1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events

MANUEL BURGENER

Ojingeo

Manor Art Award Canton Bern 2018

29.6.-26.8.2018

Manuel Burgener’s (* 1978, CH) installations, objects and images appear unfinished and precarious. For his new installation spanning five rooms the winner of the 2018 Manor Art Award combines video, sound and space. Armed with two mobile cameras in a remote seaside house, the artist captured the temporality and fleetingness of the present moment over a period of twenty-four hours. The duration of the project corresponds exactly with that of the video, which runs continuously throughout the exhibition. Various positions and reflections produce a multitude of perspectives and thus elevate the medium itself to the subject matter. Held in a sober interchange, the artist thus reveals the camera’s movements that are normally kept hidden. Subtle shifts in the reception are also characteristic of the framed, large format photograms. The glass and the picture surface do not lie parallel to each other. On the photographic paper the reflections are visible but diffuse and at the same they can be seen clearly on the glass. The artist determines the unmediated reaction to the architecture of the spaces and their connection with the new works only during the installation of the exhibition and thus allows himself a freedom that is characteristic for his working process.

The video installation twenty four (2018) shows the banal course of a day of a young, evenly-tempered man. Constant rain, a fisherman’s house in Mallorca, the whirring of the air conditioning in the background. Comtemporaneity and monotony are combined in a seemingly endless flow. The trivial nature of the images is combined stoically with a steady layer of sound. Separated across three rooms, in which cables, loudspeakers and video equipment lie on the floor and in the shopping trolley, in each of the two rooms at opposite ends of Parkett 2 Burgener has positioned a projection. The source of the sound as well as the installation’s equipment are distributed through all five rooms ; the windows remain open during the course of the exhibition and, depending on the strength of the sunlight, daylight falls directly on the projection surface. Burgener consciously pushes the work to the limit when, due to the daylight in the room and the duration of the video, it is no longer completely visible, thus drawing our attention to questions on a meta level. He stages video, sound, empty rooms and open windows as aspects of equal importance and clearly shows us how the camera can be transformed into an instrument for the recording and the extension of time. The video installation itself becomes an experiment in which we begin to question our own position in this staging.

In the passage to the Salle Poma Burgener presents the three large format photograms Untitled (2018), mounted in aluminium frames. The white scratches, marks and shadings on the surface of the image don’t allow any conclusions concerning a recognisable motif, while the asymmetrical reflections on the image and the glass provoke once again our own self-reflection. The artist too is confronted with himself when during the implementation of the work in the darkroom he arranges the film and the surface of the glass between the light-sensitive coloured photographic paper and the light source. Fluctuating between loss of control and  perseverance, Burgener’s movements thus leave additional traces on the photograms.

At the heart of the installation Untitled (2018) that fills the Salle Poma is Manuel Burgener’s interest in the direct intervention in the exhibition context.  For this he poured latex milk, a natural product taken from gum trees, on the entire floor area. As soon as the liquid is dry a thin, elastic film forms that can be lifted from the floor. Dirt marks and the structure of the floor are absorbed, changing the surface texture of the material. Like an organic and at the same time synthetic mesh spanning the entire space, it is possible to walk on the membrane, drawing our focus to the architectural parameters. An ephemeral tophography unfolds which Burgener juxtaposes with what appear to be technical objects. The series Untitled (2018), composed of brackets, sheets of glass and T-shirts, is attached to the wall of the Salle Poma. Mounted at various heights, the works create a direct physical connection to us. The strength of the sheets of glass corresponds with those of the vitrine in the corridor of Parkett 2. These stand open, without comment, symbolic of the artist’s intention of provoking in us a self-observation through his work.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, Director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication accompanying the exhibition

The artist’s book which is published on the occasion of the exhibition in collaboration with Edition Patrick Frey, is situated between a work of art and a catalogue. Manuel Burgener has used it to examine compressions between text and image, refusing established expectations and thereby bringing the essence of his work itself into focus.


Artist’s talk

Thurs 16.8.2018, 6pm     (dt) Manuel Burgener in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Guided tours

Thurs 9.8.2018, 6pm     (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Thurs 23.8.2018,6pm    (fr)    Kathleen Vitor, historienne de l’art


Manuel Burgener, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Pasquart 2018

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Veranstaltungen
Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

MANUEL BURGENER Ojingeo

Manor Kunstpreis Kanton Bern 2018

29.6.-26.8.2018

Den Installationen, Objekten und Bildern von Manuel Burgener (*1978, CH) haftet der Anschein des Unfertigen und Prekären an. Der Manor Kunstpreis-Träger 2018 lässt in seiner neuen Installation über fünf Säle hinweg Video, Ton und Raum miteinander in Beziehung treten. In einem abgelegenen Haus am Meer fing er dafür mit zwei mobilen Kameras Zeitlichkeit und Gegenwärtigkeit ein. Die Umsetzung des Vorhabens dauerte vierundzwanzig Stunden und entspricht exakt der Länge des Videos, das fortlaufend während der gesamten Ausstellungsdauer abgespielt wird. Variable Einstellungen und Spiegelungen bringen eine Vielzahl an Perspektiven hervor und erheben so das Medium selbst zum Motiv. In einer nüchternen Wechselwirkung gehalten, legt der Künstler damit das normalerweise verborgene filmische Dispositiv offen. Subtile Verschiebungen in der Rezeption sind auch für die gerahmten, grossformatigen Fotogramme charakteristisch. Glas und Bildfläche liegen nicht parallel übereinander. Auf dem Fotopapier werden so diffuse und auf dem Glas gleichzeitig präzise Reflexionen sichtbar. Die unmittelbare Reaktion auf die Architektur der Räume und deren Verbindung mit den neuen Werken legt der Künstler erst während des Aufbaus fest und gewährt sich damit eine Freiheit, die bezeichnend für seinen Schaffensprozess ist.

Die Videoinstallation twenty four (2018) zeigt den trivialen Tagesablauf eines jungen, gleichmütigen Mannes. Andauernder Regen, ein Fischerhaus auf Mallorca, im Hintergrund das Surren der Klimaanlage. Gleichzeitigkeit und Monotonie verbinden sich zu einem scheinbar endlosen Strom. Stoisch verbindet sich die Belanglosigkeit der Bilder mit einer gleichförmigen Klangebene. Durch drei Räume getrennt, in denen Kabel, Lautsprecher und Videogeräte am Boden und in Einkaufswagen liegen, positioniert Burgener in den zwei entgegengesetzten Räumen im Parkett 2 je eine Projektion. Tonquelle sowie Abspielgeräte der Installation sind über alle fünf Räume verteilt, die Fenster bleiben während der gesamten Ausstellungszeit offen und Tageslicht fällt je nach Sonnenstand direkt auf die Projektionsfläche. Burgener überspannt den Bogen bewusst, wenn aufgrund der Helligkeit im Raum und der Videodauer die Arbeit nicht mehr vollständig erfahrbar ist und lenkt so unsere Aufmerksamkeit auf übergeordnete Fragestellungen. Video, Klang, leere Räume und offene Fenster inszeniert er als gleichberechtigte Aspekte. Der Künstler führt uns vor Augen, wie die Kamera in ein Instrument zur Erfassung und Erweiterung von Zeit umgedeutet werden kann. Die Videoinstallation an sich wird zur Versuchsanordnung, in der wir unsere eigene Position in dieser Szenografie zu hinterfragen beginnen.

In der Passage zur Salle Poma präsentiert Burgener die drei grossformatigen Fotogramme Untitled (2018), die in Alurahmen angebracht sind. Die weissen Kratzer, Abdrucke und Schraffierungen auf der Bildoberfläche lassen keine Rückschlüsse auf ein erkennbares Motiv zu, die asymmetrischen Reflexionen auf Bild und Glas evozieren bei uns einmal mehr eine Selbstreflexion. Auch der Künstler ist mit sich selber konfrontiert, wenn er in der Dunkelkammer während der Umsetzung der Werke Folie und Glasfläche zwischen dem lichtempfindlichen Farbfotopapier und der Lichtquelle anordnet. Zwischen Kontrollverlust und Beharrlichkeit wankend, hinterlassen Burgeners Bewegungen dabei zusätzlich Spuren auf den Fotogrammen.

Der raumfüllenden Installation Untitled (2018) in der Salle Poma liegt Manuel Burgeners Interesse am unmittelbaren Eingriff in den Ausstellungskontext zu Grunde. Er giesst dafür auf die gesamte Bodenfläche Latexmilch. Ein Naturprodukt, das aus dem Gummibaum gewonnen wird. Sobald die Flüssigkeit trocken ist, entsteht daraus ein dünner, elastischer Film, der sich vom Boden lösen lässt. Schmutzrückstände und Bodenstruktur gehen darauf über und verändern die Oberflächentextur des Materials. Wie ein organisches und gleichzeitig synthetisches Gewebe, das sich über den ganzen Raum erstreckt, lenkt die begehbare Membran unseren Fokus auf die architektonischen Parameter. Es entfaltet sich eine ephemere Topografie, welcher Burgener technisch anmutende Objekte gegenüberstellt. Die Werkgruppe Untitled (2018) ist an der Wand der Salle Poma befestigt und wurde aus Scharnieren, Glasscheiben sowie T-Shirts zusammengestellt. In unterschiedlichen Höhen montiert, stellen sie einen direkten körperlichen Bezug zu uns her. Die Stärke der Glasscheiben entspricht derjenigen der Vitrine im Korridor des Parkett 2. Kommentarlos stehen diese offen, sinnbildlich für die Absicht des Künstlers, über seine Werke bei uns eine Selbstbetrachtung zu provozieren.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publikation zur Ausstellung

Das Künstlerbuch, das anlässlich der Ausstellung in Zusammenarbeit mit Edition Patrick Frey entsteht, verortet sich an der Schnittstelle zwischen Werk und Katalog. Manuel Burgener untersucht damit Verdichtungen zwischen Text und Bild, verweigert sich gängigen Erwartungshaltungen und rückt so die Essenz seines Werks an sich ins Zentrum (ENG).


Künstlergespräch

Do 16.8.2018, 18:00     (dt) Manuel Burgener im Gespräch mit Felicity Lunn

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 9.8.2018, 18:00     (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Do 23.8.2018, 18:00    (fr)    Kathleen Vitor, historienne de l’art


Manuel Burgener, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Pasquart 2018