Lade Veranstaltungen

ASTA GRÖTING

Where do you see yourself in 20 years?

22.9.-24.11.2019

Asta Gröting’s (b. 1961, Germany) exhibition combines objects from the beginning of her career in the 1990s, which turn the inside outside, with new sculptures and videos focusing on the physical and psychological deconstruction of the human body. Whether via the space created by lovers having sex or the holes made by bullets during World War II in the facades of buildings in Berlin, Gröting reveals the inner voice of things. She inverts the lexicon of monumental sculpture to draw our attention to absence and the physical and emotional gaps between people and things. Whether based on family members, friends, or historical figures, Gröting’s work across media seeks to cast abstract qualities such as thought, intimacy, dignity, mourning, conflict and subjectivity. Her ongoing engagement with gaps, interior spaces, and inner organs conceptually and emotionally questions the social body by taking something away from it and allowing this absence to do the talking.

Gröting’s on-going inquiry into the hidden spaces of the body and the emotive charge they exude informs the sculptures entitled Space Between Lovers (2014-15), which employ polyurethane and silicon to depict a moment of intimacy. For the body of works, Berliner Fassaden (2016–18), Gröting cast the facades of public buildings damaged by WWII in silicone. Revealing not only the architectural structure, but also the dust and dirt accumulated over decades in the bullet holes, the process can be understood as a protest against forgetting. The Fassaden function as a sculptural “slow exposure”, bringing the 20th century into the 21st in one single moment. The three new videos also emphasise slowness, as well as the poignancy of mundane objects and actions. Projected large-scale, they recall tableaux vivants or Old Master still life paintings.

In her richly diverse artistic practice, which she has been developing since the mid-1980s, Asta Gröting translates invisible or ignored elements of the human condition into sculptures. On both an emotional and a conceptual level her work addresses the role of the body in personal, collective and political contexts. Gröting’s probing of the intimate depths of the body began in the 1990s when she cast human and animal digestive systems in materials such as glass and silicone. Emancipated from the confines of the body, Verdauungswege (1990) not only exposes a part of the its unfamiliar interior, but also gestures towards the more sensual aspects of the intestinal nervous system—splayed on the floor in front of us is the body’s “second brain”, which ancient philosophers claimed was the home of the soul. Gröting continues her inquiry into the hidden spaces of the body and the emotive charge they exude in her series of sculptures entitled Space Between Lovers, which employ materials like polyurethane and silicon to depict a moment of intimacy. To create the work, Gröting literally cast two actors while they were having sex. On first glance, the smooth white silicone of Space Between Lovers, Unfolded (2008) seems to resemble a delicate shell rather than two human forms. A closer look reveals a man and a woman inextricably bound together. Prised open, the contours of their bodies appear as a negative void, yet the sculpture also reveals the unexpressed, inexpressible and hidden issues of relationships. Other works are a monument to more collective forms of absence, loss and time passing, notably Bodenplatte (2013), a series of sculptures inspired by Rodin’s Burghers of Calais. Gröting molded the base of Rodin’s sculpture in his studio in Meudon, modeling the places where the robes and feet of the six city leaders who offered their lives for the city of Calais in the Hundreds Years’ War touched the base of the sculpture.

Asta Gröting reveals not only the things that can’t normally be seen, but also those we don’t want to see, whether the conveyor belt from a coal mine, recontextualised in Reifen (1987) as a sculptural object, or Reclining Figure 2 (2018), a cast of a sleeping bag, its tangled and cocoon-like appearance conveying the fragility of the human form. Her decision to work with a particular material is always determined by the story behind each sculpture. Affentanz 6 (1987-2015), for example, was inspired by 1980s leather jackets. Gröting decided to bring the narrative full circle by changing the upright, human form of the jacket back into animals walking on all fours. Feuerstelle (2011) similarly turns the inside out: three logs made of glass glow red where they meet in the middle, conveying the heat of fire which is necessary for the production of glass.

For her most recent body of works, Berliner Fassaden (2016–2018), Gröting cast in silicone the facades of public buildings damaged by the Second World War. When the silicone is removed from the building, it reveals not only impressions of the façade’s architectural structure, but also pulls the depth of its bullet holes out onto its surface—forming bulbous protuberances that also include bits of sandstone particles, dirt, and dust that had collected in the holes over the decades. As such structures are rapidly being renovated as part of urban renewal – as well as post-war Germany’s ongoing attempt to rid its urban surfaces from remnants of the war – Gröting’s forensic approach to Berlin’s damaged facades can be understood in this context as a protest against forgetting. Equally monumental in scale and atmosphere are the three videos made for this exhibition. First Drink (2018) is an homage to the simple ritual of the drink each of us chooses to start the day, yet this work too condenses past and present via the physical and intensely human experience of objects, places and time passing.

Exhibition curator

Felicity Lunn

Guided tour

Thurs 24.10.2019, 18:00 (dt)        Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Asta Gröting, First Drink, 2019, video, 17 min, with audio; Courtesy the artist and carlier | gebauer; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Asta Gröting, exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019. Photos: Lia Wagner

Lade Veranstaltungen

ASTA GRÖTING

Where do you see yourself in 20 years?

22.9.-24.11.2019

Asta Grötings (*1961, D) Ausstellung vereint ihre frühen Arbeiten, die das Innen nach aussen kehren, und neue Skulpturen und Videos, in denen die Künstlerin die physische und psychische Dekonstruktion des menschlichen Körpers befragt. Ob mit dem Abbilden des Raums, welcher durch die Körper von Liebespaaren während des Geschlechtsverkehrs geschaffen wird, oder dem Sichtbarmachen der Einschusslöcher, die sich im Zweiten Weltkrieg in die Gebäudefassaden Berlins eingeschrieben haben, offenbart Gröting das Innere der Dinge. Sie unterwandert den Duktus monumentaler Skulptur und lenkt unseren Blick auf das nicht Vorhandene sowie auf körperliche und emotionale Lücken und Brüche zwischen Menschen und Dingen. Familienmitglieder, Freunde oder historische Persönlichkeiten dienen Gröting als Modelle, anhand derer sie mit ihrer medienübergreifenden Arbeit abstrakte Qualitäten wie Gedanken, Intimität, Würde, Konflikt und Subjektivität untersucht. Mit ihrer kontinuierlichen Auseinandersetzung mit Lücken, Innenräumen und Innereien hinterfragt sie den Körper als soziales Konstrukt konzeptionell und emotional: Indem sie ihm etwas wegnimmt und dieser Abwesenheit erlaubt, Inhalt zu sein. Auch die drei neuen Videos thematisieren das Verhältnis von Gegenstand und Körper: Die Künstlerin setzt alltägliche Objekte und banale Handlungen in Szene und fokussiert damit deren eindringliche Präsenz und berührende Intensität. Grossformatig projiziert, erinnern sie an Tableaux vivants oder an Stillleben Alter Meister.

In ihrer vielfältigen künstlerischen Praxis, die sie seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre verfolgt, übersetzt Asta Gröting unsichtbare oder übersehene Elemente des menschlichen Zustandes in Skulpturen. Ihre Arbeit beschäftigt sich sowohl auf emotionaler als auch auf konzeptioneller Ebene mit der Rolle des Körpers in persönlichen, kollektiven und politischen Kontexten. Grötings Erforschung der intimen Tiefen des Körpers begann in den 90er Jahren, als sie menschliche und tierische Verdauungssysteme in Materialien wie Glas und Silikon goss. Verdauungswege (1990) enthüllt nicht nur einen Teil des unbekannten Inneren, sondern verweist auch auf die sinnlicheren Aspekte des intestinalen Nervensystems – auf dem Boden vor uns ausgebreitet liegt dieses «zweite Gehirn» des Körpers, von dem Philosophen der Antike behaupteten, es sei die Heimat der Seele. Gröting führt ihre Auseinandersetzung mit verborgenen Räumen des Körpers und seiner emotionalen Aufgeladenheit in ihrer Skulpturenserie Space Between Lovers fort, in der sie Materialien wie Polyurethan und Silikon verwendet, um einen Moment der Intimität darzustellen. Um das Werk zu realisieren, hat Gröting zwei Schauspieler während des Geschlechtsverkehrs abgeformt. Auf den ersten Blick scheint das glatte weisse Silikon von Space Between Lovers, Unfolded (2008) eher einer zarten Muschel als zwei menschlichen Formen zu ähneln. Bei genauerem Hinsehen sind ein Mann und eine Frau untrennbar miteinander verbunden. Die Konturen ihrer Körper erscheinen als negative Leere, aber die Skulptur offenbart auch die unausgesprochenen, unaussprechlichen und verborgenen Fragen von Beziehungen. Andere Werke sind ein Mahnmal für kollektivere Formen von Abwesenheit, Verlust und Zeitablauf, insbesondere Bodenplatte (2013), einer Reihe von Skulpturen, die von Rodins Bürger von Calais inspiriert sind. Gröting formte in Rodins Atelier in Meudon die Basis der Skulptur ab und modellierte die Stellen, wo die Gewänder und Füsse der sechs Stadtführer – die im Hundertjährigen Krieg ihr Leben für die Stadt Calais opfern wollten – den Boden der Skulptur berühren.

Asta Gröting offenbart nicht nur die Dinge, die normalerweise nicht zu sehen sind, sondern auch jene, die wir nicht sehen wollen, sei es das Förderband aus einer Kohlengrube, rekontextualisiert in Reifen (1987) als skulpturales Objekt, oder die Reclining Figure 2 (2018), ein Abguss eines Schlafsacks, dessen verdrehte und kokonartige Erscheinung die Zerbrechlichkeit der menschlichen Form vermittelt. Ihre Entscheidung, mit einem bestimmten Material zu arbeiten, wird immer von der Geschichte hinter jeder Skulptur beeinflusst. Affentanz 6 (1987-2015) zum Beispiel ist inspiriert von Lederjacken aus den 1980er Jahren. Gröting beschloss, den narrativen Kreis zu schliessen, indem sie die aufrechte, menschliche Form der Jacke wieder in Tiere verwandelte, die auf allen Vieren stehen. Auch Feuerstelle (2011) kehrt das Innere um: Drei Kanthölzer aus Glas leuchten rot, wo sie aufeinandertreffen und implizieren die für die Glasherstellung notwendige Feuerwärme.

Für ihre neuste Serie Berliner Fassaden (2016-2018) formte Gröting die Fassaden der durch den Zweiten Weltkrieg beschädigten öffentlichen Gebäude aus Silikon ab. Wenn das Silikon aus dem Gebäude entfernt wird, enthüllt es nicht nur Abdrücke der architektonischen Struktur der Fassade, sondern zieht auch die Tiefe der Einschusslöcher an seine Oberfläche. Die daraus entstandenen bauchigen Wülste enthalten Sandstein-, Schmutz- und Staubpartikel, die sich im Laufe der Jahrzehnte in den Löchern angesammelt hatten. Da solche Strukturen im Rahmen der Stadterneuerung rasch saniert werden – und durch den fortwährenden Versuch der Nachkriegszeit, die urbanen Oberflächen von den Überresten des Krieges zu befreien – kann Grötings forensischer Umgang mit den beschädigten Fassaden Berlins in diesem Zusammenhang als Protest gegen das Vergessen verstanden werden. Ebenso monumental in Grösse und Atmosphäre sind die drei Videos, die für diese Ausstellung gemacht wurden. First Drink (2018) ist eine Hommage an das einfache Ritual des Getränks, das jeder von uns zu Beginn des Tages wählt. Auch diese Arbeit verdichtet Vergangenheit und Gegenwart durch die physische und intensiv menschliche Erfahrung von Objekten, Orten und Zeitverläufen.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn

Öffentliche Führung

Do 24.10.2019, 18:00 (dt)              Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Asta Gröting, First Drink, 2019, Video, 17 min, mit Ton; Courtesy the artist and carlier | gebauer; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Asta Gröting, Ausstellungsansichten Kunsthaus Pasquart 2019. Fotos: Stefan Rohner