Lade Veranstaltungen

NILBAR GÜREŞ – Sour as a Lemon

17.4.-13.6.2021

Nilbar Güreş (*1977, TUR), who lives and works in Vienna and Istanbul, is one of the most interesting and successful contemporary artists. Her work deals with social questions such as cultural diversity or queer modes of life and highlights the possibilities of an open society. Raising awareness through art of the discourses concerning minorities has a lasting effect. Güreş questions conventional roles of and relationships between the sexes and indicates potentials for strengthening feminine and queer identities. Her artistic practice is based on subtle moments of resistance, whose staging on the margin of the everyday appears quietly radical. Nilbar Güreş’ work is marked by humour and playful irony, revealing a consistent criticism of socio-political conventions. The performative character manifests itself in her photographic and sculptural works, but is also apparent figuratively in her collages and drawings. In these anarchic seeming settings with stage-like arrangements the artist creates a precise and expressive vocabulary.

Following the artist’s one-person exhibition at the Lentos Kunstmuseum in Linz, Austria (2018), which provided a broad overview of her work from 2005 to 2018, and her most recent exhibition at the Badischer Kunstverein in Karlsruhe (2019), the main focus of the monographic exhibition in Biel is on the last six years of Güreş’ career.

Güreş works in a variety of media, including painting, sculpture, installation, photography, film, performance, collage and drawing. Important elements of her work are the aspects of women’s lives and relationships that are inclusive and show solidarity, as well as the way in which they integrate their worlds into existing systems. The artist makes seemingly normal landscapes and geographies which she interlaces, however, with minimal adjustments, thereby conferring on them a touch of surrealism and a sense of the absurd.

Textiles are an important medium for the artist, which she incorporates in her photographs, collages and sculptures, in order to reflect perceptions of the body and social structures of possession. During her study of painting in Istanbul and painting and graphic design at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts, as well as her training in fine art and textile design, Güreş was already intensively involved with the medium of textiles. Many of the different fabrics used in her work were acquired from women in the artist’s immediate milieu. They derive from different periods, often reflecting private memories or political situations.

Characteristic of Güreş’ collages are pictorial and graphic elements to which she adds fragments of textiles. In her collages the artist frequently takes up themes related specifically to the sexes, questioning conventional female roles within patriarchal family structures and symbolising the collective empowerment of women resulting from processes of solidarity.

Fabrics are also often the basis for Nilbar Güreş’ sculptures, sometimes in the form of cushions, that are used as a dowry in Turkey. Her textile sculptures frequently have a fetishist character and refer to body parts. The artist’s multi-faceted approach to patterns and fabrics forms a productive source for subversive appropriation.

In recent works, such as Sour as a Lemon (2020), fabric is transferred from the traditional context of handicraft to the (trans)gender political narratives of the sculptures.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication

A publication accompanying the exhibition with a text by Pierre Bal Blanc and an interview with the artist is published by the Verlag für moderne Kunst (ENG / DT / FR)

Guided tours

Thurs, 6.5.2021, 6pm (dt) Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Thurs, 27.5.2021, 6pm  (fr) Fannie Audergon, art historian

With the kind support of the Federal Chancellery Vienna, the Austrian Cultural Forum Bern, and the SAHA Association.

Nilbar Güreş, Underneath, 2019, fabric, 115 x 72 x 18 cm; Courtesy the artist and GALERIST, Istanbul; photo: Reha Arcan

Lade Veranstaltungen

NILBAR GÜREŞ – Sour as a Lemon

17.4.-13.6.2021

Nilbar Güreş (*1977, TUR) lebt und arbeitet in Wien und Istanbul und ist eine der interessantesten und international erfolgreichsten zeitgenössischen Künstlerinnen. Ihr Werk setzt sich mit gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen wie Interkulturalität oder queeren Lebensweisen auseinander und beleuchtet Möglichkeiten einer offenen Gesellschaft. Die künstlerische Sensibilisierung auf Grenzdiskurse hat einen nachhaltigen Charakter. Güreş hinterfragt konventionelle Geschlechterrollen und -beziehungen und deutet Potenziale an, feminine und queere Identitäten zu stärken. Ihre künstlerische Praxis basiert auf subtilen Momenten des Widerstands, deren Inszenierung am Rande des Alltags besonnen radikal wirken. Nilbar Güreş’ Werk ist von Humor und spielerischer Ironie gezeichnet und offenbart eine konsequente Kritik an gesellschaftspolitischen Konventionen. In ihren fotografischen und skulpturalen Arbeiten manifestiert sich das Performative, das aber auch, in einem übertragenen Sinne, in ihren Collagen und Zeichnungen sichtbar wird. In diesen anarchisch wirkenden Szenerien mit bühnenartigen Arrangements kreiert die Künstlerin ein präzises und ausdruckstarkes Vokabular.

Nach der Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin im LENTOS Kunstmuseum in Linz, Österreich (2018), die einen breiten Überblick über ihr Werk von 2005 bis 2018 gab, und der jüngsten Ausstellung im Badischen Kunstverein in Karlsruhe (2019), liegt das Augenmerk der monografischen Ausstellung in Biel auf den letzten sechs Jahren der Karriere von Güreş.

Güreş arbeitet in den verschiedensten Medien, darunter Malerei, Skulptur, Installation, Fotografie, Film, Performance, Collage und Zeichnung. Wichtige Elemente ihrer Arbeit sind die solidarischen und integrativen Aspekte der Leben und Beziehungen zwischen Frauen und die Frage danach, wie sie ihre Welten in bestehende Systeme einfügen. Die Künstlerin schafft scheinbar normale Landschaften und Geografien, die sie jedoch mit minimalen Verschiebungen verschränkt und ihnen dadurch einen surrealen Hauch und einen Sinn für das Absurde verleiht.

Textilien sind für die Künstlerin ein wichtiges Medium, das sie in ihre Fotografien, Collagen und Skulpturen integriert, um die Sichtweisen auf den Körper und soziale Strukturen von Besitz zu reflektieren. Bereits während ihres Studiums der Malerei in Istanbul, der Malerei und Grafik an der Wiener Akademie der Bildenden Künste sowie der Kunstausbildung und des Textildesigns, beschäftigte sich Güreş intensiv mit dem Medium Textil. Viele der verschiedenen Stoffe, die in den Werken Verwendung finden, wurden von Frauen aus dem unmittelbaren Milieu der Künstlerin erworben. Sie stammen aus verschiedenen Zeiträumen und widerspiegeln oft private Erinnerungen oder politische Situationen.

Charakteristisch für die Collagen von Güreş sind bildhafte und grafische Elemente, die mit textilen Fragmenten ergänzt werden. In ihren Collagen greift die Künstlerin häufig geschlechtsspezifische Themen auf, hinterfragt konventionelle weibliche Rollen innerhalb patriarchalischer Familienstrukturen und versinnbildlicht das kollektive ‚Empowerment’ von Frauen, welches durch Solidaritätsprozesse entsteht.

Stoffe bilden oft auch die Grundlage für die Skulpturen von Nilbar Güreş, manchmal in Form von Kissen, die in der Türkei als Mitgift verwendet werden. Ihre Textilskulpturen haben häufig Fetischcharakter und verweisen auf Körperteile. Der facettenreiche Umgang der Künstlerin mit Mustern und Stoffen bildet eine produktive Quelle für eine subversive Aneignung. In neuen Arbeiten wie beispielsweise Sour as a Lemon(2020) wird Stoff aus dem traditionellen Kontext der Handwerkskunst in die (trans)genderpolitischen Erzählungen der Skulpturen überführt.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publikation zur Ausstellung

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation mit einem Text von Pierre Bal Blanc und einem Interview im Verlag für moderne Kunst (DT/FR/ENG).

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 6.5.2021, 18:00 (dt) Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Do 27.5.2021, 18:00 (fr) Fannie Audergon, Kunsthistorikerin

Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung des Bundeskanzleramtes Wien, des Österreichischen Kulturforums Bern und der SAHA Association.

Nilbar Güreş, Underneath, 2019, Stoff, 115 x 72 x 18 cm; Courtesy the artist and GALERIST, Istanbul; Foto: Reha Arcan