1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Veranstaltungen
Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

PHILIPPE VANDENBERG – KAMIKAZE

14.4.-16.6.2019

The Kunsthaus Pasquart is showing the most comprehensive exhibition to date of the work of the Flemish artist Philippe Vandenberg (1952-2009, BE), in collaboration with the Hamburger Kunsthalle, where the exhibition was presented from 16.11.2018 to 24.2.2019. It is the first institutional exhibition of his work in both Switzerland and Germany. Highly acclaimed in his home country of Belgium as one of the most important artists of the last few decades, Vandenberg produced a radical and uncompromising œuvre that is just now achieving greater international acclaim. The extensive retrospective comprises some 70 paintings and 80 drawings and prints from the period 1995 to 2009. Many of the works on loan come from the artist’s estate and are now being presented to the public for the first time.

Vandenberg’s art displays a compelling intensity that has the power to both disturb and excite. The exhibition title Kamikaze refers to a central artistic principle he espoused. Kamikaze meant for him creative destruction, i.e., enabling some-thing new to arise by annihilating what went before. This principle is reflected in myriad ways in Philippe Vandenberg’s paintings and drawings: in the many stylistic breaks, in his overpainting of existing pictures and scraping off paint once applied, and also in Kamikaze as a written word or its enigmatic abbreviation as «K.A.» or «KA.M.», as well as in many motifs and recurring symbols that open up the field of tension between destruction and creation or starting anew. The latter include for example burning monks (self-immolation as a form of political protest) and the element of the swastika, an ancient sun symbol that, when tilted ninety degrees, becomes an emblem of destruction. Vandenberg’s art is rife with themes from contemporary world events, from literature and art history, myths and legends. What distinguishes these works is nonetheless his devotion to the extreme contradictions to which human beings are subject: the simultaneity of love and hate, beauty and ugliness, innocence and guilt. The Japanese word kamikaze (divine wind) is used to refer to a Japanese air raid technique in the Second World War and also as a description of self-defeating actions. For Vandenberg, applying the kamikaze principle meant a radical change in direction and most of all a vehement demand for agile thought processes and an open mindset: «[…] to destroy your own thinking is equally important. You have to be mobile. Remain absolutely mobile!»

During his lifetime Philippe Vandenberg was celebrated in particular for his expressive, figurative canvases and rhythmical abstract works that coincided with the widespread renewal of painting in the early 1980s. The exhibition concentrates on the second half of Vandenberg’s career – on the period from 1995 to 2009 – in which the artist moved back and forth between figuration and abstraction, while developing a number of themes and working methods. The drawings selected for the exhibition prove him to be an extremely prolific and talented draughtsman. Whereas painting was necessarily a grander statement, drawing for Vandenberg had a mystical, almost religious quality. Vandenberg drew from the mid-nineties, primarily using pencil, ink, gouache and watercolour. Most of his drawings from this period are more than preliminary studies and can be considered as autonomous images. It was above all through drawing that Vandenberg found solace from his inner turbulence. The hundreds of books that he filled with drawings almost on a daily basis from the mid-nineties show above all special motifs and forms that he explored in repetitive variations.

The exhibition is a collaboration with Hamburger Kunsthalle.

Exhibition curators

Brigitte Kölle, Head of Collection Contemporary Art Hamburger Kunsthalle, and Felicity Lunn, Director Kunsthaus Pasquart.

Publication accompanying the exhibition

The exhibition is accompanied by a richly illustrated publication (DT/ FR / ENG), edited by Brigitte Kölle and Felicity Lunn, with texts by Harald Falckenberg, Josephine Karg, Brigitte Kölle, Felicity Lunn, Johannes Muselaers and Marek Wieczoreck. Approx. 100 illustrations, 272 pages, hardcover. Uitgeverij Kannibaal editions, Belgium, 2018.

Guided tours

Thurs 9.5.2019, 6pm (dt)   Natacha Isoz, art historian

Thurs 6.6.2019, 6pm (fr)    Felicity Lunn, director art center Pasquart

Talk on the work

Sun 14.4.2019, 14:00 (fr / eng)  The artist’s son, Mo Vandenberghe and Johannes Muselaers, archivist and researcher at the Estate Philippe Vandenberg, in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Philippe Vandenberg, exhibition views art center Pasquart 2019. Photos: Lia Wagner; courtesy the artist

With the kind support of the Foundation Collection Kunsthaus Pasquart

Video documentation on Philippe Vandenberg, Kamikaze

In short video clips we let talk Philippe Vandenberg himself. The artist comments important motives, techniques and themes of his works.
Filmmakers: Guillaume Vandenberghe (son of Philippe Vandenberg) and Neel Cockx

Lade Veranstaltungen

PHILIPPE VANDENBERG – KAMIKAZE

14.4.-16.6.2019

Das Kunsthaus Pasquart zeigt die bisher grösste Werkschau des flämischen Künstlers Philippe Vandenberg (1952-2009, BE) in Kollaboration mit der Hamburger Kunsthalle, wo die Ausstellung vom 16.11.2018 bis 24.2.2019 präsentiert worden ist. Sowohl in der Schweiz wie in Deutschland ist es die erste institutionelle Ausstellung seiner Arbeit. In seinem Heimatland Belgien als einer der wichtigsten Künstler der letzten Jahrzehnte sehr geschätzt, gilt es sein radikales und schonungsloses Œuvre international noch zu entdecken. Die gross angelegte Schau präsentiert rund 70 Gemälde und 80 Zeichnungen oder Druckgraphiken aus den Jahren 1995 bis 2009. Viele Exponate stammen aus dem Nachlass des Künstlers und sind das erste Mal überhaupt ausgestellt.

Vandenbergs Kunst ist geprägt von einer grossen Intensität, die verstörend und anregend zugleich ist. Der Ausstellungstitel Kamikaze verweist auf sein zentrales künstlerisches Prinzip: Kamikaze bedeutete für ihn kreative Zerstörung, d.h. ein Ermöglichen von Neuem auf der Grundlage der Vernichtung des Alten. Dieses Prinzip findet sich in Philippe Vandenbergs Gemälden und Zeichnungen in vielfältiger Weise: in zahlreichen stilistischen Brüchen, in den Prozessen des Übermalens und des Abschabens bestehender Bilder, in «Kamikaze» als geschriebenem Wort oder in dessen rätselhafter Abkürzung «K.A.» oder «KA.M.». Ebenso wird dieses in vielen Bildmotiven und wiederkehrenden Zeichen, die das Spannungsfeld von Zerstörung und Erschaffung bzw. Neuanfang öffnen, erkennbar. Hierzu gehören beispielweise das Motiv der brennenden Mönche (des politischen Protestsuizids durch Selbstverbrennung) oder auch das Element der Swastika, das als antikes Sonnensymbol durch eine Kippbewegung zum Zeichen der Vernichtung – zum Hakenkreuz – wird. Es sind Themen des aktuellen Weltgeschehens, aus Literatur und Kunstgeschichte, Mythen und Sagen, die Vandenbergs Kunst durchziehen. Bezeichnend sind jedoch immer die extremen Gegensätze, denen der Mensch ausgesetzt ist und denen Vandenberg sich widmet: der Gleichzeitigkeit von Liebe und Hass, Schönheit und Hässlichkeit, Unschuld und Schuld. Der aus dem Japanischen stammende Begriff Kamikaze (auf Deutsch «göttlicher Wind») steht für eine japanische Luftangriffstechnik im Zweiten Weltkrieg und auch für selbstschadende Handlungen. Voraussetzung für die Anwendung des Kamikaze-Prinzips war für Vandenberg ein radikaler Richtungswechsel und vor allem die Beweglichkeit des Denkens, die er als Geisteshaltung vehement einforderte: «[…] das eigene Denken zu zerstören ist ebenso wichtig. Du musst in Bewegung bleiben. Bleibe immer in Bewegung!»

Besonders gefeiert wurde Philippe Vandenberg zu Lebzeiten für seine expressiven, figurativen Gemälde und seine rhythmisch abstrakten Arbeiten, deren Entstehen zeitlich mit der in den frühen 1980er Jahren stattfindenden Erneuerung der Malerei zusammenfiel. Die Ausstellung legt den Fokus auf die zweite Hälfte von Vandenbergs Schaffen, das heisst auf die Zeit von 1995 bis 2009. Charakteristisch für diese Periode sind der stete Wechsel zwischen Figuration und Abstraktion, sowie die Entwicklung einer Reihe von Leitmotiven und Arbeitsmethoden. Die ausgewählten Zeichnungen weisen ihn als überaus produktiven und hochtalentierten Zeichner aus. Während die Malerei für Vandenberg zwangsläufig eine grosse Geste darstellte, hatte das Zeichnen für ihn einen mystischen, beinahe religiösen Charakter. Mitte der 1990er Jahre wandte er sich vermehrt der Zeichnung zu, wobei Bleistift, Tusche, Gouache und Aquarell zu seinen bevorzugten Materialien zählten. Die meisten seiner Zeichnungen aus dieser Periode sind durchaus nicht nur als reine Vorstudien, sondern als eigenständige Arbeiten zu betrachten. Das Zeichnen verschaffte Vandenberg aber vor allem eine unmittelbare Befreiung von seiner inneren Unruhe. Die Hunderte Bücher, die er ab Mitte der 1990er Jahre beinahe täglich mit Zeichnungen füllte, zeigen vor allem spezielle Motive und Formen, die er in sich wiederholenden Variationen erkundete.

Die Ausstellung ist eine Kooperation mit der Hamburger Kunsthalle.

Kuratorinnen der Ausstellung

Brigitte Kölle, Leiterin Sammlung der Gegenwart Hamburger Kunsthalle, und Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart.

Publikation zur Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung wird von einer umfangreichen Publikation (DT / FR / ENG) begleitet, hrsg. von Brigitte Kölle und Felicity Lunn, mit Texten von Harald Falckenberg, Josephine Karg, Brigitte Kölle, Felicity Lunn, Johannes Muselaers u. Marek Wieczoreck. Ca. 100 Abbildungen, 272 Seiten, Hardcover. Uitgeverij Kannibaal Verlag, Belgien, 2018.

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 9.5.2019, 18:00    (dt)   Natacha Isoz, historienne de l’art

Do 6.6.2019, 18:00    (fr)    Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Gespräch zum Werk

So 14.4.2019, 14:00 (fr / eng) Mo Vandenberghe, Sohn des Künstlers, und Johannes Muselears, Archivar und Forscher des Estate Philippe Vandenberg, im Gespräch mit Felicity Lunn.

Philippe Vandenberg, Zu lieben heisst zu geisseln I, 1981-1998, Detail, Öl und Kohle auf Leinwand, 152 × 302 cm; © Estate Philippe Vandenberg.
Courtesy Estate Philippe Vandenberg and Hauser & Wirth; Foto: Joke Floreal / Guillaume Vandenberghe

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Stiftung Kunsthaus-Sammlung Pasquart

Videodokumentationen zu Philippe Vandenberg. Kamikaze

In kurzen Videoclips lassen wir Philippe Vandenberg selbst sprechen. Der Künstler kommentiert wichtige Motive, Techniken und Themen seines Œuvres.
Filmemacher: Guillaume Vandenberghe (Sohn von Philippe Vandenberg) und Neel Cockx