Lade Veranstaltungen

Daniel Zimmermann

Extended until 14.6.2020

Daniel Zimmermann, exhibition views Kunsthaus Pasquart 2020, Courtesy the artist; photos: Lia Wagner

Daniel Zimmermann (b. 1966, CH) is a visual artist and film-maker. His films, installations and performances touch the interface between visual art and action. The artist reacts to situations and environments and questions the meaning and sustainability of human behaviour. The Swiss artist’s one-person exhibition is his first retrospective. It presents the new film installation Walden in the context of older videos, photographs and installations that through their juxtaposition emphasise the diversity of his practice. A publication on Walden will accompany the exhibition.

Shortly before digging in preparation for the extension to the Kunsthaus Pasquart, in 1998 Daniel Zimmermann, who at the time lived and worked in Biel, laid out a structural area with 10’000 wooden strips. The ground plan of the extension determined the form and the size of the work. Within this limited space he created over eight days free constellations, independent from any rules. The artist carried out this physically tiring ritual as though he was playing an oversized Mikado. The structural field refers to the situation that was about to change and the designation of the extension as a Kunsthaus. Zimmermann has produced a red thread through the exhibition with the wooden strips by making them appear over and again as photographic elements in different forms. The 3-D panorama-viewers Strukturfeld Kunsthaus Pasquart (1998/2000) recall the work, for example. The exhibition presents the documentation of these site-specific interventions, whilst in the foyer – as a memory of the situation more than 20 years ago – the 10’000 wooden strips, which the artist also used for other works, are shown as a stack bound together.

Daniel Zimmermann’s latest work Walden (13 Projektionen) (2020) will be shown for the first time at Kunsthaus Pasquart as a 360° film installation consisting of 13 sequence shots from his film Walden (2018). Wooden strips are the protagonists here as well. The installation is a portrait of the places from and to which the stack of wooden strips is transported. The latter makes its journey in the reverse direction of a usual trade route. The transport of the wood, carried out as quickly and efficiently as possible entirely in terms of the economic principle, is framed by the place of origin and the destination of the tree: in the timber of the Benedictine monastery in Admont and in Campinas near Rio Preto, at an indigenous community in the middle of the Amazon. In this way Walden spans two different world systems: in the former the monotheistic Catholicism, in the latter the animist perspectivism, which considers plants, animals and inanimate objects as beings with souls. Between the two is the capitalist economy that connects everything.

Daniel Zimmermann considers the way in which we think and act in specific places or in certain situations and which the defining values are. Through tightly focused, often unusual actions he questions dominant systems of belief and conventions. If at the beginning places in Switzerland and the Alps were at the centre, which the artist connected with the obsession for perfected sporting achievements and the search for the racing line, as in the video works Lauberhornrennen im Sommer (2007) or Stick Climbing (2010), his view became more global in later works. What has become apparent is the artist’s interest in how the different belief systems of various cultures and places collide. WAR (2013), for example, has its point of departure in the Polynesian war dance of the Rapa Nui, a traditional dance form which was at the same time identity forming and acted as a survival strategy. Zimmermann’s work is formed among other things by his examination of politics, in particular with the places of politics. He confronts these situations with the idea of collectivity and belonging. For example in Go and Talk to Your Government: Gründungsakt des Bundesministeriums für Bewegungsangelegenheiten (BMfB) (2009) he was concerned with the government in Austria as the centre of power. He confronted this with the free movement of bodies in space, in order to encourage the potential of physical movement for the enhancement of mental awareness: dancing politicians were suddenly symbols for the fragility of the system.

Performances and stagings are central for Daniel Zimmermann’s work, of which the view on his own practice and the development process of these pieces is a basic part. The exhibition shows several dioramas, such as the four-part work Four Remarks on the History of Dance (2015), which gives the observer the possibility of participating in the artistic process and seeing important places of production. On four small stages scenes take place that retrace the development of the work from journeys by plane, research in the studio, rehearsals and finally the theatre production. As in a historical museum this fluid process is preserved for eternity in the diorama as though it were a historically meaningful event.

Daniel Zimmermann has initiated and carried out numerous art projects in museums, galleries and the public space, such as exhibitions in the Museum Gegenwartskunst, Admont (2019), Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, Vienna (2011), Kunstmuseum Thun (2007), at Haus für Kunst Uri (2006) or Kunsthalle Bern (1999). His projects also consist of films presented at international film festivals such as the Berlinale, the Internationalen Filmfestspielen Rotterdam, the Sundance Film Festival and at the Art of the Real – Film Society of the Lincoln Center, US. He has done performances at NAVE, Santiago de Chile, deSingel, Antwerpen, the ImpulsTanzFestival, Vienna and at the Gessnerallee Zurich. In collaboration with the choreograph Amanda Piña he founded the artist association nadaproductions in 2005, the art and performance space nadalokal in 2009 and in the same year the Austrian Ministry for Movement (BMfB).

Curator of the exhibition

Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Publication

The exhibition is accompanied by a publication about Walden, published in Verlag für moderne Kunst (eng).

Performance

Sat 1.2.2020, 5:30pm                   Performance von Robert Steijn & Daniel Zimmermann

Artist’s talk

Thurs 5.3.2020, 6pm (dt)             Daniel Zimmermann in conversation with Felicity Lunn

Guided tours

Thurs 6.2.2020, 6pm (fr)             Valentine Yerly, art educator

Thurs 26.3.2020, 6pm(dt)            Felicity Lunn, director Kunsthaus Pasquart

Lade Veranstaltungen

Daniel Zimmermann

Verlängert bis voraussichtlich 17.5.2020

Daniel Zimmermann, Ausstellungsansichten Kunsthaus Pasquart 2020, Courtesy the artist; Fotos: Lia Wagner

Daniel Zimmermann (*1966, CH) ist bildender Künstler und Filmemacher. Seine Filme, Installationen und Performances berühren die Schnittstelle von visueller Kunst und Aktion. Der Künstler reagiert auf Situationen und Umfelder und wirft Fragen nach der Bedeutung und Nachhaltigkeit menschlichen Handelns auf. Die Einzelausstellung des Schweizer Künstlers ist seine erste Retrospektive. Sie präsentiert die neue Filminstallation Walden im Kontext älterer Videos, Fotografien und Installationen, die in der Gegenüberstellung sein künstlerisches Schaffen facettenreich vor Augen führen. Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation zu Walden.

Kurz vor dem Aushub des Neubaus des Kunsthaus Pasquart legte Daniel Zimmermann, der damals in Biel lebte und arbeitete, 1998 ein Strukturfeld mit 10’000 Holzleisten aus. Dabei bestimmte der Grundriss des Neubaus die Form und die Grösse des Werkes. Innerhalb dieses beschränkten Raumes schuf er während acht Tagen freie Konstellationen, losgelöst von allen Regeln. Dieses physisch anstrengende Ritual vollzog der Künstler, als spielte er ein überdimensionales Mikado. Das Strukturfeld verweist auf die bevorstehende Veränderung der Situation und die Bestimmung des Neubaus als Kunsthaus. Zimmermann schafft mit den Holzleisten einen roten Faden durch die Ausstellung, indem er sie als fotografische Elemente in anderer Form immer wieder auftauchen lässt. So erinnern beispielsweise die 3-D Panorama-Gucker Strukturfeld Kunsthaus Pasquart (1998/2000) an das Werk. Die Ausstellung präsentiert die Dokumentation dieser ortsspezifischen Interventionen, während im Foyer – als Erinnerung an die Situation vor mehr als 20 Jahren – die 10’000 Holzleisten, die der Künstler auch für andere Werke verwendete, als Stapel gebunden gezeigt werden.

Im Kunsthaus Pasquart wird erstmals Daniel Zimmermanns neuste Arbeit Walden (13 Projektionen) (2020) als 360° Filminstallation aus 13 Plansequenzen seines Filmes Walden (2018) gezeigt. Auch hier sind Holzleisten die Protagonisten. Die Installation porträtiert die Transportorte eines Holzleistenstapels, der seine Reise in der umgekehrten Richtung einer üblichen Handelsroute macht. Der Transport des Holzes, der ganz im Sinne des Wirtschaftlichkeitsprinzips möglichst schnell und effizient abgewickelt wird, ist gerahmt durch den Herkunfts- und Zielort des Baumes, im Nutzwald des Benediktinerstifts in Admont und in Campinas am Rio Preto, bei einer indigenen Gemeinschaft inmitten des Amazonas. Auf diese Weise umfasst Walden zwei verschiedene Weltsysteme: hier der monotheistische Katholizismus, dort der animistische Perspektivismus, der auch Pflanzen, Tiere und leblose Objekte als beseelte Wesen versteht. Dazwischen steht die alles verbindende kapitalistische Ökonomie.

Daniel Zimmerman betrachtet die Art und Weise, wie man an spezifischen Orten oder in bestimmten Situationen denkt und handelt und welche Werte dabei massgebend sind. Durch gezielte, oft ungewöhnliche Aktionen hinterfragt er herrschende Glaubenssysteme und Sitten. Standen zu Beginn Orte in der Schweiz und den Alpen im Zentrum, die der Künstler mit Obsessionen für perfektionierte sportliche Leistungen und der Suche nach den Ideallinien in Verbindung brachte, wie in den Videoarbeiten Lauberhornrennen im Sommer (2007) oder Stick Climbing (2010), wird sein Blick in späteren Arbeiten globaler. Ins Visier tritt das Interesse des Künstlers, wie verschiedene Glaubenssysteme unterschiedlicher Kulturen und Orte aufeinanderprallen. So findet WAR (2013) seinen Ausgangspunkt im polynesischen Kriegstanz der Rapa Nui, einer traditionellen Tanzform, die zugleich identitätsstiftend war und als Überlebensstrategie diente. Zimmermanns Arbeit ist mitgeprägt von seiner Auseinandersetzung mit der Politik, im Besonderen mit Orten der Politik. Diesen Situationen begegnet er mit der Idee von Kollektivität und Zusammengehörigkeit. So beschäftigte er sich in Go and Talk to Your Government: Gründungsakt des Bundesministeriums für Bewegungsangelegenheiten (BMfB) (2009) mit der Regierung in Österreich als Zentrum der Macht und konfrontierte dieses mit freier Bewegung von Körpern im Raum, um damit das Potential von physischer Bewegung für die Erweiterung geistigen Bewusstseins zu fördern: Tanzende Politiker standen plötzlich symbolisch für die Zerbrechlichkeit des Systems.

Performances und Inszenierungen sind zentral für Daniel Zimmermanns Schaffen, wobei auch der Blick auf die eigene Praxis und der Entstehungsprozess dieser Stücke elementarer Bestandteil bilden. Die Ausstellung zeigt mehrere Dioramen, wie die vierteilige Arbeit Four Remarks on the History of Dance (2015), welche dem Betrachter die Möglichkeit gibt, am künstlerischen Schaffensprozess teilzuhaben und wichtige Produktionsorte zu sehen. Auf vier kleinen Bühnen spielen sich Szenen ab, welche die Entwicklung des Werkes von Reisen mit dem Flugzeug, der Recherche im Studio, Proben und schlussendlich die Theaterinszenierung nachzeichnen. Wie in einem historischen Museum wird dieser bewegliche Prozess, als wäre er ein geschichtlich bedeutendes Ereignis, im Diorama für die Ewigkeit konserviert.

Daniel Zimmermann hat zahlreiche Kunstprojekte in Museen, Galerien und im öffentlichen Raum initiiert und realisiert, wie Ausstellungen im Museum Gegenwartskunst, Admont (2019), Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, Wien (2011), Kunstmuseum Thun (2007), im Haus für Kunst Uri (2006) oder Kunsthalle Bern (1999). Zu seinen Projekten gehören Filme, die auf internationalen Filmfestivals wie der Berlinale, den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Rotterdam, dem Sundance Film Festival und am Art of the Real – Film Society of Lincoln Center, US gezeigt wurden. Performances zeigte er im NAVE, Santiago de Chile, im deSingel, Antwerpen, am ImpulsTanzFestival, Wien oder in der Gessnerallee Zürich. Zusammen mit der Choreographin Amanda Piña gründete er 2005 die Künstlervereinigung nadaproductions, 2009 den Kunst- und Performance-Raum nadalokal und im selben Jahr das Österreichische Bewegungsministerium (BMfB).

Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Centre d’art Pasquart

Publikation

Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation mit Bildern und Texten zu Walden im Verlag für moderne Kunst (eng).

Performance

Sa 1.2.2020, 17:30 (dt)                 Performance von Robert Steijn & Daniel Zimmermann

Künstlergespräch

Do 5.3.2020, 18:00 (dt)                Daniel Zimmermann im Gespräch mit Felicity Lunn

Öffentliche Führungen

Do 6.2.2020, 18:00   (fr)             Valentine Yerly, Kunstvermittlerin

Do 26.3.2020, 18:00  (dt)            Felicity Lunn, Direktorin Kunsthaus Pasquart