschichtsschreibung mit Fokus auf die Rolle der Erforschung künstlerischer Arbeitsweisen. Um zu neuen Bedeutungen und Assoziationen zu gelangen, greifen Kunstschaffende hierfür historische Artefakte wieder auf. Flowers for Africa (2014, 2017) von Kapwani Kiwanga entspringt dem Interesse der Künstlerin für Archivbilder der postkolonialen Unabhängigkeitsfeierlichkeiten. Aufgrund ihrer Erkenntnis, dass Blumengestecke ein gemeinsames Motiv vieler dieser Fotografien sind, lässt sie diese für jede Ausstellung, in welcher das Werk gezeigt wird, von lokalen Floristen nachbilden. Die individuelle Interpretation der Blumengestecke verbindet sich mit der scheinbar festgeschriebenen kollektiven Bedeutung der Geschichte. Vergleichbare Zusammenhänge finden sich auch in anderen Werken dieses Bereichs. Stéphanie Saadé behandelt in Accelerated Time (2014) Zeit als physikalische Grösse. Die in viele Fragmente zerbrochene Vase lässt auf das Einwirken mysteriöser Kräfte schliessen.

Der Bereich Zeiterfassung: Inszenierung des Lebendigen rückt den Körper als einen Ort in den Vordergrund, der es ermöglicht, unsere Zeitwahrnehmung zu erweitern und konzentriert sich hierbei auf Konzepte performancebasierter Arbeiten. Die Aktionen von Pope.L setzen auf zeitliche Dauer und physische Beharrlichkeit. The Great White Way, 22 Miles, 9 Years, 1 Street (2001–2009) ist eines seiner bekanntesten «crawls». In einem Superman-Outfit und mit einem auf den Rücken geschnallten Skateboard kroch er über die gesamte Länge des Broadways, Manhattens längste Strasse. Oft basierend auf Quellen aus Popkultur oder Philosophie, produziert Sophie Jung ausufernde Performances. Die Künstlerin reaktiviert verschiedene Teile ihrer Installation Come Fresh Hell or Fresh High Water (2017–18) durch Textrezitationen aus dem Gedächtnis und freie gedankliche Improvisationen. In Jungs Performance geht es um die Ambivalenz zwischen Sprache und Objekten und deren Transformierung. Eine verzerrte Interpretation der Unterrichtsmethode «show and tell».

Spekulative und planetarische Zeit untersucht schliesslich, wie digitale Konnektivität und Informationstechnologien unsere Zeitwahrnehmung radikal verändern. Die Arbeiten dieser Sektion reflektieren die Tiefenzeit – die Zeit jenseits des Menschlichen – und eröffnen uns so Vorstellungen über neue Welten. Im Video My Little Planet (2016) lässt Agniezska Polska animierte Objekte des täglichen Gebrauchs im Kosmos schweben, kombiniert mit einer humorvollen Off-Stimme als Kommentar auf die Konsumkultur, die unsere Welt dominiert. Julian Charrières grossformatige Fotografien der Serie First Light (2016–17) befassen sich mit nuklearen Testversuchen auf dem Bikini-Atoll und machen eine atomare Landschaft innerhalb einer idyllischen tropischen Inselszenerie sichtbar. Während Charrières Arbeit unsere Aufmerksamkeit auf die Existenz von Radioaktivität richtet, befasst sich Daniel Gustav Cramer in Old Tjikko (2017) mit dem ältesten klonalen Baum der Welt. In Schwedens Nationalpark Fulufjället stehend, werden seine Wurzeln auf ein Alter von beinahe 10’000 Jahren geschätzt. Cramer untersucht den Mythos der Fichte Old Tjikko, die unverrückbar mit der Landschaft verbunden ist und ein Symbol der Lebensdauer für unseren gefährdeten Planeten darstellt.

Kuratiert von SAMUEL LEUENBERGER und FELICITY LUNN

Die Ausstellung Zeitspuren ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Kunsthaus Pasquart, dem Photoforum Pasquart > PERFECT TIME AHEAD und dem NMB Neuen Museum Biel > Von Zeit Zu Zeit.


Erna und Curt Burgauer Stiftung
Ernst und Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung