Lade Veranstaltungen
Susan Morris, SunDial:NightWatch_Activity and Light 2010–2012 (Tilburg Version), 2014, Jacquard: cotton, linen yarn, 155 x 589 x 4 cm, Stiftung Kunsthaus-Sammlung Pasquart; Foto: Stefan Rohner

KALÉIDOSCOPE

CURRENT VIEWS ON THE 30 YEARS OF COLLECTION

4.7.–6.9.2020

Exhibition opening (without vernissage): Sat 4.7.2020, 11:00am, free entry the whole day

Marking its 30th jubilee this year, the Kunsthaus looks back to 30 years of collecting activity, concentrating on highlights. Oriented at the beginning towards regional art, the Kunsthaus-Collection has focused for several years on works by international artists shown in an exhibition at the Kunsthaus. Today the collection numbers over 1800 works.

Kaleidoscope means «seeing beautiful forms», but its play with forms goes beyond its meaning: the Kaleidoscope inspires us to reflect on other perspectives. It combines fragments in new forms and produces a multiplicity of different ways of seeing things that connect or recoil from each other. The exhibition presents new acquisitions, works that have rarely been seen or are familiar, series of works or individual pieces. The variety reflects the changing views of those protagonists who have helped mould the collection, but also the role of donations in defining new emphases. In this encounter between works there can emerge on the one hand relationships or correspondences; on the other hand the individual pieces often have little in common. The testing of constellations and contemporary perspectives on the collection allow new contexts to emerge.

It was important to us to expand our views on the 30 years of collection with the work of contemporary artists from Biel. The personal, artistic response of Béatrice Gysin, Katrin Hotz, Jeanne Jacob and Simon Ledergerber to selected works creates a lively dialogue with the collection.

Béatrice Gysin (b. 1947 in Zurich, lives and works in Biel) juxtaposes smaller drawings and objects with the 17 heliogravures from Markus Raetz’ portfolio Ombre (2007). The artist meticulously selected existing works from her own archive, in which she found parallels, similarities or affinities with Raetz’ graphic work. Presented as an installation on tables, the combination creates a contrast, however the subject of seeing accompanies both artists, who question in their work the way perception becomes an everyday routine. The result is a quiet, poetic room which invites the viewer’s gaze to sweep over the textures of drawings and hilly alabaster landscapes, to follow the precise lines and discover forms that emerge over and again. The juxtaposition demands intense observation from the viewer for narratives, equivalences or sensuous encounters to open. As a second juxtaposition, Béatrice Gysin selected the sculptural drawing by Anna Barriball Untitled V (2008), to which she reacts with a three-dimensional drawing on wood and glass.

Katrin Hotz (b. 1976 in Glarus, lives and works in Biel) encounters the Kunsthaus-Collection with large and small format pen and ink drawings from the period 2011-13. The works in her series Occhi (2013) are formed from net structures and lozenges, empty white spaces or black circles which she develops with quick, rhythmical marks. Her forms break out of the geometrical rigour and recall instead meshwork or organic structures. The artist places these moving forms in a dialogue with Clare Goodwin’s paintings Graham (2013) and Howard (2016), whose precise and clearly delineated colour fields Goodwin counters with narratives from a social reality by entitling her compositions with names of people. Next to these, in the same room, are abstract works by Heinz-Peter Kohler, which unexpectedly enter into a relationship with these other paintings and drawings. Katrin Hotz finds in Rebecca Horn’s Bleistift-Flügel (1988) a formal relationship with works from her series Pickles (2011-13). These are vague formations of thoughts and gentle structures that stand out against the white background and give the impression of escaping the space of the picture at any moment. In another part of the exhibition Hotz’ burning tower Vergessen das Vergessen nicht (2007) enters into conversation with Martin Ziegelmüller’s 5th cycle Teilchenbeschleuniger (2013-14).

The painter Jeanne Jacob (b. 1994 in Neuchâtel, lives and works in Biel) has produced several new works for the exhibition, with which she in various ways reacts to artists in the collection, such as Rebecca Horn, Klodin Erb or Francisco Sierra. She paints intuitively and surfaces, forms and figures are often superimposed until the artist arrives at a result through the painting process. In the foyer she combines Party, Party (2020) with San Keller’s Stammtisch (2007). The two figures seem to be caught in a moment between fun and boredom. Jacob paints people and bodies, unstaged and caught in an everyday matter-of-factness; senuous and intimate, without appearing pornographic. The are situated in a kind of state of uncertainty, in which ideals are subverted and contraditions are possible. In the Galeries we encounter 99 Mickeys, which Jacob has made in response to Markus Raetz’ sculpture Form im Raum (1991-92). By giving the icon 99 faces, her work Fluide Mickey (2020) dissolves the idealised and stereotypical image of Mickey Mouse. The varied emotions of the mouse faces make different characteristics visible. Jacob gives the fictive character a personality and thus transforms the collective into the individual.

Simon Ledergerber (b. 1977 in Brunnen, lives in Zurich and works in Biel) chose from the Kunsthaus-Collection the work from white earth (1993) by the Dutch artist herman de vries. Here the landscape is depicted not as an image, but in the form of earth rubbings on paper, that join together as a minimalistic presentation of monochromes. At the centre of his practice is nature as a space of life and experience. Simon Ledergerber juxtaposes with this work his sculpture Vor dem Gesetze (nach Kafkas Text) (2019), with which he refers to Franz Kafka’s parable of the doorkeeper. He works primarily with natural materials and is concerned with processes and questions of formation. At the heart of his work is the consideration of how to give a form to raw material, without dominating its features, but rather incorporating that which is already inherent in the material. In this way, his works are often situated in the field of tension between nature and artificiality.

 

Project Till Velten in the Collections Room and the NMB Neues Museum Biel

As a satellite project the artist Till Velten (b. 1961 in Wuppertal, Germany, lives and works in Zurich and Berlin) presents in the Collections Room of the Kunsthaus his curatorial project TAUSCHEN. A work by Till Velten. In the collaboration with the NMB he created an exchange of works from both collections, which he presents in each case in the other institution. By showing works from the Kunsthaus-Collection in the NMB and vice versa he aims to show how the boundaries between the applied arts housed in the NMB and the so-called free art collected in the Kunsthaus are blurred. From the exchange between the institutions there emerges a changed perspective: it becomes clear how strongly a work is determined by its environment and the perception of viewers. The work is extended by two video interviews with the directors and curators of the two institutions who are confronted  with their power to bring works of art out of their sleep in the storage and place them for a certain time in the focus of perception.

Curators of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director, and Stefanie Gschwend, associate curator Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Artists’ talk

Sun 5.7.2020, 14:00 (dt)                Béatrice Gysin, Katrin Hotz and Jeanne Jacob in conversation with Felicity Lunn and Stefanie Gschwend.

Guided tours

Thurs 13.8.2020, 18:00  (fr)             Laura Weber, art historian. Followed by a concert.

Thurs 3.9.2020, 18:00    (dt)            Felicity Lunn and Stefanie Gschwend, curators of the exhibition

With the kind support of the Foundation Kunsthaus-Collection Pasquart.

Lade Veranstaltungen
Susan Morris, SunDial:NightWatch_Activity and Light 2010–2012 (Tilburg Version), 2014, Jacquard: Baumwolle, Leinengarn, 155 x 589 x 4 cm, Stiftung Kunsthaus-Sammlung Pasquart; Foto: Stefan Rohner

KALÉIDOSCOPE

PERSPEKTIVEN AUF 30 JAHRE SAMMLUNG

4.7.–6.9.2020

Eröffnung der Ausstellung (ohne Vernissage): Sa 4.7.2020, 11:00, ganzer Tag Gratiseintritt

Im Zeichen unseres 30. Jubiläums schauen wir zurück auf 30 Jahre Sammlungstätigkeit. Zu Beginn auf regionale Kunst ausgerichtet, liegt der Fokus seit einigen Jahren auf Werken internationaler Kunstschaffender, deren Arbeiten Teil einer Ausstellung im Kunsthaus waren. Heute zählt die Kunsthaus-Sammlung Pasquart über 1800 Werke.

Kaleidoskop bedeutet «schöne Formen sehen», sein Formenspiel weist aber über seine Wortbedeutung hinaus: Das Kaleidoskop regt an, sich über Perspektiven Gedanken zu machen. Es setzt Fragmente zu neuen Gestalten zusammen und erzeugt eine Vielzahl verschiedener Sichtweisen, die sich verbinden oder voneinander abprallen. Die Ausstellung zeigt Neuzugänge, selten gezeigte und vertraute Arbeiten, zusammenhängende Werkgruppen oder Einzelstücke. Die Vielfalt spiegelt die wechselnden Vorstellungen jener Akteur*innen, welche die Sammlung mitgeformt haben, aber auch Schenkungen, die neue Schwerpunkte legten. In diesem Zusammentreffen von Werken kann es einerseits Beziehungen oder Verflechtungen geben; andererseits hat das Sammelgut oft wenig miteinander zu tun. Das Erproben von Konstellationen und gegenwärtige Blicke auf Gesammeltes lassen neue Kontexte entstehen.

Es ist uns ein Anliegen, unsere Perspektiven auf 30 Jahre Sammlung mit Positionen aktueller Bieler Künstler*innen zu erweitern. Béatrice Gysin, Katrin Hotz, Jeanne Jacob und Simon Ledergerber schaffen unterschiedliche Reaktionen auf ausgewählte Werke der Sammlung. Ihr künstlerischer Blick ermöglicht eine lebendige Auseinandersetzung mit dem Bestehenden.

Béatrice Gysin (*1947 in Zürich, lebt und arbeitet in Biel) stellt kleinere Zeichnungen und Objekte den 17 Heliogravuren aus Markus Raetz’ Portfolio Ombre (2007) gegenüber. Sorgfältig wählte die Künstlerin bestehende Arbeiten aus ihrem eigenen Archiv aus, in denen sie Parallelen, Ähnlichkeiten oder Wahlverwandtschaften zu Raetz‘ grafischer Arbeit fand. Installativ auf Tischen präsentiert, bildet die Kombination einen Kontrast, doch die Frage nach dem Sehen begleitet beide Kunstschaffenden, welche die tägliche, zur Routine gewordene Wahrnehmung mit ihren Werken hinterfragen. Entstanden ist ein stiller und poetischer Raum, der einlädt, den Blick über zeichnerische Texturen und hügelige Landschaften von Alabaster schweifen zu lassen, den präzisen Linien zu folgen und Formen, die immer wieder auftauchen, zu entdecken. Die Gegenüberstellung fordert von den Betrachter*innen ein intensives Hinsehen, in dem sich erst Narrationen, Entsprechungen oder sinnliche Begegnungen eröffnen können. Als zweite Gegenüberstellung wählte Béatrice Gysin die skulpturale Zeichnung von Anna Barribals Untitled V (2008), worauf sie mit einer dreidimensionalen Zeichnung auf Holz und Glas reagiert.

Katrin Hotz (*1976 in Glarus, lebt und arbeitet in Biel) begegnet der Kunsthaus-Sammlung mit gross- und kleinformatigen Tuschzeichnungen aus den Jahren 2011-13. Die Werke aus ihrer Serie Occhi (2013) bilden sich aus Netzstrukturen und Rhomben, freien weissen Stellen oder schwarzen Kreisen, die sie in rhythmischem, schnellem Zeichnen entwickelt. Ihre Formen brechen aus der geometrischen Strenge aus und erinnern eher an Geflechte oder organische Strukturen. Diese bewegten Gebilde stellt die Künstlerin in Dialog mit Clare Goodwins Werken Graham (2013) und Howard (2016), deren präzise und klar abgegrenzten Farbflächen Goodwin mittels der Namensgebung ihrer Kompositionen Narrative einer sozialen Realität entgegensetzt. Daneben finden sich im selben Raum Abstraktionen von Heinz-Peter Kohler, die auf unerwartete Weise in Beziehung mit den anderen Werken treten. In Rebecca Horns Bleistift-Flügel (1988) findet Katrin Hotz eine formale Verwandtschaft zu Werken aus ihrer Reihe Pickles (2011-13). Es sind vage Gedankengebilde und sanfte Gefüge, die sich vom weissen Untergrund abheben und wirken, als würden sie jeden Moment dem Bildraum entweichen. An einem anderen Ort tritt Hotz’ brennender Turm Vergessen das Vergessen nicht (2007) in ein Gespräch mit Martin Ziegelmüllers 5. Zyklus Teilchenbeschleuniger (2013-14).

Die Malerin Jeanne Jacob (*1994 in Neuchâtel, lebt und arbeitet in Biel) schuf gleich mehrere neue Werke für die Ausstellung, mit denen sie unterschiedlich auf Künstler*innen der Sammlung, wie Rebecca Horn, Klodin Erb oder Francisco Sierra reagiert. Sie malt intuitiv und oft überlagern sich Flächen, Formen und Figuren, bis die Künstlerin durch den Malprozess zum Resultat findet. Im Foyer kombiniert sie Party, Party (2020) mit San Kellers Stammtisch (2007). Die zwei Figuren scheinen in einem Moment zwischen Lust und Langeweile festgehalten worden zu sein. Jacob malt Menschen und Körper, uninszeniert und in einer alltäglichen Selbstverständlichkeit eingefangen; sinnlich und intim, ohne dabei pornografisch zu wirken. Sie befinden sich in einer Art Schwebezustand, in dem Ideale unterlaufen werden und Widersprüche möglich sind. In den Galerien begegnen wir 99 Mickeys, die Jacob in Reaktion auf Markus Raetz’ Skulptur Form im Raum (1991-92) geschaffen hat. Ihr Werk Fluide Mickey (2020) löst das idealisierte und stereotypische Abbild von Mickey Mouse auf, indem die Künstlerin der Ikone 99 Gesichter gibt. Die facettenreichen Emotionen der Mausgesichter machen unterschiedliche Charakterzüge sichtbar. Jacob personifiziert die Kunstfigur und transformiert so das Kollektive ins Individuelle.

Simon Ledergerber (*1977 in Brunnen, lebt in Zürich und arbeitet in Biel) wählte aus der Kunsthaus-Sammlung das Werk from white earth (1993) des niederländischen Künstlers herman de vries. Darin zeigt sich die Landschaft nicht bildlich, sondern in Form von Erdabrieben auf Papier, die sich zu einer minimalistischen Präsentation von Monochromen zusammenfügen. Im Zentrum seines Schaffens steht die Natur als Lebens- und Erfahrungsraum. Simon Ledergerber stellt diesem Werk seine Arbeit Vor dem Gesetze (nach Kafkas Text) (2019) gegenüber, mit dem er auf Franz Kafkas Türhüterparabel verweist. Er arbeitet meist mit natürlichen Materialien, beschäftigt sich mit Arbeitsprozessen und mit Fragen der Formwerdung. Rohmaterial in eine Form zu bringen, ohne seine Eigenschaft zu dominieren, sondern das miteinzubeziehen, was im Material bereits angelegt ist, steht im Fokus des Künstlers. So finden sich seine Werke oft im Spannungsfeld zwischen Natur und Künstlichkeit.

Projekt Till Velten im Sammlungsraum und im NMB Neues Museum Biel

Als Seitenprojekt präsentiert der Künstler Till Velten (*1961 in Wuppertal, D, lebt und arbeitet in Zürich und Berlin) im Sammlungsraum des Kunsthauses sein kuratorisches Projekt TAUSCHEN. Eine Arbeit von Till Velten. In der Zusammenarbeit mit dem NMB schuf er einen Austausch von Werken aus den beiden Sammlungen, die er am jeweilig anderen Ort präsentiert. Indem er Werke aus der Kunsthaus-Sammlung im NMB ausstellt und umgekehrt, möchte er aufzeigen, wie die Grenzen zwischen den angewandten Künsten, die im NMB beheimatet sind, und der sogenannten freien Kunst, gesammelt im Kunsthaus, verschwimmen. Aus dem Institutionentausch ergibt sich ein veränderter Blick: Es zeigt sich, wie stark ein Werk durch seine Umgebung und die Wahrnehmung der Betrachter*innen bestimmt wird. Die Arbeit wird ergänzt durch zwei Video-Interviews mit den Direktorinnen und Kuratorinnen der beiden Institutionen, die mit ihrer Macht, Kunstwerke aus dem Schlaf des Depots für eine gewisse Zeit in den Fokus der Wahrnehmung zu rücken, konfrontiert werden.

Kuratorinnen der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin, und Stefanie Gschwend, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Künstlerinnengespräch

So 5.7.2020, 14:00 (dt)                Béatrice Gysin, Katrin Hotz und Jeanne Jacob im Gespräch mit Felicity Lunn und Stefanie Gschwend.

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 13.8.2020, 18:00  (fr)             Laura Weber, Kunsthistorikerin. Gefolgt von einem Konzert.

Do 3.9.2020, 18:00    (dt)            Felicity Lunn und Stefanie Gschwend, Kuratorinnen der Ausstellung

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Stiftung Kunsthaus-Sammlung Pasquart.