1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events

Zara Idelson

27.1.-31.3.2019

Zara Idelson’s (b. 1987, CH) approach to painting is based on intuition and direct observation as well as a clear set of parameters consisting of small-scale works and a limited palette. Texture is created through thin layers of paint, vital with brushwork over bare priming, where colour is used less to depict than to create a sense of movement. The exhibition focuses on the series of figurative paintings begun in 2017, when the artist moved to London, and reflect her curiosity for her new surroundings. Employing line drawing and intimations of detail, Idelson depicts the places and incidents she comes across in her everyday life, such as the back of a public building seen from a cycle path, underground station entrances and children’s chalk drawings on pavements. Dusky scenes of the city at night are quietly atmospheric, while a preoccupation with framing devices is evident in the frequent depiction of views from windows. Ultimately, however, these images are an exploration of the medium of painting itself.

Following a period of making semi-abstract paintings, Idelson’s new surroundings in London prompted her to produce figurative images. Simultaneously, she has more clearly defined her approach to making paintings. When travelling through the city, whether by foot or by public transport, she spends time observing how it functions, taking photographs on her mobile phone. She then translates these as literally as possible in oil or acrylic paint on canvas, depicting only what is necessary for the image to be read. This process sets limits on the possibilities that Idelson allows herself, eliminating both reflection on what she is painting, as well as any compositional adjustments. Whereas in earlier work she occasionally added structures to improve the composition, she now includes elements recorded by the camera, such as the diagonal line of shadow across a painting, that can make the image more ambiguous or difficult to read. The significant decision lies in the choice of the moment in which to take a photograph. Ironically, this clear definition of a strategy allows the artist greater freedom in the way she paints, the spontaneity and intuitive approach to brushwork corresponding with the matter-of-factness of the subject matter.

In the paintings from 2017 Idelson translated the scene in a photograph into a black drawing on the canvas. Some works remained as a line drawing; in others she filled in the image with colour, the oil paint allowing transparent layers through which the black remains visible. Although the application of paint on canvas occurs swiftly, the process of reflection is much longer and many works are discarded. Since working in 2018 with acrylic or water soluble oil paint, which prompted the work to be built up as a single structure, the element of drawing has been subsumed by blurred areas of colour. The newer paintings are darker and more brooding, not in connection with the subject matter specifically but rather as a means to portray the atmosphere of the city more generally. The unusual angles, for example the image of a hand on the steering wheel of a car, are dictated by Idelson’s movements on foot. In contrast to the scenes of cityscapes or views through a window, the more recent works zoom in on details of road markings that Idelson observes as she walks in London. She considers the differently coloured signs, applied to black or grey asphalt as a visual language similar to her own application of paint on a two dimensional surface.

The most striking characteristic of Idelson’s painting is her reductive style. Interested in how little is necessary for a painting to exist as such, her aim is to depict the « groundmarks » of the photographs with as light a touch as possible. Indications of things often recall the sketchy aesthetic of cartoons, for example in her reductive depiction of cars or trees. In addition, she frequently highlights selected elements of a painting in variations of a single colour.

Idelson’s commitment to painting is based on the evocative nature of the medium and the way it can hold within its materiality both a wider sense of place and a powerful impression of atmosphere. Her work is inspired by how the richness of images can be achieved through simple strategies of making. Related to this is the small scale of her work, which invites a particular response from the viewer, drawing their attention to the edges and the physical depth of the painting. As significant as Idelson’s exploration of her reactions to her new environment is the process of making that she has defined: the limitations she applies to the ways in which the image is depicted allow her a more intense engagement with the act of painting itself.

After spending her childhood and youth in Geneva, Zara Idelson studied at the Glasgow School of Art. She has been living and working in London since 2017 and will complete her Master at the Slade School of Fine Art, London in summer 2019. The presentation at Kunsthaus Pasquart is her first institutional solo exhibition.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 28.2.2019, 6pm (fr)   Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 7.3.2019, 6pm  (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Thurs 21.2.2019, 6pm (eng) Zara Idelson in conversation with Felicity Lunn

With the generous support of the legacy of Mme M. Mottier-Lovis

ZARA IDELSON, Exhibition views Centre d’art Pasquart 2019
photos: Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Veranstaltungen

ZARA IDELSON

27.1.-31.3.2019

Zara Idelsons (*1987, CH) Umgang mit Malerei beruht auf Intuition, unmittelbarer Beobachtung und klar festgelegten Kriterien wie kleinformatigen Arbeiten und einer reduzierten Farbpalette. Die Oberflächentextur entsteht durch einzelne dünne Farbschichten und wirkt durch ihre Malweise auf der blossen Grundierung lebendig. Dabei dient die Farbe weniger der Darstellung als dem Erzeugen eines Gefühls von Bewegung. Die Ausstellung konzentriert sich auf eine Gruppe figurativer Gemälde, die seit Idelsons Umzug 2017 nach London entstanden sind und ihr Interesse an der neuen Umgebung wiedergeben. Mit Strichzeichnung und Andeutungen von Details stellt sie Orte und Ereignisse dar, welchen sie in ihrem alltäglichen Leben begegnet – die Rückseite eines öffentlichen Gebäudes aus der Perspektive eines Fahrradweges, Eingänge zu U-Bahnstationen und Kreidezeichnungen von Kindern auf Gehwegen. Düstere Szenen der Stadt taucht sie in eine stimmungsvolle Ruhe, während sie in Bildern, die oftmals Fensterausblicke darstellen, gemalte Rahmungen ersichtlich werden lässt. Schliesslich liegt diesen Gemälden eine Untersuchung des Mediums Malerei an sich zu Grunde.

Die neue Umgebung in London inspirierte Idelson dazu, nach einer Schaffensphase von halb-abstrakten Gemälden, vermehrt figurative Bilder zu produzieren. Gleichzeitig hat sie ihr Vorgehen beim Malen von Bildern klarer definiert. Bei Stadtdurchquerungen zu Fuss oder mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln beobachtet sie das Geschehen und hält dies fotografisch mit ihrem Handy fest. Anschliessend übersetzt sie diese Beobachtungen so getreu wie möglich mit Öl- oder Acrylfarbe auf Leinwand und gibt nur wieder, was wirklich notwendig ist, um das Bild zu verstehen. Dieser Prozess setzt Idelsons selbst erlaubten Möglichkeiten Grenzen und schliesst sowohl ihr Nachdenken über das Gemalte wie auch alle kompositorischen Anpassungen aus. Während sie in früheren Arbeiten gelegentlich Strukturen hinzufügte, um die Komposition zu verbessern, bildet sie nun weitere Elemente ab, die von der Kamera aufgenommen wurden. So etwa die diagonale, über das Gemälde fallende Schattenlinie, welche das Bild mehrdeutig oder schwer lesbar machen kann. Die massgebliche Entscheidung liegt in der Wahl des Zeitpunkts, zu dem eine Fotografie aufgenommen wird. Ironischerweise erlaubt ihr diese klare Strategie eine grössere Freiheit in der Malweise, wobei Spontanität und intuitive Pinselführung mit der Sachlichkeit des Themas einhergehen.

In den Gemälden aus dem Jahr 2017 übersetzte Idelson die Szenerie einer Fotografie in eine schwarze Leinwand-Zeichnung. Einige Werke verblieben als Strichzeichnung. Bei anderen füllte sie das Bild mit Ölfarbe, wobei diese transparente Schichten zulässt, durch welche die schwarzen Linien sichtbar bleiben. Der Farbauftrag auf die Leinwand erfolgt zwar schnell, ihr Reflexionsprozess dauert dafür umso länger und viele Werke wurden wieder verworfen. Die seit 2018 verwendete Technik mit Acryl- oder wasserlöslicher Ölfarbe erfordert eine Ausführung in einem Durchgang und führt dazu, dass das Element der Zeichnung von unscharfen Farbbereichen umfasst wird. Die neueren Malereien sind dunkler und wirken nachdenklicher; nicht hinsichtlich des Themas, sondern vielmehr in der Art, die Stimmung der Stadt darzustellen. Im Gegensatz zu den Darstellungen von Stadtbildern oder Fensterausblicken fokussieren die jüngeren Arbeiten Details von Strassenmarkierungen, die Idelson wahrnimmt, wenn sie in London spazieren geht. Sie betrachtet die Zeichen, die auf schwarzem oder grauem Asphalt aufgetragen sind, als eine Bildsprache, ähnlich ihrer eigenen Anwendung von Farbe auf einer zweidimensionalen Oberfläche. Das auffälligste Merkmal von Idelsons Malerei ist ihr reduzierter Stil. Interessiert daran, wie wenig ein Bild braucht, um als solches zu gelten, ist es ihr Ziel, Charakteristika von Fotografien so einfach wie möglich darzustellen. Die Andeutungen von Dingen erinnern oft an die skizzenhafte Ästhetik von Cartoons, beispielsweise in der reduzierten Darstellung von Autos oder Bäumen. Darüber hinaus verwendet sie häufig Variationen einer einzigen Farbe, um ausgewählte Elemente eines Gemäldes zu betonen.

Idelsons Hingabe an die Malerei basiert auf der evokativen Natur des Mediums und der Art und Weise, wie in der Materialität sowohl ein Gefühl für den Ort als auch ein starker Eindruck von Atmosphäre enthalten ist. Ihre Arbeit ist davon inspiriert, wie der Reichtum von Bildern durch einfache Herstellungsstrategien erreicht werden kann. Damit verbunden sind auch die kleinen Formate ihrer Arbeiten, die eine besondere Reaktion des Betrachters einfordern und die Aufmerksamkeit auf Kanten und Tiefen des Bildes lenken. Genauso wichtig wie Idelsons Erforschung ihrer Resonanz auf die neue Umgebung ist der von ihr definierte Herstellungsprozess: Die Einschränkungen, die sie für die Bilddarstellung anwendet, ermöglichen ihr eine intensivere Beschäftigung mit dem Akt des Malens selbst.

Nach ihrer Kindheit und Jugend in Genf hat Zara Idelson an der Glasgow School of Art studiert. Seit 2017 lebt und arbeitet sie in London und wird im Sommer 2019 an der Slade School of Fine Art, London einen Master abschliessen. Die Präsentation im Kunsthaus Pasquart ist ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 28.2.2019, 18:00   (fr)    Valentine Yerly, Kunstvermittlerin

Do 7.3.2019, 18:00    (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Künstlergespräch

Do 21.2.2019, 18:00   (eng) Zara Idelson im Gespräch mit Felicity Lunn

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Legats von Mme M. Mottier-Lovis