Lade Veranstaltungen

The Kunstgesellschaft of the Canton of Berne BKG offers the Louise Aeschlimann and Margareta Corti Grant every year. It is the largest private scholarship for visual artists and is linked to an exhibition that is shown in rotation in four institutions, including the Kunsthaus Pasquart. Participation is open to artists under the age of forty who reside or come from the Canton of Berne. In addition to this year’s selection, the works of 2020 will also be shown in a film portrait.



Selected artists:
Jonas Burkhalter, Ramon Feller, Bastien Gachet & Rebecca Kunz, Matthias Gabi, Eva Maria Gisler, Floyd Grimm, Sybill Häusermann, Lukas Hoffmann, Luc Isenschmid, Sibel Kocakaya, Diego Kohli, Daniel Kurth, Karin Lehmann, Fabio Luks, Robin Mettler, Ivan Mitrovic, Noha Mokhtar, Nina Rieben, Mathias Ringgenberg, Lorenzo Salafia, Jérôme Stünzi, Vera Trachsel

The Louise Aeschlimann and Margareta Corti Grant (AC Grant) is considered one of the most important private funding instruments for visual artists in the Canton of Bern. A total of CHF 50’000 is available to award the main and support grants in 2021. This year’s exhibition will be held at the Kunsthaus Pasquart in Biel.

Since 1942, the Louise Aeschlimann and Margareta Corti Foundation has awarded annual scholarships to artists of the younger generation. The Bernische Kunstgesellschaft BKG is pleased to announce the AC grant again for the year 2021. The call for applications is aimed at artists who have been resident in the Canton of Bern for at least one year or who are entitled to reside in the Canton of Bern. The age limit is set at 40 years. The application for the AC grant follows a two-stage procedure. A jury of five members assesses the submissions and decides on the award of the scholarship. Furthermore, an art-historical text on the artistic work of the respective scholarship holder is commissioned. The first jury round took place on 26 February 2021. From a total of 58 submissions, the jury determined the works for the exhibition in several rounds of detailed discussion. The second jury round will take place on 9 April 2021. From among those invited for the exhibition, the jury will select the winners of the main and sponsorship scholarships.

In addition to this year’s selection, the works from 2020 will also be shown in a video portrait.

Jury 2021

Katrin Sperry, Vorsitz
Stefanie Gschwend, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Kunsthaus Pasquart
Patricia Schneider, Mitglied des Vorstands der Bernischen Kunstgesellschaft BKG, Künstlerin, Bern/Solothurn
Anders Guggisberg, Künstler, Zürich
Peter Wüthrich, Künstler, Bern/Interlaken

Curator of the exhibition

Stefanie Gschwend, associate curator Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Guided tours

Thurs 6.5.2021, 18:00 (dt) Stefanie Gschwend, curator of the exhibition

Thurs 27.5.2021, 18:00 (fr) Fannie Audergon, art historian

Artist’s talk

Thurs 6.5.2021, 19:00 (dt/fr) Artists of the exhibition in conversation with Stefanie Gschwend.

The AC grant of the Bern Art Society BKG is supported by the Louise Aeschlimann and Margareta Corti Foundation and is supported by:

Burgergemeinde Bern | Swisslos – Kultur Kanton Bern

Gil Pellaton, Woo-hoo the chimeric we, 2020, video, Courtesy the artist

Aeschlimann Corti Grant 2020


As the exhibition could not take place, the AC grant holders were portrayed in video clips.

Video portrait KEVIN AESCHBACHER main grant 2020

Video portrait GIL PELLATON main grant 2020

Video portrait MAYA HOTTAREK support grant 2020

Video portrait DANIEL KURTH support grant 2020