Lade Events

ANNA BARRIBALL

15.4.-10.6.2018

Opening: Sat 14.4.2018, 5pm

Anna Barriball (*1972, GB) makes drawings, sculptures and videos that reveal hidden meanings in the everyday and overlooked. For her drawings of architectural elements, such as doors, windows and walls, she transfers the textured surface into an impression of the object on paper. This time-consuming process results in relief-like images that retain the three-dimensionality of the original material. This relationship between the object and the flat surface also characterises the sculptures she formed by wrapping ink drawings around her own body, as well as the videos she presents in the spatial forms of box monitors. A recent development is Barriball’s introduction of luminous colour, developing from the fluorescent glows added to the edges of drawings to the flooding of videos with coloured tints. This indication of atmosphere or mood continues her subtle transformation of the textures of the domestic environment into a dense language of their inner life.

Anna Barriball’s working method is unusually physical and her experience of time and endurance integral to her drawings and sculptures. The passage of time is perceptible in the lustrous surfaces of her drawings, for which she uses a pencil, paint brush or her fingers to press the paper into the entire surface of the textured object. As a result, her works on paper resemble monochrome shallow relief sculptures and have the effect of autonomous objects rather than depictions of things.

The architectural features that are the subject of many of Barriball’s drawings and videos are familiar to the artist from her home or studio, her translation into three-dimensionality rooted in her experience of it. The effect is sometimes uncanny, for example in the case of the video Draw (fireplace), 2005, where the draft of air in the chimney is made visible by its movement of the tracing paper: it is as though a building is breathing. In contrast to the dense pencil imprints of doors, windows or walls, the works in the series Blinds, 2015-16 are constructed from strips of paper that she has coated in white ink on the front and coloured fluorescent orange or pink on the back. Relating to the artist’s interest in minimalism, they also indicate the presence of light behind the space of the work.

Barriball regards the domestic environment as an extension of ourselves, including what is unseen, felt or perceived.  It is also inextricably connected to memory in her work, particularly the feelings and fantasies of childhood, while half-remembered objects and situations are frequently evoked by chance encounters. Yellow Leaves, 2011 was, for example, inspired by curtains she discovered in a market, identical to those that hung in her 1970s childhood home.

An important element of Barriball’s practice is the relationship between drawing and photography. Like photographs, the drawings are minutely detailed documents, recorded over the entire surface of the paper and without hierarchy of information. For Night Window with Leaves, 2015 Barriball applied many layers of pigment and beeswax picture varnish to achieve an impression of darkness as intense as looking through a window at night. The difficulty of pinning down the many layers of dry pigment mirrors the fugitive subject.

The presence of colour in the work has increased in recent years, from the subtle orange glow around the Sunrise/Sunset drawings, 2014 to the video loops tinted with intense colour. The artist is interested in how this process, originally used in silent cinema, can be employed to charge or heighten the atmosphere of the entire image, for example with temperature, the time of day or a sense of foreboding. Seven different video loops flicker within the space of the monitors. Rhythms in the editing echo the rhythms of the body, breathing, pulsing and blinking. The loops become like a search for something, a spectral play of shadow and reflection.

In Daylight leaf shadows quiver and sway in real time, coming in and out of focus as the sun moves through clouds. The moving image is interrupted with blank frames and tinted the yellow of intensified sunlight. The still photographs in the video loop Moonlight were made at night through the windows of unlit buildings with a digital camera, autofocus and flash. Each time the camera struggled to find something it could focus on. The resulting images were always a surprise: the dust on the surface of the glass, the artist’s reflection or the mirrored flash of the camera’s own light combined with glimpses of the world beyond the window.

The light and strong colour of these recent videos has transferred to the new series, Screen, 2018. Each work is the size of a doorway and each black ink dark leaf space is ‘lit’ by a different colour, with an associated mood. In Fade, 2017 the three-part video installation, colours continually rise over the image, playing with our sense of reality. The atmosphere shifts as does the temperature of the image, but no narrative is offered. The shadow that sweeps anti-clockwise across each projection is reminiscent of the second hand of a clock. This intermittent darkness also evokes the digital scanning, the blinking of the eye or the shutter of a camera: moments in which an image is on the threshold of both visibility and obscuration.

The exhibition at Kunsthaus Pasquart is Anna Barriball’s first solo exhibition in Switzerland.

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, Director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publication accompanying the exhibition

The exhibition is accompanied by an illustrated publication with exhibition shots and texts written by Anna Barriball, Margaret Iversen and Felicity Lunn, published by the Verlag für moderne Kunst (DT / FR / ENG).


Guided tours

Thurs 3.5.2018, 6pm  (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Thurs 17.5.2018, 6pm (fr)    Kathleen Vitor, historienne de l’art

Artist’s talk

Thurs 7.6.2018, 6pm  (eng) Anna Barriball in conversation with Felicity Lunn


Anna Barriball_LOW

Anna Barriball, Fade, 2017, Video / vidéo, Detail / détail; Courtesy the artist and Frith Street Gallery, London; Courtesy Be-Part, platform for contemporary art, Belgium

1970-01-01T00:00:00+00:00
Lade Veranstaltungen
Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

ANNA BARRIBALL

15.4.-10.6.2018

Anna Barriball (*1972, GB) realisiert Zeichnungen, Skulpturen und Videos, welche die verborgenen Bedeutungen im Alltäglichen und im Übersehenen freilegen. Für ihre Zeichnungen architektonischer Elemente wie Türen, Fenster und Mauern überträgt sie strukturreiche Oberflächen als Abdruck auf Papier. Dieser zeitintensive Prozess resultiert in reliefartigen Bildern, welche die Dreidimensionalität des ursprünglichen Materials bewahren. Die Wechselwirkung zwischen Objekt und Fläche ist auch eine Eigenschaft ihrer Skulpturen, für die sie ihren eigenen Körper mit Tuschezeichnungen eingewickelt hat. Ebenso vermögen ihre Videos die Räumlichkeit der Monitore zu aktivieren, auf denen sie gezeigt werden. Eine jüngste Entwicklung in Barriballs Werk ist die Zuwendung zu leuchtenden Farbspektren. Die Ränder ihrer Zeichnungen sind von fluoreszierendem Glühen durchzogen und fliessende Farbebenen überfluten ihre Videos. Die Transformation von Texturen sowie die Andeutung von Atmosphäre und Stimmung entfalten sich in einer Bildsprache, die das Innenleben der Dinge, die uns umgeben, offenbart.

Anna Barriballs Arbeitsmethode ist aussergewöhnlich physisch und ihre Zeitempfindung und Ausdauer sind wesentlicher Bestandteil der Zeichnungen und Skulpturen. Dabei wird der zeitintensive Schaffensprozess in den schimmernden Oberflächen der Zeichnungen erkennbar. Für deren Umsetzung benutzt sie Bleistift, Pinsel oder ihre Finger, um das Papier auf die ganze Fläche des strukturierten Objekts zu pressen. Deshalb gleichen ihre Werke auf Papier monochromen, flachen Reliefskulpturen und sind weniger Darstellungen von Dingen, sondern wirken vielmehr wie eigenständige Objekte.

Die architektonischen Elemente in den Zeichnungen und Videos stammen aus Barriballs gewohnten Lebensraum: ihre Wohnung, ihr Atelier. Die Übersetzung in die zeichnerische Dreidimensionalität wurzelt in ihrer persönlichen Wahrnehmung davon. Die Wirkung ist manchmal unheimlich, wie beispielsweise im Fall von Draw (fireplace) (2005), wo der Luftzug im Kamin durch die Bewegung des Transparentpapiers sichtbar gemacht wird. Es entsteht der Eindruck, als ob ein Gebäude atmen würde. Im Gegensatz zu den dichten Bleistift-Abdrucken von Türen, Fenstern und Wänden sind die Arbeiten der Serie Blinds (2015-16) aus Papierstreifen, die Barriball auf der Vorderseite mit weisser Tusche überzogen und auf der Hinterseite orange oder pink fluoreszierend eingefärbt hat. Sie zeigen die Präsenz von Licht hinter dem Werk und verweisen auf das Interesse der Künstlerin am Minimalismus.

Barriball betrachtet die häusliche Umgebung als eine Erweiterung von uns selbst, die auch das Ungesehene, Gefühlte oder Wahrgenommene beinhaltet. Der Aspekt der Erinnerung in ihrer Arbeit ist also untrennbar verbunden mit dem Umfeld und die damit verbundenen Gefühle und Fantasien der Kindheit spielen eine vordergründige Rolle. Andererseits werden auch halbvergessene Objekte und Situationen durch zufällige Begegnungen in Erinnerung gerufen. Die Installation Yellow Leaves (2011) beispielsweise war inspiriert von Vorhängen, die sie auf einem Markt entdeckte und welche identisch mit denjenigen sind, die in den 1970er-Jahren in ihrem Elternhaus hingen.

Die Beziehung zwischen Zeichnung und Fotografie ist ein zentrales Element in Barriballs Arbeit. Wie Fotografien sind ihre Zeichnungen minutiös detaillierte Dokumente und füllen – ohne Hierarchie von Informationen – die gesamte Oberfläche des Papiers aus. Um einen Eindruck von Dunkelheit zu erreichen, der so intensiv ist, als würde man durch ein Fenster in die Nacht schauen, überlagerte Barriball für Night Window with Leaves (2015) zahllose Schichten von Pigment und Bienenwachslack. Die Schwierigkeit des Fixierens der Schichten von trockenem Pigment widerspiegelt sich in der Flüchtigkeit von Dunkelheit.

Die Präsenz von Farbe in ihrer Arbeit hat in den letzten Jahren zugenommen und zeigt sich sowohl im subtil orangen Glühen um die Ränder der Sunrise/Sunset Zeichnungen (2014) wie auch in den 2013 entstandenen Videoloops, die in intensive Farben getaucht sind. Die Künstlerin interessiert sich hier für ein Mittel, mit welchem die Atmosphäre eines gesamten Bildes – Temperatur, Tageszeit oder Vorahnung – aufgeladen oder gesteigert werden kann. Ein Verfahren, das ursprünglich im Stummfilm angewendet worden ist. Sieben verschiedene Videoloops flackern innerhalb des Raumes der Monitore. Atmend, pulsierend, blinkend widerspiegeln die Rhythmen des Montageschnitts die Bewegungen des Körpers. Die Loops werden zu einer Suche nach Etwas und so zu einem geisterhaften Spiel von Schatten und Reflexionen.

In Echtzeit vibrieren im Werk Daylight (2013) die Schatten der Blätter, bewegt zwischen Schärfe und Unschärfe, während die Sonne durch die Wolken dringt. Das bewegte Bild wird durch weisse Leerstellen unterbrochen und ist von gelbem, intensivem Sonnenlicht durchdrungen. Die Standfotos im Videoloop von Moonlight (2013) wurden mit einer digitalen Kamera, Autofokus und Blitzlicht in der Nacht durch Fenster unbeleuchteter Gebäude hindurch gemacht. Die Kamera kämpfte bei jedem Bild damit, etwas zu finden, das sich fokussieren lässt. Die entstandenen Bilder zeigen jedes Mal eine Überraschung: die Überschichtung von Staub auf der Oberfläche der Glasscheiben, die Reflexion der Künstlerin oder das gespiegelte Blitzlicht der Kamera und die Einblicke in eine Welt hinter den Fenstern.

Die hellen und intensiven Farben dieser jüngsten Videos übertrugen sich auf die neue Serie Screen (2018). Jede Arbeit hat die Grösse einer Türe und jedes tiefschwarze Blatt ist durch eine jeweils andere Farbe « beleuchtet» und an eine bestimmte Stimmung gebunden. In der Dreikanal-Video-Installation Fade (2017) überziehen Farben kontinuierlich das Bild und spielen mit unserem Sinn für die Wirklichkeit. Ohne dass sich eine Narration entwickelt, verändert sich entsprechend der Temperatur des Bildes auch die Atmosphäre darin. Der Schatten, der sich im Gegenuhrzeigersinn über die Projektion bewegt, erinnert an den Sekundenzeiger einer Uhr. Wie ein Wimpernschlag oder der Verschluss einer Kamera, evoziert die zeitweilig einsetzende Dunkelheit auch eine digitale Abtastung: Momente, in denen das Bild an der Schwelle zwischen Sichtbarkeit und Verdunkelung steht.

Die Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Pasquart ist Anna Barriballs erste Einzelausstellung in der Schweiz.

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Publikation zur Ausstellung

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine reichbebilderte Publikation mit Ausstellungsansichten und Texten von Anna Barriball, Margaret Iversen und Felicity Lunn im Verlag für moderne Kunst (DT/FR/ENG). → Publikation Anna Barriball


Öffentliche Führungen

Do 3.5.2018, 18:00    (dt)   Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart

Do 17.5.2018, 18:00   (fr)    Kathleen Vitor, historienne de l’art

Künstlergespräch

Do 7.6.2018, 18:00    (eng) Anna Barriball im Gespräch mit Felicity Lunn


Anna Barriball, Fade, 2017, Video / vidéo, Detail / détail; Courtesy the artist and Frith Street Gallery, London; Courtesy Be-Part, platform for contemporary art, Belgium
Anna Barriball, Ausstellungsansichten / vues d’exposition / exhibition views Pasquart 2018, Fotos / photos: Julie Lovens