Lade Veranstaltungen

MELANIE MANCHOT – Open Stage. Back Stage

14.4.-16.6.2019

The exhibition at Kunsthaus Pasquart brings together for the first time a comprehensive overview of Melanie Manchot’s (*1966, D) series Mountainworks which responds to the landscape, community and tourism-led economic infrastructure of the Swiss village of Engelberg. The production over ten years of both photographic and moving image works, framed by this valley, can be understood as a sustained enquiry into our complex relationship with mountains as spaces of real and imaginary exploration of our place in the world.

Arising from her interest in the ways we look after the places temporarily in our care, Manchot focuses on the «back stage» and the hidden labour necessary to make mountain industry function. The video trilogy Out of Bounds (2016) follows two different groups of men whose daily work on the mountain allows tourism to function. “A” shows a team that goes up early in the mornings after a fresh snowfall to detonate controlled avalanches, while “B” and “C” record the repetitive movements of piste-bully drivers who flatten the snow at night, creating a mysterious drama of mountainside and machinery. Manchot’s earliest Engelberg work, Leap after The Great Ecstasy (2011) brings together sportspeople, experts and maintenance staff on the grounds of the world’s largest natural ski jump.  It charts the intense preparations for the event, both in terms of the physicality of the site itself and the individuals involved. The film’s climax (the jump) is, however, not shown. A situation thus arises of continual preparatory work and a focus on the artificiality of the spectacle. Cadence (2018) is one of Manchot’s most recent video works: from an aerial viewpoint we see a dark horse being led into a blank snowy landscape. Walking in a circle, it inscribes a trail of footprints in the snow, creating a kind of drawing. The scene is formal yet by means of the reduced visual language it places notions of nature and human agency in a state of suspense. At the same time, it echoes Manchot’s wider video and film works, in which choreography, dance, film and visual art are in dialogue. In the series White Light Black Snow (2017 ongoing) the artist questions the material qualities and conditions of the colour white. In examining the ability of the camera to «see» and to «reproduce» snow and ice, is concerned ultimately with the medium of photography itself. Manchot’s latest work Alpine Diskomiks (2019) arranges the convergence of image and sound, similar to a tectonic shift of land masses, and unfolds a continuous panorama of a mountain chain from the covers of 50 records, all of them showing the image of a mountain. An accumulation of sound that increases and reduces sequentially allows us to experience the drama and the forces of the continual process of accumulation and erosion in the mountains. The music in this incongruous collection spans the entire spectrum from classical to folk, techno to death metal.

Most of Manchot’s works hover on the threshold between the documentary and staged event, between observation and construction. Sometimes gestures, portraits or activities begin with a documentary reality and are then re-staged for the camera; at other times, it remains as pure observation. These

themes are equally evident in one of her most ambitious performative works, Dance (All Night, London) (2017), presented as a large-scale video installation in the Salle Poma. For an entire night Manchot brought together a variety of movements and cultures by working with dance schools based in London’s East End, each of which represented a different style of dance. In the course of the night the place transformed into a social space, formed by the dynamic of various gestures and movements which co-existed through a multitude of rhythms. The work questions the potential for variety, difference and collective belonging in the context of our increasingly complex societies. A new version of this collective dance performance will be performed live in the old town of Biel on 25 May 2019 in collaboration with nearly all Biel’s dance organisations. The film of the event will be presented at a later date at Kunsthaus Pasquart.

Following her degree at New York University Manchot studied fine art and education at City University, London and completed an MFA in photography at the Royal College of Art, London. She has had numerous exhibitions at, among others, the Whitechapel Gallery, London (2010), the Photography Festival, Canada (2012) and at MAC VAL, Paris (2018). Her work is represented in the following collections: DG Bank Collection (D), Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg (D), Brooklyn Museum, New York (US), Arts Council Collection, Hayward Gallery, London (UK). Melanie Manchot lives and works in London.

Exhibition curator

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication accompanying the exhibition

On the occasion of Melanie Manchot’s exhibitions at the Musée d’art contemporain du Val-de-Marne (20.10.2018-24.2.2019) and at Kunsthaus Pasquart (14.4.-16.6.2019) the publication Open Ended Now  was published, with texts by Fabienne Brugère & Guillaume le Blanc, Kate Bush, Maeve Connolly, Florian Gaité, Frank Lamy, Sibylle Omlin and Ellen Mara De Wachter (DT / FR / ENG). Edited by MAC VAL and Kunsthaus Pasquart, ca. 100 illustrations, 244 pages, hardcover, 2018.

Guided tours

Thurs 9.5.2019, 6pm (fr)    Natacha Isoz, art historian

Thurs 6.6.2019, 6pm (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Thurs 23.5.2019, 6pm (dt)   Melanie Manchot in conversation with Felicity Lunn.

Collective performance

Sat 25.5.2019, 8:30-9:30pm  In the old town of Biel

You are cordially invited to accompany the Biel dance groups brought together by Melanie Manchot on their procession-like route through the old town of Biel.

Melanie Manchot, Above/Below, 2017, Digital C-type print; Courtesy the artist and Gallery m, Bochum

………
………

Lade Veranstaltungen

MELANIE MANCHOT – Open Stage. Back Stage

14.4.-16.6.2019

Die Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Pasquart bietet erstmals einen umfassenden Überblick über Melanie Manchots (*1966, D) Werkgruppe Mountainworks, die sich mit der Landschaft, der Gemeinde und der vom Tourismus geprägten Infrastruktur des Schweizer Orts Engelberg befasst. Die zehnjährige Produktion fotografischer und bewegter Bilder, die sich auf dieses Bergtal bezieht, kann als eine nachhaltige Forschungsarbeit verstanden werden, die unsere komplexe Beziehung zu den Bergen als Ort der realen und imaginären Erforschung unseres Seins in der Welt aufzeigt.

Hervorgehend aus ihrem Interesse für die Art und Weise, wie wir uns um die vorübergehend in unserer Obhut befindlichen Umwelt kümmern, richtet Melanie Manchot ihr Augenmerk auf das «Backstage» und die verborgenen Arbeitskräfte, die für eine funktionierende Bergwelt notwendig sind. So hat sie mit unterschiedlichen Teams in Engelberg zusammengearbeitet, um dies anhand von Fotografien und Videos zu beobachten. Die Videotrilogie Out Of Bounds (2016) begleitet zwei verschiedene Gruppen von Männern, deren tägliche Arbeit am Berg den Tourismus erst möglich macht. «A» zeigt ein Team, das bei Neuschnee früh morgens aufsteigt und kontrollierte Lawinen auslöst, während «B» und «C» die repetitiven Bewegungen von Pistenraupenfahrzeugen einfangen, die nachts den Schnee planieren und die Szenerie zu einem geheimnisvollen Schauspiel aus Berghang und Maschinen werden lassen. Manchots früheste Engelberger Videoarbeit Leap after The Great Ecstasy (2011) vereint Sportler, Sachverständige und Wartungspersonal auf dem Gelände der grössten natürlichen Skisprungschanze der Welt. Es veranschaulicht die intensiven Vorbereitungen für die Veranstaltung, sowohl in Bezug auf die beteiligten Personen als auch auf die physischen Bedingungen des Ortes selbst. Auf den filmischen Höhepunkt (den Sprung) wird indes verzichtet. So entsteht ein Zustand der kontinuierlichen Vorarbeit und Fokussierung auf das Artifizielle des Spektakels. Cadence (2018) ist eine von Manchots jüngsten Videoarbeiten: Aus der Vogelperspektive sehen wir ein dunkles Pferd, das in eine leere verschneite Landschaft geführt wird. Im Kreis gehend schreibt es eine Spur in den Schnee, wodurch eine Art Zeichnung entsteht. Die Szene ist formell und setzt durch die reduzierte visuelle Sprache Vorstellungen von Natur und menschlicher Handlungsfähigkeit in einen spannungsgeladenen Zustand. Gleichzeitig bildet diese Arbeit ein Echo auf Manchots weiter Videos und Filmarbeiten, in denen Choreographie, Tanz, Film und visuelle Kunst im Dialog stehen. In der fortlaufenden Serie White Light Black Snow (ab 2017) befragt die Künstlerin die materiellen Eigenschaften und Bedingungen der Farbe Weiss und beschäftigt sich schliesslich mit dem Medium der Fotografie selbst, indem sie die Fähigkeit der Kamera, Schnee und Eis zu «sehen» und zu «reproduzieren», untersucht. Manchots aktuellste Arbeit Alpine Diskomiks (2019) lässt einem tektonischen Verschiebungsprozess gleich Massen aus Bild und Klang aufeinandertreffen und entfaltet das durchgehende Panorama einer Bergkette aus 50 Vinylschallplatten-Covers, die alle ein Gebirge zeigen. Eine Klangakkumulation, die sich sequentiell auf- und abbaut, macht die Dramatik der Kräfte und den steten Prozess des Aufbaus und Abtragens in der Bergwelt erfahrbar. Die Musik in dieser inkongruenten Sammlung umfasst das gesamte Spektrum von Klassik bis Folk, Techno bis Death Metal.

Die meisten von Manchots Arbeiten bewegen sich an der Schwelle zwischen Dokumentarfilm und Inszenierung, zwischen Beobachtung und Konstruktion. Manchmal beginnen Gesten, Porträts oder Aktivitäten mit einer dokumentarischen Realität und werden dann für die Kamera neu inszeniert und manchmal bleibt es bei der reinen Beobachtung. Dies zeigt sich auch in einem ihrer ehrgeizigsten performativen Werke Dance (All Night, London) (2017), das in einer grossformatigen Videoinstallation in der Salle Poma präsentiert wird. Eine Nacht lang brachte Manchot eine Vielfalt von Bewegungen und Kulturen zusammen und kollaborierte hierfür mit im Londoner East End ansässigen Tanzschulen, die jeweils einen anderen Tanzstil repräsentierten. Im Laufe der Nacht verwandelte sich der Ort in einen sozialen Raum, geprägt von der Dynamik verschiedener Gesten und Bewegungen, die polyrhythmisch nebeneinander koexistieren. Die Arbeit hinterfragt das Potential von Diversität, Differenz und Zusammengehörigkeit im Kontext unserer zunehmend komplexen Gesellschaften. Eine neue Version dieser kollektiven Performance wird am 25. Mai 2019 in der Bieler Altstadt in einer Kollaboration mit fast allen Bieler Tanzorganisationen und unterschiedlichsten Perkussionisten aufgeführt. Der dazu im Entstehen begriffene Film wird zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt im Kunsthaus Pasquart gezeigt.

Nach ihrem Studium an der New York University verfolgte Manchot ein Studium in bildender Kunst und Vermittlung an der City University, London und machte einen MFA in Fotografie am Royal College of Art, London. Zahlreiche Einzelausstellungen hatte sie u.a. in der Whitechapel Gallery, London (2010), am Contact Photography Festival, Canada (2012), und im MAC VAL, Paris (2018). Ihre Arbeiten sind u.a. in folgenden Sammlungen vertreten: DG Bank Collection (D), Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg (D), Brooklyn Museum, New York (USA), Arts Council Collection, Hayward Gallery, London (UK) und Government Art Collection, London (UK). Melanie Manchot lebt und arbeitet in London.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publikation zur Ausstellung

Anlässlich der Ausstellungen von Melanie Manchot im Musée d’art contemporain du Val-de-Marne vom 20.10.2018 bis zum 24.2.2019 und im Kunsthaus Pasquart vom 14.4. bis zum 16.6. 2019 erscheint die Publikation Open Ended Now  mit Texten von Fabienne Brugère & Guillaume le Blanc, Kate Bush, Maeve Connolly, Florian Gaité, Frank Lamy, Sibylle Omlin und Ellen Mara De Wachter (DT / FR / ENG). Herausgegeben von MAC VAL und Kunsthaus Pasquart, ca. 100 Illustrationen, 244 Seiten, Hardcover, 2018.

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 9.5.2019, 18:00    (fr)    Natacha Isoz, historienne de l’art

Do 6.6.2019, 18:00    (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Künstlergespräch

Do 23.5.2019, 18:00 (dt)     Melanie Manchot im Gespräch mit Felicity Lunn.

Kollektive Performance

Sa 25.5.2019, 20:30-21:30    In der Bieler Altstadt

Sie sind herzlich eingeladen, die von Melanie Manchot zusammengebrachten Bieler Tanzgruppen auf ihrem prozessionsähnlichen Weg durch die Bieler Altstadt zu begleiten.

Melanie Manchot, Above/Below, 2017, Digitaler C-print; Courtesy the artist and Gallery m, Bochum

………
………