1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Events

Florian Graf

27.1.-31.3.2019

Florian Graf (b. 1980, CH) examines in his work themes connected with architecture and landscape architecture and thus investigates the psychological and emotional impact of spaces. Via sculpture, installation, drawing, video or photography he creates moments of poetic density, in which the borders between reality and imagination are dissolved. In the garden of the Kunsthaus Florian Graf has installed three concrete sculptures, each constructed from three very different basic forms. A circle, an L-form and a jagged figure also function as the building blocks of ceramic models, a photographic work and a series of drawings. Applied in a variety of ways, these structures differ from each other in terms of their composition, size and placement and make reference to the artist’s considerations of new modular social structures. Finally, he has connected these three forms to create large-scale sculptures in aluminium, staging these spectacularly in the monumental Salle Poma. The further exhibition spaces are transformed by the artist into a living situation, in which his seemingly documentary films are presented alongside the other works. In these Graf plays his alter ego, the action artist Graphenheim, thereby parodying himself. Between conceptual logic, visionary power and subtle humour, Florian Graf examines the appropriation of bodies, role models and living spaces, creating a lively construct from imagination, materiality and temporality.

In his most comprehensive solo exhibition to date Florian Graf accords the drawing books (1988-2018) a central significance, thereby giving us insight into his artistic thought processes. Situated between idea and work, these books acquire a special meaning, since they serve simultaneously as an explanatory model for his work as well as for his stance as an artist. Their content spans sketches for sculptures to conceptual experiments. Between observation and imagination, they refer with playful seriousness to the changing nature of social structures and incite us to consider the world with a questioning gaze.

Florian Graf also considers the series Bio Diversity (2018) to be a changeable structure. These works exist in various dimensions and materials and are always composed from a circle, an L-form and a jagged figure. Installed on the grass in front of the Kunsthaus, the concrete figures appear like small buildings, which because of their openings suggest a supposed inner life. The artist produces modifications of these objects in wood in the size of humans. In their allusion to the human body, they almost appear confrontational. The presence of the three large-format objects in the Salle Poma is achieved by the artist through their materiality in aluminium and the asymmetrical installation in the space. Made in three different colours, due to their placement on a base of organic matter they evoke a game between artificiality and naturalness. Graf highlights the multi-faceted character of the model with a three-part group of ceramic objects. Here, however, the model does not take the role of representing the original. It is rather an autonomous work which in the dialogue with its big sisters can be both the design for a future prototype as well as a study subject. We also discover an ambivalence in the photographs, drawings and text works, which in a variety of ways ground these three basic forms in different combinations. Through the aspect of display, materiality or reception Bio Diversity ultimately examines the potential of a changing architectural corpus and thus becomes the leitmotif of the exhibition.

In his videos about the fictional character Olf Graphenheim, Florian Graf shows that the human body can also be regarded as a container of identities and emotions. Played by the artist himself, Graphenheim appears in the videos Air (2010) or Animistic (2015) as an irritating character, creating works of earth-shattering proportions. The witty humour displayed in these videos runs subtly through Florian Graf’s entire œuvre, lending it roguishness and astuteness. These characteristics are also recognisable in the photograph Transfixed (2011). We see here a hammer in which a nail is fixed. Intuitively we ask ourselves how this is possible, forgetting though that the nail could also have been driven into the wooden handle with another hammer. The work Door in Gray (2018) takes as its theme the image in the object and shifts the imagination into reality. When we consider the framed work from a certain distance, it appears to be a photograph. It is only when we approach the work that we recognise that it is in fact a framed door. As observers we are included via our movement and response as part of the work.

Beyond questions concerning the contemplation of art Florian Graf creates with this exhibition a place that questions the museum context as such. When the artist arranges a living situation with furniture placed around the works, an almost cosy environment is created that encourages the visitor to stay and makes us almost forget that we are in an exhibition space. He thus fosters a new way of looking at art and demonstrates that the idea of changeability can be articulated in many different ways.

After studying architecture at the ETH Zürich Florian Graf studied fine art at the Royal Drawing School, London, Edinburgh College of Art and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. He lives and works in Basel. Numerous exhibitions have been dedicated to his work, among others at the Abbatiale de Bellelay (2011), the Zeppelin Museum, Friedrichshafen (2012) and the Kunsthalle St. Gallen (2015). Prizes and awards include: Cahier d’Artistes (2010), Fellow of the Sommerakademie, Zentrum Paul Klee (2012), 2013 Swiss Art Award (2013) and Residency Künstlerhaus Schloss Balmoral (2018). The presentation at Kunsthaus Pasquart is his most comprehensive solo exhibition to date.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 28.2.2019, 6pm (fr)    Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 7.3.2019, 6pm  (dt)   Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Artist’s talk

Thurs 21.3.2019, 6pm (dt)   Florian Graf in conversation with Felicity Lunn

FLORIAN GRAF, exhibition views Kunsthaus Centre d’ art Pasquart 2019
Fotos: Anita Vozza; Courtesy the artist

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Veranstaltungen

Florian Graf

27.1.-31.3.2019

Florian Graf (*1980, CH) beleuchtet in seiner künstlerischen Arbeit Themen der Architektur sowie Landschaftsarchitektur und untersucht dabei die psychologische und emotionale Wirkung von Räumen. Mit Skulptur, Installation, Zeichnung, Video oder Fotografie schafft er Momente der poetischen Verdichtung, in welcher sich die Grenzen zwischen Wirklichkeit und Vorstellung auflösen. Im Garten des Kunsthauses installiert Florian Graf drei Skulpturen aus Beton, welche jeweils aus drei sehr unterschiedlichen Grundformen zusammengefügt sind. Ein Kreis, eine L-Form und eine gezackte Figur bilden auch die Bausteine von Keramikmodellen, einer fotografischen Arbeit oder einer Zeichnungsserie. Variantenreich angewendet, unterscheiden sich diese Formengebilde voneinander in Beschaffenheit, Massstab und Inszenierung und verweisen auf Überlegungen des Künstlers zu neuen modularen Gesellschaftsstrukturen. Schliesslich schafft er in der Verbindung dieser drei Formen meterhohe Skulpturen aus Aluminium und inszeniert sie spektakulär in der monumentalen Salle Poma. Die weiteren Ausstellungsräume deutet der Künstler in eine Wohnsituation um, in der neben den anderen Werken auch seine dokumentarisch wirkenden Filme gezeigt werden. Graf spielt darin sein Alter Ego, den Aktionskünstler Graphenheim und parodiert sich damit selbst. Zwischen konzeptueller Logik, visionärer Kraft und feinem Humor untersucht Florian Graf die Aneignung von Körpern, Rollenbildern und Behausungen und schafft ein lebendiges Gefüge aus Imagination, Materialität und Zeitlichkeit.

In seiner umfassendsten Einzelausstellung bisher lässt Florian Graf den Zeichnungsbüchern (1988 – 2018) einen zentralen Stellenwert zukommen und gewährt uns damit einen Einblick in seine künstlerische Denkweise. Zwischen Idee und Werk verortet, kommt diesen Büchern eine besondere Bedeutung zu, da sie gleichermassen als Erklärungsmodell für seine Werke wie auch für seine Haltung als Künstler dienen. Ihr Inhalt reicht von Skizzen für Skulpturen bis hin zu konzeptuellen Experimenten. Zwischen Beobachtung und Vorstellung verweisen sie mit spielerischer Ernsthaftigkeit auf die Wandelbarkeit von Gesellschaftsordnungen und regen uns an, die Welt mit einem fragenden Blick zu betrachten.

Auch die Arbeiten der Werkgruppe Bio Diversity (2018) versteht Florian Graf als wandelbare Gefüge. Diese Werke existieren in unterschiedlichsten Dimensionen sowie Materialien und setzen sich immer aus Kreis, L-Form und gezackter Figur zusammen. Im Grünen vor dem Kunsthaus installiert, wirken die Figuren aus Beton wie kleine Gebäude, die aufgrund ihrer Öffnungen auf ein vermeintliches Innenleben schliessen lassen. Abwandlungen dieser Objekte fertigt der Künstler in der Grösse von Menschen aus Holz an. In der Anlehnung an den menschlichen Körper wirken sie dabei beinahe konfrontativ. Die Präsenz der drei grossformatigen Objekte in der Salle Poma erzielt der Künstler durch deren Materialität aus Aluminium und die asymmetrische Setzung im Raum. In drei unterschiedlichen Farben gehalten, evozieren sie aufgrund der Platzierung auf organischem Untergrund ein Spiel zwischen Künstlichkeit und Natürlichkeit. Die Vieldeutigkeit des Modells veranschaulicht Graf mit einer dreiteiligen Objektgruppe aus Keramik. Das Modell nimmt hier aber nicht eine stellvertretende Funktion für das Original ein. Es ist vielmehr ein autonomes Werk, das im Dialog mit seinen grossen Geschwistern sowohl Entwurf eines zukünftigen Prototyps als auch Studienobjekt sein kann. Eine Ambivalenz entdecken wir auch in den Fotografien, Zeichnungen und Textarbeiten, die auf vielgestaltige Weise diese drei Grundformen in verschiedenen Zusammenhängen verorten. Unter den Aspekten des Displays, der Materialität oder der Rezeption untersucht Bio Diversity schliesslich das Potenzial eines wandelbaren Architekturkörpers und wird so zum roten Faden der Ausstellung.

Florian Graf zeigt in seinen Videos rund um den fiktiven Charakter Olf Graphenheim, dass auch der menschliche Körper als Gefäss von Identitäten und Emotionen gesehen werden kann. Gespielt vom Künstler selbst, tritt Graphenheim in den Videos Air (2010) oder Animistic (2015) als irritierender Charakter in Erscheinung und schafft Werke von weltbewegendem Ausmass. Der geistreiche Humor, der in diesen Videos offenkundig wird, zieht sich subtil durch Florian Grafs gesamtes Schaffen und verleiht seinem Œuvre Schalk und Scharfsinn. Merkmale, die auch in der Fotografie Transfixed (2011) erkennbar sind. Darauf sehen wir einen Hammer, in dem ein Nagel steckt. Intuitiv stellen wir uns die Frage, wie das möglich ist, wobei wir dabei vergessen, dass der Nagel auch mit einem anderen Hammer in den Holzgriff geschlagen hätte werden können. Die Arbeit Door in Gray (2018) thematisiert das Bild im Objekt und verschiebt die Vorstellung in die Wirklichkeit hinein. Wenn wir das gerahmte Werk aus einer gewissen Distanz betrachten, wirkt es wie eine Fotografie. Erst wenn wir uns der Arbeit nähern, erkennen wir, dass es sich tatsächlich um eine gerahmte Tür handelt. Als Betrachter und Betrachterinnen werden wir über unsere Bewegung und Haltung zur Arbeit als Teil des Werks miteinbezogen.

Über Fragen zur Betrachtung von Kunst hinaus schafft Florian Graf mit dieser Ausstellung einen Ort, der den musealen Kontext an sich befragt. Wenn der Künstler mit Möbeln um die Werke herum eine Wohnsituation gestaltet, entsteht eine beinahe gemütliche Umgebung, die zum Verweilen anregt und uns fast vergessen lässt, dass wir uns in einem Ausstellungsraum befinden. Er fördert damit eine neue Sichtweise auf die Kunst und zeigt auf, dass sich die Idee der Wandelbarkeit in einem mehrfachen Sinn artikulieren lässt.

Nach einem Architekturstudium an der ETH Zürich hat Florian Graf bildende Kunst an der Royal Drawing School, London, am Edinburgh College of Art und der School of the Art Institute of Chicago studiert. Er lebt und arbeitet in Basel. Zahlreiche Einzelausstellungen hatte er u.a. an der Abbatiale de Bellelay (2011), am Zeppelin Museum, Friedrichshafen (2012) und an der Kunsthalle St. Gallen (2015). Preise und Auszeichnungen sind u.a.: Cahier d’Artistes (2010), Fellow der Sommerakademie, Zentrum Paul Klee (2012), 2013 Swiss Art Award (2013) und Residency Künstlerhaus Schloss Balmoral (2018).

Die Präsentation im Kunsthaus Pasquart ist seine bisher umfangreichste Einzelausstellung.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 28.2.2019, 18:00   (fr)    Valentine Yerly, Kunstvermittlerin

Do 7.3.2019, 18:00    (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Künstlergespräch

Do 21.3.2019, 18:00   (dt)   Florian Graf im Gespräch mit Felicity Lunn