Lade Veranstaltungen

Kapwani Kiwanga

Extended until probably 17.5.2020

Kapwani Kiwanga, exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2020; Courtesy the artist, Galerie Poggi, Paris, Galerie Tanja Wagner, Berlin, Goodman gallery, Johannesburg / Cape Town; photos: Stefan Rohner; © Adagp, Paris, 2020

Kapwani Kiwanga’s (b. 1978, CA / FR) artistic process is research-oriented, initiated by marginalised or forgotten histories and political events, which she articulates in her sculptures, installations, photographs and videos. The artist contrasts her research with the expressive materiality of her work, with which she refers to socio-political phenomena, syncretism or the global effects of power structures. The solo show examines Kiwanga’s career via a selection of significant, representative and new works. The exhibition layout can be understood as a narrative that places emphasis on two key aspects: the examination of the impact of disciplinary architecture and spatial elements on the human body and the research into post-colonial stories and narratives that have been handed down, in which truth and fiction are combined.

In our everyday lives we are confronted by spaces that affect and regulate our behaviour. In her work, Kapwani Kiwanga reacts to the power dynamics of architecture and examines the effect of public buildings on the human body. She focuses on design elements such as the colour schemes of rooms in schools, prisons, hospitals or psychiatric clinics. In the exhibition we are immersed at the start in the spatial atmosphere of pink-blue (2017), in which the glowing Baker-Miller pink contrasts with blue neon lamps, referring to the ambivalence between the intention of providing protection and security and disciplinary measures, the control of movement and the limitation of freedom. Kiwanga invites us to reflect on the social effects of the use of colour: do underpasses and public toilets lit with blue lighting really curtail drug use? Are prisoners really calmed by cells painted pink? The colour scheme of institutional interiors is also reflected in the sculptural assemblage Patchwork (2018), the panels of which are based on the two-colour surfaces of sections of walls. Jalousie, (2018) reproduces the structure of a folding screen with blinds. Kiwanga combines the material of two-way mirrors, used in interrogation rooms and certain company rooms, with the familiar form of angled slats. She juxtaposes here the concept of systematic surveillance by authorities with an element of the domestic environment that implies protection, the private sphere and intimacy. The striped shadow might recall a lazy day in the holidays and also refers to the colonial architecture to be found from New England in North America to the tropical climate zones. Kiwanga alludes here in particular to the control of black people, that for a long time was the norm socially and politically and still resonates today. Kiwanga also follows this principle in the two sculptures Glow #6 (2019) and Glow #7 (2019), that take their starting point from the “lantern law” of the colonial period. A law passed in the 18th century in Boston and the whole of New England required all slaves to carry a lit candle after sunset if they weren’t accompanying a white person. It is the architecture of control which informs part of the exhibition, creating the decidedly physical and psychological quality of the relevant built environment. Here the body is subjected to a process of seeing and being seen and has to follow pre-determined lines of movement and spatial structures.

The starting point for Kapwani Kiwanga’s artistic output is in most cases the analysis and research of archival material conveying historical narratives and political events. Her practice is focused particularly on concepts of anti-colonial struggles and their legacy, as well as popular and folk cultures. Arising from this research are works with a strong material quality through which she refers to agriculture or the global effects of colonialisation. Red Sky at Night (2018) refers on the one hand to the expression that comes from the Gospel according to Matthew, “Red sky at night, shepherd’s delight, red sky in the morning, shepherd’s warning”. On the other hand, the artist employs materials used in mass farming as ground cover and the optimisation of climate conditions, in order to increase the profitability of resources. With this shadow cloth Kiwanga implies a relationship between agriculture, power structures through colonialisation and economic viability, in which profit goes hand in hand with dispossession and resettlement. In other cases, she questions the ways in which the writing of history, power systems and the generation of knowledge function, undermining the official understanding of truth by expanding history with popular belief and spirituality. With Nations (2018, 2019) she examines the relationship between spiritual belief and political revolt. Kiwanga creates works from fabric and metal that are based on the formal language of flags or banners. Flags have a double meaning, as a symbol of nation states and as Loa flag, a sacred site in voodoo culture. She refers here to the revolution in Haiti and the role that voodoo played in it. The alternative reading of past and present includes a variety of perspectives, in which ongoing social and political moments are inherent. Kiwanga deliberately mixes truth and fiction in order to unhinge hegemonic narratives and create spaces in which peripheral discourses can thrive.

In 2018 Kapwani Kiwanga was awarded the Sobey Art Award (CA) and the Frieze Artist Award (USA). In 2019 she was nominated for the Prix Marcel Duchamp 2020. She has had solo exhibitions at the MIT List Visual Arts Center, Cambridge (USA); Albertinum Museum, Dresden (DE); Artpace, San Antonio (USA); Esker Foundation, Calgary (CA); Tramway, Glasgow (UK); Fondazione Sandretto Rebaudengo, Turin (IT); Power Plant, Toronto (CA), Logan Center for the Arts, Chicago (USA); South London Gallery, (UK); Jeu de Paume, Paris (FR). Group exhibitions include MACBA, Barcelona (ES); Whitechapel Gallery, London (UK); The Austin Contemporary, Austin (US); Serpentine Galleries, London (UK); Yuz Museum, Shanghai (CHN); National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (CA); Contemporary Arts Museum, Houston (USA); CCA, Derry (UK); Centre Pompidou, Paris (FR); The Contemporary Art Gallery, Vancouver (CA); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (USA).

Kapwani Kiwanga is represented by Galerie Jérôme Poggi, Paris; Galerie Tanja Wagner, Berlin; Goodman Gallery, Johannesburg/Cape Town.

Curator of the exhibition

Stefanie Gschwend, Associate Curator Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication

A publication accompanying the exhibition will be published by the Verlag für moderne Kunst (Engl / Fr / Ger).

Lade Veranstaltungen

Kapwani Kiwanga

Prolongée jusqu’au 14.6.2020

Kapwani Kiwanga, vues d’exposition Centre d’art Pasquart 2020; Courtesy the artist, Galerie Poggi, Paris, Galerie Tanja Wagner, Berlin, Goodman gallery, Johannesburg / Cape Town; photos: Stefan Rohner; © Adagp, Paris, 2020

Fondé sur des recherches, le travail deKapwani Kiwanga  (*1978, CA / FR) questionne des histoires marginalisées ou oubliées, en utilisant formellement plusieurs médiums comme la sculpture, l’installation, la photographie et la vidéo. Elle met en dialogue ce travail de recherche avec la matérialité convaincante de ses œuvres, avec laquelle elle fait référence aux phénomènes sociopolitiques, au syncrétisme ou aux conséquences globales des structures du pouvoir. L’exposition monographique met en lumière la carrière de Kiwanga au moyen d’une sélection d’œuvres majeures, représentatives ou récentes. Le parcours d’exposition fonctionne comme une narration avec deux axes principaux: L’exposition explore l’impact de l’architecture disciplinaire et des éléments spatiaux sur le corps humain. L’artiste examine également des récits postcoloniaux et traditionnels où vérité et fiction se mêlent.

Dans la vie quotidienne, nous rencontrons des espaces qui influencent et régulent notre comportement. Les œuvres de Kapwani Kiwanga se penchent sur la dynamique du pouvoir de l’architecture et étudient l’effet des bâtiments publics sur le corps humain. L’artiste se concentre sur le design, et plus particulièrement, sur la couleur des pièces dans les écoles, les prisons, les hôpitaux ou les institutions psychiatriques. Dans l’exposition, nous plongeons d’abord dans l’atmosphère de pink-blue (2017) dans laquelle le rose Baker-Miller lumineux contraste avec le bleu des néons. Cette ambiance souligne l’ambivalence entre la volonté de protection et la sécurité garantie par des mesures disciplinaires, ainsi que le contrôle de l’espace et la restriction de la liberté. Kiwanga nous invite à réfléchir sur l’impact social de l’utilisation de la couleur: l’éclairage bleu des passages souterrains et des toilettes publiques contribue-t-il vraiment à réduire la consommation de drogues? Est-ce que les prisonniers sont effectivement apaisés par des cellules peintes en rose? La couleur des intérieurs institutionnels est également questionnée dans l’assemblage sculptural Patchwork (2018). Les panneaux de cette œuvre s’inspirent des murs aux surfaces bicolores. Jalousie (2018) reproduit la structure d’un paravent à lamelles. Kiwanga combine le matériau des miroirs sans tain utilisés dans les salles d’interrogatoire et certaines salles d’entreprise. En reprenant la forme familière des lamelles, elle associe ainsi le concept de surveillance systématique des autorités avec un élément de l’environnement domestique qui implique protection, vie privée et intimité. L’ombre rayée rappelle peut-être un après-midi de vacances paresseux et fait également référence à l’architecture coloniale que l’on peut trouver de la Nouvelle-Angleterre nord-américaine jusqu’aux zones climatiques tropicales. Kiwanga fait allusion en particulier à la surveillance des Noirs qui a longtemps été une norme sociale et politique, et dont les effets sont toujours actuels. Kiwanga suit également ce principe dans les deux sculptures Glow #6 (2019) et Glow #7 (2019) qui reviennent sur la «lantern law» (loi de la lanterne) de l’époque coloniale. Une loi adoptée au 18e siècle à Boston et dans toute la Nouvelle-Angleterre exigeait en effet que tous les esclaves portent une bougie allumée après le coucher du soleil s’ils n’étaient pas accompagnés par une personne blanche. C’est l’architecture de contrôle qui façonne une partie de l’exposition et crée une qualité résolument physique et psychologique des alentours du bâtiment. Ici, le corps est soumis à la dictature du voir et de l’être vu, et est obligé de se mouvoir en suivant des lignes et des structures spatiales prédéfinies.

Le point de départ du travail artistique de Kapwani Kiwanga est surtout l’analyse et la recherche de documents d’archives qui transmettent des récits historiques ou des événements politiques. Sa pratique se concentre particulièrement sur les concepts des luttes anticoloniales et leur héritage, ainsi que sur les cultures populaires et folkloriques. Cette recherche a abouti à des travaux d’une puissante matérialité, au travers de laquelle elle évoque l’agriculture ou les effets globaux du colonialisme. Red Sky at Night (2018) fait allusion à l’adage tiré de l’Evangile selon Matthieu «Red sky at night, shepherd’s delight, red sky in the morning, shepherd’s warning» (Ciel rouge la nuit, joie des bergers, ciel rouge le matin, alerte aux bergers). De plus, elle recourt au matériau utilisé dans l’agriculture industrielle à grande échelle pour recouvrir les champs et optimiser les conditions climatiques afin d’augmenter la rentabilité des ressources. Avec ce tissu obscurcissant, Kiwanga suggère une relation entre l’agriculture, la structure du pouvoir mis en place par la colonisation et l’efficacité économique. Cette situation engendre l’expropriation et la délocalisation. Ailleurs, l’artiste remet en question la manière dont fonctionne l’historiographie, les systèmes autoritaires ainsi que la production de savoir, et subvertit la compréhension officielle de la vérité en complétant l’histoire par la croyance populaire et la spiritualité. Avec Nations (2018, 2019), elle examine la relation entre les croyances spirituelles et l’insurrection politique. Kiwanga crée des œuvres en tissu et en métal qui sont orientées vers le langage formel des drapeaux ou des bannières. Le drapeau prend une double signification: il symbolise les États-nations et renvoie au drapeau Loa, un objet sacré dans la culture vaudou. L’artiste fait ainsi référence à la révolution haïtienne et au rôle que le vaudou y a joué. Cette lecture alternative du passé et du présent englobe une diversité de perspectives inhérentes aux moments sociaux et politiques récurrents. Kiwanga mêle délibérément vérité et fiction pour faire vaciller les récits prédominants et créer des espaces dans lesquels les discours oubliés peuvent s’épanouir.

En 2018, Kapwani Kiwanga a reçu le Sobey Art Award (CA) et le Frieze Artist Award (USA). En 2019, elle a été nominée pour le Prix Marcel Duchamp 2020. Des expositions monographiques ont été présentées au MIT List Visual Arts Center, Cambridge (USA); Albertinum Museum, Dresde (DE); Artpace, San Antonio (USA); Esker Foundation, Calgary (CA); Tramway, Glasgow (UK); Fondazione Sandretto Rebaudengo, Turin (IT); Power Plant, Toronto (CA), Logan Center for the Arts, Chicago (USA); South London Gallery, Londres (UK); Jeu de Paume, Paris (FR). Elle a participé à des expositions collectives au MACBA, Barcelone (ES); Whitechapel Gallery, Londres (UK); The Austin Contemporary, Austin (US); Serpentine Galleries, Londres (UK); Yuz Museum, Shanghai (CHN); National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (CA); Contemporary Arts Museum, Houston (USA); CCA, Derry (UK); Centre Pompidou, Paris (FR); The Contemporary Art Gallery, Vancouver (CA); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (USA).

Kapwani Kiwanga est représentée par la Galerie Jérôme Poggi, Paris; la Galerie Tanja Wagner, Berlin; la Goodman Gallery, Johannesbourg/Le Cap.

Commissaire de l’exposition

Stefanie Gschwend, collaboratrice scientifique Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication

L’exposition est accompagnée d’une publication publiée par les éditions Verlag für moderne Kunst (eng / fr / dt).