Lade Events

The exhibition highlights the network of relationships between art and music, sight and hearing, image, space and sound. Starting with ideas such as that of synaesthesia, devised by the Russian composer, Alexander Skrjabin, who with his colour piano opened music out to art, or the theories on counterpoint of Hans Richter, who as a visual artist transposed musical notions into the optical and filmic domains, a new and independent artistic practice operating between musical and artistic composition is made visual, audible and tangible. The works combine the artistic forms in a decidedly non-hierarchical, yet interactive, audio-visual manner. In this way they reflect the formal foundations of these art forms and the transgression involved. The exhibition is not concerned with an additive illustration or setting images to music, but with a homogenous interweaving of the two means of expression and the opening of inter-sensory fields of perception. Works from the mediums of film, video, installation, painting, music and sound offer different perspectives on the theme of the exhibition and spotlight connections that until now have been unfamiliar. Staged in the sequential, respectively coherent spaces of the Kunsthaus, the works function independently but also interact with each other. The exhibition will be accompanied on the evening of 6 May at 8 pm by a concert at Schweizer Opernstudio Biel that will explore the interstices between musical and spatial/visual compositions with both premiere and debut performances by international artists and musicians. The exhibition continues the EXTENDED COMPOSITIONS project which first took place in Berlin in 2015.

EXHIBITION
DIETER APPELT, FRANK BADUR, SAMUEL BECKETT, SONIA BOYCE, STAN BRAKHAGE, JANET CARDIFF, SAMUEL EMDE. WILLIAM ENGELEN, ELLEN FELLMANN, TERRY FOX, CHRISTOPH GIRARDET & MATTHIAS MÜLLER, GREGOR HILDEBRANDT, LEO HOFMANN, HIROMI ISHII, BARBARA KASTEN, IDRIS KHAN, BRUCE NAUMAN, CARSTEN NICOLAI, RAHA RAISSNIA, HANS RICHTER, SILVA REICHWEIN, NORA RINGGENBERG, MIKA ROTTENBERG, MARIATERESA SARTORI, JOACHIM SCHÖNFELDT, SUSANNE SCHURICHT, SIMEON SIGG, BILL VIOLA

CONCERT
WILLIAM ENGELEN, FRANK FIEDLER, BABAK GOLESTANI, MICHAEL HARENBERG, CHRISTINE HASLER, LEO HOFMANN, ROLF LAUREIJS, ERNESTO MOLINARI, MUSICIANS FROM THE DEGREE COURSE MASTER OF ARTS IN SPECIALIZED MUSIC PERFORMANCE, HKB BERN
Sat 6.5.2017, 8pm: HKB, Schweizer Opernstudio, Jakob-Rosius Strasse 16, 2502 Biel/Bienne

 

Project initiator, curator: Ellen Fellmann

EXTENDED COMPOSITIONS_A5_pdf

Eine Kooperation mit der Hochschule der Künste Bern. /
Une coopération avec la Haute école des arts de Berne.
Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung von Ernst und Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung. / Avec l’aimable soutien d’Ernst und Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung.

Lade Évènements

L’exposition tisse des liens entre arts visuels et musique, vue et ouïe, image, espace et son. Partant d’approches telles que la synesthésie du compositeur russe Alexander Skrjabin, qui s’est ouvert à l’art par son clavier à couleurs, ou encore la pensée contrapuntique d’Hans Richter, plasticien qui a transposé des formules musicales en film, une nouvelle pratique artistique indépendante à la croisée de la composition musicale et visuelle est rendue visible, audible et tangible. Les œuvres allient musique et arts plastiques sur un mode audiovisuel qui s’interdit résolument toute hiérarchie mais se veut interactif, et reflètent les fondements formels de ces disciplines artistiques ainsi que de leur transgression. Il ne s’agit alors pas d’un simple ajout illustratif ou sonore, mais d’un tissage entre les deux pratiques et de l’ouverture d’un champ de perception intersensoriel. Des œuvres issues des domaines de l’installation, du film, de la vidéo, de la peinture, de la musique et du son ouvrent différentes perspectives sur le thème de l’exposition et déploient des parallèles inattendus. Scénarisées en un parcours, les œuvres s’intègrent dans l’espace grâce à leur disposition dialogique. En parallèle, les espaces intermédiaires entre composition musicale et composition spatio-visuelle seront abordés dans un concert le 6 mai à 20:00 qui présentera des premières d’artistes et musiciens internationaux au Studio Suisse d’Opéra de Bienne. L’exposition poursuit le projet EXTENDED COMPOSITIONS réalisé pour la première fois à Berlin en 2015.

EXPOSITION
DIETER APPELT, FRANK BADUR, SAMUEL BECKETT, SONIA BOYCE, STAN BRAKHAGE, JANET CARDIFF, SAMUEL EMDE. WILLIAM ENGELEN, ELLEN FELLMANN, TERRY FOX, CHRISTOPH GIRARDET & MATTHIAS MÜLLER, GREGOR HILDEBRANDT, LEO HOFMANN, HIROMI ISHII, BARBARA KASTEN, IDRIS KHAN, BRUCE NAUMAN, CARSTEN NICOLAI, RAHA RAISSNIA, HANS RICHTER, SILVA REICHWEIN, NORA RINGGENBERG, MIKA ROTTENBERG, MARIATERESA SARTORI, JOACHIM SCHÖNFELDT, SUSANNE SCHURICHT, SIMEON SIGG, BILL VIOLA

CONCERT
WILLIAM ENGELEN, FRANK FIEDLER, BABAK GOLESTANI, MICHAEL HARENBERG, CHRISTINE HASLER, LEO HOFMANN, ROLF LAUREIJS, ERNESTO MOLINARI, MUSICIENS DE LA FILIÈRE D’ÉTUDES DU MASTER OF ARTS IN SPECIALIZED MUSIC PERFORMANCE, HKB BERNE
Sa 6.5.2017, 20:00: HKB, Studio Suisse d’Opéra, Rue Jakob-Rosius 16, 2502 Biel/Bienne

 

Initiatrice du projet, commissaire de l’exposition: Ellen Fellmann

EXTENDED COMPOSITIONS_A5_pdf

Eine Kooperation mit der Hochschule der Künste Bern. /
Une coopération avec la Haute école des arts de Berne.
Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung von Ernst und Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung. / Avec l’aimable soutien d’Ernst und Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung.