1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events

Maija Luutonen

27.1.-31.3.2019

Maija Luutonen’s (b. 1978, FI) large-scale, vividly coloured paintings are made primarily on paper, chosen for its suitability for direct experimentation as well as for the immaterial nature of the white ‘negative’ spaces created on its surface. Considering the material to have a transient quality, she addresses the relation between time and movement, treating the works as an ensemble of slowly moving images rather than complete or final objects. This open-endedness is underlined by the presentation of the work leant against the wall, piled up, folded or placed in front of a door or window. Bringing together colour and light with references to the built environment and nature, Luutonen explores the possibilities for creating the illusion of spatial immersion on a flat surface. She retains in the paintings elements that are awkward or unresolved but nonetheless interesting and dynamic.

The exhibition consists of three bodies of work:  a group of paintings made in 2016; the series entitled Patch shown at the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / The Finnish National Gallery in Helsinki in 2018; and a number of new works that the artist has produced especially for the exhibition in Kunsthaus Pasquart. The paintings produced in 2016 demonstrate Luutonen’s simultaneous treatment of two-dimensionality and spatiality, as well as her consideration of the notion of representation. This exploration extended already at this time to the surface of the paper, which the artist sometimes handled as a relief in which her markings brought forth shapes from the reverse side. In this body of work, she focused on the oscillation between anxiety and ecstasy in times of constant input, on encrypted subjects, strange weather and a potential apocalypse. The paper itself also became an increasingly significant subject of her work, entering the space as a background or curling up at the base, like a secret scroll. Reflecting on spatiality through an otherwise flat surface, in the paintings of 2016 the artist dealt with notions of seemingly enclosed spaces, or rooms; where we live, where we look out from, where the material and digital seem to increasingly merge, or where art is presented. In these works, the surface became a container of narratives and thoughts, the room a stage for both withdrawal and emergence.

In the Patch series Luutonen pushed further the boundaries of traditional painting to create spatiality through colour, light and experimentation with media. She combined here painting techniques with printing, digital processing and borrowed images, enabling her to follow a different process of shortcuts, mistakes and experiments, before arriving at a more concise and clear form of the original idea. The dazzling visuality and highly sensory utilisation of materials and surfaces in her oeuvre became more apparent in the Patch series; at the same time, the artist began to test different and unconventional ways of presenting the works in the gallery space.

The new paintings, made in the second half of 2018, are all connected to the field of vision and to what happens at the fringes of that area. This encompasses the subjects of bodily perception as well as sight and the eyes in general. Similar to the «floaters» that can occur on retinas, giving the impression that one sees floating lines, blurred dark areas and insect-like forms, Luutonen is making works that «see double», have particles floating on them or are somehow not in focus. Whilst this is the psychological and aesthetic field in which the artist is currently working, in terms of the images or subjects that emerge in her paintings, she is dealing with themes such as repetition, words, boredom, tiredness, leisure and meditation. The larger paintings feature spaces that might be described as interior, exterior, constructed by humans or in-between spaces. The smaller works are more like very personal notebook notations and recall close-ups and fleeting moments.

The presentation of Patch at Kunsthaus Pasquart is the first exhibition of Maija Luutonen’s work in Switzerland. It is produced in collaboration with Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / The Finnish National Gallery in Helsinki. Luutonen’s Patch (2018) is the first in a series of commissions by emerging artists living and working in Finland. Kiasma Commission by Kordelin is initiated by Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma in Helsinki with the generous support of Alfred Kordeli Foundation, Helsinki.

Maija Luutonen studied at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Paris and the Finnish Academy of Fine Art. She lives and works in Helsinki. She has had solo exhibitions in Finland, Denmark and Latvia. The presentation at Kunsthaus Pasquart is her most comprehensive solo exhibition to date.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 28.2.2019, 6pm (fr)    Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 7.3.2019, 6pm  (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

.

MAIJA LUUTONEN – PATCH, Exhibition views Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart 2019
photos: Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Veranstaltungen

Maija Luutonen

27.1.-31.3.2019

Maija Luutonen (*1978, FI) realisiert ihre grossformatigen, farbintensiven Gemälde vorwiegend auf Papier, da dieses sich für Experimente besonders eignet und in Form einer immateriellen Qualität weisse «negative» Räume auf der Oberfläche hervorbringt. Ihr auf die Beziehung zwischen Zeit und Bewegung gelegter Fokus beruht auf der instabilen Eigenschaft des Materials. Die Werke sind eher als ein Ensemble von sich langsam bewegenden Bildern, als in sich vollständige und abgeschlossene Arbeiten zu verstehen. An die Wand angelehnt, gestapelt, gefaltet, vor einer Tür oder einem Fenster platziert, unterstreicht die Präsentation den unvollendeten Anschein der Werke. Indem Luutonen Farbe und Licht mit Bezügen zur bebauten Umwelt und Natur zusammenführt, untersucht sie Möglichkeiten einer Illusion räumlichen Eintauchens auf ebener Fläche. Sie hält an störenden und ungelösten Momenten in de n Gemälden fest, da diese gleichwohl interessant und dynamisch sind.

Die Ausstellung besteht aus drei Werkgruppen: ein Ensemble 2016 entstandener Gemälde, eine Serie mit dem Titel Patch, die 2018 im Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / Finnische Nationalgalerie in Helsinki gezeigt wurde, und eine Reihe neuer Werke, welche die Künstlerin eigens für die Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Pasquart produziert hat. Die Bilder von 2016 veranschaulichen Luutonens Umgang mit Zweidimensionalität und Räumlichkeit sowie ihre Auffassung von Repräsentation. Deren Erforschung erstreckte sich bereits zu dieser Zeit auf die Oberfläche des Papiers, das die Künstlerin manchmal als Relief behandelte und mittels Markierungen auf der Rückseite Formen auf der Oberfläche hervortreten liess. In Zeiten ständiger Inputs, verschlüsselter Themen, wechselhaftem Klima und einer möglichen Apokalypse konzentrierte sie sich in dieser Werkgruppe auf das Oszillieren zwischen Angst und Ekstase. Auch das Papier gewann an Bedeutung, wenn es sich als Hintergrund in den Raum einfügt oder sich am Boden wie eine geheime Schriftrolle zusammenrollt. Ausgehend von dieser grundsätzlich ebenen Fläche beschäftigte sich die Künstlerin in den Gemälden von 2016 auch mit Vorstellungen von geschlossenen Räumen. Zimmer, in denen wir leben, aus welchen wir hinausschauen, wo Materielles und Digitales zunehmend zu verschmelzen scheint, oder wo Kunst präsentiert wird – in diesen Arbeiten wurde die Oberfläche zu einem Gefäss für Erzählungen und Gedanken und der Ausstellungsraum zu einer Bühne für ein Entstehen und Entschwinden.

In der Serie Patch hat Luutonen die Grenzen der traditionellen Malerei aufgebrochen, um Räumlichkeit durch Farbe, Licht und mediale Experimente zu erzeugen. Sie kombinierte hier Maltechniken mit Druckverfahren, digitaler Bearbeitung und der Aneignung von Bildern und verfolgte so einen Prozess von Abkürzungen, Fehlern und Experimenten, um letztlich zu einer präziseren und klareren Form der ursprünglichen Idee zu gelangen. Die schillernde Visualität und sinnliche Verwendung von Material und Oberfläche kamen auf diese Weise zum Ausdruck. Gleichzeitig begann die Künstlerin, unkonventionelle Präsentationsformen der Werke im Ausstellungsraum zu erproben.

Die neuen Gemälde aus der zweiten Hälfte des Jahres 2018 befassen sich alle mit Themen der Vorstellung und dem, was am Rand dieses Bereichs geschieht. Dies umfasst die körperliche Wahrnehmung ebenso wie das Sehen und die Augen im Allgemeinen. Ähnlich zu den sogenannten «Mouches volantes» – die auf der Netzhaut vorkommen können und den Eindruck erwecken, als würde man schwebende Linien, verschwommene dunkle Bereiche und insektenähnliche Formen sehen – macht Luutonen Arbeiten, die «doppelt sehen» lassen oder Partikel zeigen, die auf der Oberfläche treiben oder ausserhalb der Bildschärfe liegen. Während dies das psychologische und ästhetische Feld ist, in dem die Künstlerin derzeit tätig ist, befasst sie sich in ihrer Malerei mit Themen der Wiederholung, der Worte, der Langeweile, der Müdigkeit, der Freizeit und der Meditation. Die grösseren Gemälde erkunden Räume, die sowohl als Aussen- wie Innenbereiche, von Menschen konstruiert oder als Zwischenräume gelesen werden können. Die kleineren Werke sind eher persönliche Aufzeichnungen und erinnern an Nahaufnahmen und flüchtige Momente.

Die Ausstellung Patch im Kunsthaus Pasquart ist die erste Präsentation von Maija Luutonens Arbeit in der Schweiz. Die Ausstellung ist eine Kooperation mit dem Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / The Finnish National Gallery in Helsinki. Luutonens Werkgruppe Patch (2018) ist die erste einer Serie von neuen Arbeiten aufstrebender, in Finnland wohnhafter und arbeitender Kunstschaffender, die von Kiasma Commission by Kordelin in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Kiasma Commission by Kordelin wurde initiiert vom Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma in Helsinki mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Alfred Kordeli Foundation, Helsinki.

Maija Luutonen hat an der Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Paris sowie an der Finnish Academy of Fine Art studiert und lebt und arbeitet heute in Helsinki. Einzelausstellungen hatte sie in Finnland, Dänemark und Lettland. Die Präsentation im Kunsthaus Pasquart ist ihre bisher umfangreichste Einzelausstellung.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 28.2.2019, 18:00   (fr)    Valentine Yerly, Kunstvermittlerin

Do 7.3.2019, 18:00    (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

MAIJA LUUTONEN – PATCH, Ausstellungsansichten Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019
Fotos: Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist